We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget choice for central Washington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
Ranked #64 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good budget choice for central Washington”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly clean and modern hotel with comfortable rooms and very helpful staff. There is a Starbucks nearby and a small 'bistro' in the foyer serving sandwiches, burgers etc and drinks. Its only open mornings at the weekend though. A 24 hr mini mart is also based in reception. Other than these places you need to travel 15 mins walk to 8th st area for restaurants and bars etc - there is not much on the doorstep. However, with Navy Yard metro literally a 2 min walk you can easily access all that Washington has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiredTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    274
    76
    15
    24
See reviews for
239
133
43
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This Courtyard is located in a quieter area of Capitol Hill near the Navy Yard. Only about 5 blocks from Capitol Hill which is walkable but the Metro is also close and an option if you are visiting the Mall area. There is a CVS, coffee shop and Five Guys located very close. If you have your family, there is a skating rink right across the street. There were several options for parking. You could pay for a parking garage spot ($29) or find a street spot for free. We were there over the weekend and able to find street spots every night.
The hotel was reliable as far as Marriott Courtyards go. The staff was friendly and helpful. However, the front desk staff seemed rushed most of the time. The lobby, which was under construction at the time we were there, seemed congested and unattractive and it would have been nice to have been informed of the construction before we booked. We had a large group of people with us and there was no social area to meet unless you rented a meeting room on the second floor.
There was breakfast offered but due to the constuction it was set up near the meeting rooms on the second floor. The atmosphere was not appealling but the coffee shop around the corner suited our needs.
The rooms were neat, clean and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was adequate and nicely decorated. The elavators were slow during the busy time of day and we ended up using the stairs eventhough we were on the 6th floor.
Once the construction is finished, this Courtyard will be a nice choice if you are staying in Washington, DC. The price is reasonable, there is a close Metro stop, it is located close to the ball fields and many DC sites. If you want to be located closer to the city action, then this would not suit your needs. It is off the beaten path but still a nice stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, we had a room looking at the next door apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMAClevelandArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here during our visit for the inauguration....great stay, great staff, and great room! The staff was always willing to go the extra mile to help us out. Harnetha (front desk) was a gem...she gave us great advise for restaurants and shopping. She was always willing to help with a smile on her face. The bellman whose name I can not remember was awesome...he worked the front desk when needed and still did the bellman duties. He offered to call us a large taxi when the five of us wanted to go to the white house and kept calling to help us out. We decided we would definitely come back here for our next visit which we hope to do soon! We hope the same staff is there! By the way, Tiffany the Sales coordinator is awesome. I had a chance to meet her while waiting for my airport shuttle. Metro line very convenient!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mspat411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The front desk gave SUPERB customer service.

The rooms were clean... Nothing less expected. The beds were extra comfy.

Everything in walking distance, metro, capital, restaurants, wine & spirits, Starbucks, ice skating... Loved it.

Cant wait to return after the renovations.

Worth every penny.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annicah44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Recommended..Stayed for 2012 holidays break. General hotel was good and clean, as espected from the Courtyard brand. Only concern was the noise from other rooms guest, specially because rooms around were occuppied by a high school hockey team. :-S Staff was helpful when I called to complain.

Room Tip: Try front room for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george01752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Last August I took my Mom to see the Nats play the Mets in Washington. I am a Mets fan, so I was thrilled to share this hotel with so many other visiting Mets fans. The hotel is walking distance from the ballpark and Metro. This is the only place I would stay for baseball in DC. The hotel room was fine. The pillows weren't fantastic, but we were only there one night. There is a Subway, 5 Guys and drug store across from the hotel if you need toiletries or snacks. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyWestminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We are loyal Marriott Customers, I am a rewards member, but this one was enough for me to want to stay anywhere else. The staff was ok but...... When we checked in at 4:30 PM there were people who were waiting for their room to be ready, we came in after them and our room was already to go, but the front desk attendant tried to make us wait becasue they were in front of us. The manager made him give us our key cards. So we take the elivator to the 8th floor and open the door to our NON- SMOKING room and it reaks of cigarettes. So I buzzed the front desk, told them the situation and headed back down to the lobby to get a new room. We got the 6th floor where our new room was located and there were peanut shells on the floor. These same peanut shells were on the floor when we checked out two days later. I mean it was a Marriott and we had a spectacular view from our room, but I would not recomend this one until they get their act together.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alesia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington DC - Navy Yard
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington ...
#83 of 141 in Washington DC
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Capitol-Navy Yard
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Washington Capitol Hill Navy Yard
Residence Inn Washington Capitol...
#112 of 141 in Washington DC
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Capitol Skyline Hotel
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#78 of 141 in Washington DC
631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Washington DC / National Mall
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Property: Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
Address: 140 L Street SE, Washington DC, DC 20003-3335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to one of the most beautiful Washington, D.C. hotels on Capitol Hill, Courtyard by Marriott Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard. Our modern accommodatioins and attentive staff will provide you with the perfect home away from home! Conveniently located near Nationals Park and local attractions such as monuments, museums and the US Capitol in the up and coming Capitol Riverfront neighborhood, our Capitol Hill hotel is in the heart of Washington, DC office buildings such as Lockheed Martin, Northrup Grumman, Parsons, BAE Systems, General Dynamics and Booz Allen Hamilton just to name a few. We are also surrounded by government agencies such as the US Department of Transportation, DC Health and Family Services, Bureau of Land Management and convenient to the Navy Yard, Joint Base Anacostia Bolling and Ft. McNair. The striking and modern Courtyard by Marriott Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Top among hotels near Capitol Hill, we offer 2,215 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 180 guests, plus on-site catering from The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. Enjoy breakfast in the mornings from with delicious Starbucks® coffee or relax with a glass of wine in the evening from The Bistro. You can also stay active during your stay with an on-site 24-hour fitness center, offering cardiovascular equipment, an indoor pool and whirlpool. Our lobby features all of the amenities that saavy travelers have come to expect such as FREE WIFI, a quick print station for your boarding pass to save you time at the airport, comfortable in-room work areas with conveniently located outlets and lighting and a 24-hour business center with a library. The modern lobby would not be complete however without our state-of-the-art GoBoard® that offers directions, up to the minute flight and weather information and information on local attractions with the ability to print you directions! It’s personalized service available at your fingertips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Washington Dc Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing