We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel personnel great and helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
Ranked #69 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel personnel was great and helpful with any questions we had. The rooms were great and very clean. The only thing I disliked was the swimming pool. It was small and very cold. I used it mainly for water exercises but did not stay in it long. It wasn't deep enough either to actually do water exercises; not even for water walking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyofpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 724 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel ended up being the perfect pick for our family of four. The room was one of the largest we have ever stayed in -bonus! The beds were queens -bonus! There was never any noise at night in the halls or from other rooms. The staff at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. We parked on the street for four nights for free (with a combination of weekend and holiday) we did not end up having to pay. Before you park you car in the garage at the hotel drive around the block and look for metered parking. The neighborhood is safe. When you cross the street, directly on the next block you will find Subway, Five Guys and CVS. There is also a Starbucks. The hotel does serve breakfast. We never wanted to buy breakfast there; we always grabbed some coffee at Starbucks and left to sightsee. The train station is also one block from the hotel. Within 15-20 minutes you can be at any of the attractions in DC. One of the days we walked to the capitol from the hotel. It took about 20 minutes to walk there. From threre we walked onto the mall where all the museums were. This is a little removed from the main tourist attractions. We plan to return to DC to see more of the sights and I don't think I will spend time looking for hotels again. I think we'll be back here for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lebowski93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in the hotel with my girl for a week. Honestly the location of the hotel is not the best for exploring DC. You have to take a train every time you want to go to the White House, Capitol, Monument or Museums... it's not a big deal - 20 minutes to get there.The hotel itself is really great, very good services and very helpful staff, especially front desk! Sleep quality is perfect and it's very clean.
Location and neighborhood is poorand boring, there is no restaurant (only Five Guys which I personally really LOVE), no grocery, but on the other hand location is very quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dzordzdzordz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

If it were not for the excellent assistance provided by Antwaun on Wednesday the 27th of November, this visit would have been a 3 star review with all the ongoing remodeling. Antwaun went above and beyond with assisting me with a reservation problem I experienced. He is a genuine professional and he truly exemplifies the adage of putting the 'Customer' in Customer Service! Great job Antwaun - you are a credit to the Mariott Corporation - Thank You! John Rogers

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is being refurbished therefore no restaurant or coffee bar at the moment. I booked using Avios points and cash and this was an issue on check in. Overall, great location for the metro in and out of downtown.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MikeA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

First, there is a very important hint: this hotel frequently makes offers with very attractive rates at booking.com. So, watch out for good rates....
The hotel itself is well kept, the staff is very helpful and the food in the restaurant is good as well.
The capitol is within walking distance and the subway is just one block away.
The gym was in repair at the time of our visit, but the swiming pool looked good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stschaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We arrived around 9:45 on Sunday evening. The bar was closed, the restaurant was closed. We were given directions to 5 guys - surprise, surprise it was closed. No one at the front desk seemed to care. They offered us coffee from a machine that had obviously been switched off for hours. The only response we got was "we'll it is Sunday".

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank SueHarrison62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington DC - Navy Yard
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington ...
#79 of 142 in Washington DC
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Washington Capitol Hill Navy Yard
Residence Inn Washington Capitol...
#108 of 142 in Washington DC
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Capitol-Navy Yard
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#23 of 142 in Washington DC
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Capitol Skyline Hotel
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#83 of 142 in Washington DC
712 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Ca...
#111 of 142 in Washington DC
633 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Address: 140 L St SE, Washington DC, DC 20003-3335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $112 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pet Friendly Courtyard Hotel: $150.00 Non Refundable fee per stay. Get away to one of the most beautiful Washington, D.C. hotels on Capitol Hill, Courtyard by Marriott Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard. Our modern accommodations and attentive staff will provide you with the perfect home away from home! Conveniently located near Nationals Park and local attractions such as monuments, museums and the US Capitol in the up and coming Capitol Riverfront neighborhood, our Capitol Hill hotel is in the heart of Washington. We are surrounded by government agencies such as the US Department of Transportation, DC Health and Family Services, Bureau of Land Management and convenient to the Navy Yard, Joint Base Anacostia Bolling and Ft. McNair. The striking and modern Courtyard by Marriott Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Top among hotels near Capitol Hill, we offer 2,215 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 180 guests, plus on ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Washington Dc Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing