We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly delightful hotel, with a warm staff and a good feeling!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
Ranked #65 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my two-night stay during a business trip. The modern room was well lit and while a little small it was adequate and quite comfortable. I enjoyed two dinners at the hotel’s restaurant, and the takeaway breakfast had just what I look for on a fast-paced trip - good selection, healthy and tasty choices, and well- priced. The hotel is a little off the beaten path, so getting a cab isn't always easy, but that seemed like a small price to pay. I found the staff to be uniformly helpful and eager to please. This Courtyard hotel had just about everything you would want from a mid-priced hotel, so I would be glad to return, and I vigorously recommend it. And it’s nice to know that Five Guys Hamburgers is across the street, just in case!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuHuNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 720 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent 10 days at this location and everything was just right. Room was clean, spacious, and quiet with great darkening curtain. Weekend prices were great, but they kill you during the week. Stay away from the hotel coffee shop for breakfast, but walk around the corner to the shop in the building; Lot # something. Best latte ever; illy brand I believe. Navy Yard Metro, CVS and 5 Guys are within a block. Also check out Justin's for a local hangout. The Capitol is less than a mile walk right up New Jersey Ave. Several new apt buildings in the area. Used to be an industrial area, but has cleaned up.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank batsnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I made reservations for 2 rooms, 2 nights. I am a Marriott Platinum for 10 years. Arrived at 11pm to be told the hotel was overbooked. Had to be sent 30 minutes away to another hotel. This is how Marriott treats it's loyal customers!!!
P.S. Their program states that Platinum members will never be in an overbooked situation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
3  Thank lucie799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a great hotel -- right on Capitol Hill and sitting right on top of a metro station (Navy Yard, Green line). It's a short walk to the Capitol building, Navy Yard, and Nationals Park. Used to be an area you wouldn't want to walk around in, but it's seeing a renaissance now with the baseball park and waterfront development. The staff are attentive and while not overly friendly, certainly helpful. There is parking but it's kind of expensive -- but on par with other area hotels. There are plenty of food options within safe walking distance, and a CVS and Starbucks right next door. There are apartments attached to the hotel (same building) so it's quiet but not deadly quiet. Nice business option for DC. Restaurant and bar in the lobby, too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broctoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were here for four days with a young child. The place is brand new: very clean, nice pool, nice lounge downstairs with good breakfast options (albeit on the expensive side), extremely pleasant and helpful staff at check-in.

What made us choose this property originally was the fact that we could get a king suite for well under $200. The suite was quite large and the layout was very practical. The bedroom was completely closed off from the sitting room, so the grownups could watch TV at night without risk of waking up sleeping kids. I still cannot believe we had all that space for such little money.

The Courtyard Capitol Hill/Navy Yard is in a part of town undergoing major redevelopment: the property is surrounded by new buildings and vacant lots. As such, there isn't much to see or do around the neighbourhood (unless you're going to a Nationals game), but it has everything a family with young kids needs to enjoy their stay in DC.

The hotel is one short block away from a Metro station, and no more than 4 Metro stops from the museums and attractions around the Mall. In the building right across the street from the hotel, there is a Five Guys, a Subway and a CVS.

One block west of the hotel is a place called Justin's Cafe, which serves soups, salads, sandwiches and pizza (all excellent). It quickly became THE place for us to go have dinner after a day of sightseeing--fresh, simple food for the kids, wine and beer for mom and dad, and sports on the four TVs for the whole family.

We're already looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We really had a great time here. We arrived early and no problem, we checked in at 12:30, rather than waiting until three. The room was exactly as promised and off we went for our day of sightseeing. After coming back to the hotel, we decided to just eat at the bistro, at the hotel. Steve waited on us and was wonderful, very attentive, very patient with my nine year old, and very personable. Room was comfy and quiet. Only complaint was no regular coffee in our room, just decaf, but only had to call the front desk to get some. Second night my daughter wanted a midnight snack (at 9:30) and we were so happy to see Steve there helping us again. He even remembered us and knew exactly what we had ordered the night before. We will most certainly come back to visit. Thanks Steve!

Room Tip: We were on 9th floor, it was very quiet. Pool and exercise room are on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SergioVazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in DC. The hotel staff were nice, the rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. The only complaint we had was from the bus load of people that left at 5 am and slammed their doors a hundred times while collecting their luggage. Great stay would definitely come back again!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LesJds09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington DC - Navy Yard
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington ...
#79 of 142 in Washington DC
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Capitol-Navy Yard
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#23 of 142 in Washington DC
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Washington Capitol Hill Navy Yard
Residence Inn Washington Capitol...
#108 of 142 in Washington DC
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Capitol Skyline Hotel
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#85 of 142 in Washington DC
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Washington DC / National Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Address: 140 L Street SE, Washington DC, DC 20003-3335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $125 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pet Friendly Courtyard Hotel: $150.00 Non Refundable fee per stay. Get away to one of the most beautiful Washington, D.C. hotels on Capitol Hill, Courtyard by Marriott Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard. Our modern accommodations and attentive staff will provide you with the perfect home away from home! Conveniently located near Nationals Park and local attractions such as monuments, museums and the US Capitol in the up and coming Capitol Riverfront neighborhood, our Capitol Hill hotel is in the heart of Washington. We are surrounded by government agencies such as the US Department of Transportation, DC Health and Family Services, Bureau of Land Management and convenient to the Navy Yard, Joint Base Anacostia Bolling and Ft. McNair. The striking and modern Courtyard by Marriott Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Top among hotels near Capitol Hill, we offer 2,215 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 180 guests, plus on ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing