We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Location and Easy Access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center
Ranked #29 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Embassy Suites provided a great place to stay for a business meeting and also a very central location to walk around the Federal Triangle and Mall. The Metro is easily accessible from either MacPherson Square or Metro Central. Lots of great restaurants in the area including Babiani and Captol City Brewing Company.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Charles I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,201 - 2,207 of 3,224 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

Recently stayed at the Embassy Suites for a Conference and it was a great all around hotel. The rooms were large with an actual "suite" (vs. sometimes a little deceiving version of a suite in other hotels). There was a small mini-kitchen with a microwave, wet bar and fridgerator. The bed was heavenly!

The hotel was immaculate and the housekeeping/front desk staff were particularly friendly - going out of their way to say hello/asking how your day was.

Breakfast was fabulous - omelettes were delicious and the line moved very quickly. Do time your breakfast plan as we got there relatively early but by 8:15am or so the line was almost out their door.

Nice jacuzzi - one of the "hottest" i can recall. Pool was small but kids seemed to be having fun.

3 block walk to the convention center and easy access to the tourist sites. We easily walked to Chinatown the first night.

Room Tip: If you want to be near the pool - ask for a room on the 2nd floor (but be aware that you will have k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izerdiver32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I normally stay at the JW Marriott when I visit DC for pleasure; however, the Embassy Suites was a great location for attending a convention. The hotel is easy to access, as you can pull off the street to unload and the convention center is only a block walk away. Taxi's are easy to get from the convention center or the hotel and a ride down to the National Mall is about $10. The hotel rooms are nice, as they always are for Embassy Suites with a small living room separated from the bedroom. An in-room mini fridge, microwave oven and separate sink also make the room nice for longer stays. This location has room service from Porter & Finn, Italian Food which is pretty good. The free morning breakfast is great, as they have made to order omelettes and/or eggs which come with sides including bacon, sausage, hash and/or potatoes. The breakfast area gets crowded, so heed their timing advice! They also have "hotel" eggs and full breakfast bar. If you are a sweet-n-low fan like me- bring your own- they have Splenda and Equal.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade if you are an honors member! The rooms are nice size, as they are Embassy Suites; ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank floridatocanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I agree with "Fit my Needs" review. Best things about our room - very quiet, beds were super comfortable, service was excellent, we went to the manager's open bar - we never waited in line, but we went towards the end, and there were still munchies; the food in the restaurant was above-average including breakfast. Depending on which museum you want to visit, you will have a 6-13 block walk. It was warm/dry/clear one day and the next could be humid/hot/raining. The best thing about walking to the Mall and other sights downtown - you get to see a variety of restaurants and choose, whereas in a taxi you are moving too fast and relying on other's tastes. Three restaurants to visit - 1) City Brewing Company - food was pretty good, close to hotel, great service, somewhat loud and very busy at night. 2) Gordon Biersch Brewery - food very good, great service, somewhat loud at night - try to get a booth near the front. Try the craft beers. The Tuscany Chicken pasta was wonderful, as was the warm apple bread pudding. 3) Native American Museum Cafe - wow! Awesome variety of foods I have never heard of and the buffalo burger was to die for. Went back two times just to eat! If you decide to use a tour for the monuments, I recommend Jack's Transportation Service (703) 919-0916; get to the sites in quiet A/C, clean comfort, free water, by a city veteran who knows his way around - yes it costs but we did ALL the war memorials and Lincoln and White House in one day, and it was 95 degrees, and Metro was a crazy madhouse - crying babies and kids everywhere in the heat of the day, all day. So, other than the limo tour, we walked. Embassy was a beautiful oasis to come back to at night. PS - we took Amtrak to NY and it was a 5 min ride from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back - there is an excellent view of the office next door (LOL) but we were no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suenels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent four nights of our family vacation here. We were only a couple of blocks from the Metro station so accessing the best DC sights and the airport was very easy. The suites with a separate sitting area from the beds was great! So easy to put the kids to bed and stay up for a while. The free breakfast was the best I've ever encountered at a hotel, though it was important to get there early to avoid a huge line. The manager's reception in the evening was great, though again, lines were an issue. Having a free beer or cocktail at the end of a long day of touring the city was great and the variety of snacks made the kids very happy. The pool was a bit disappointing, both with its cloudy water and small size and consistent 3-foot depth that limited swimming even for my 5 year old. The biggest disappointments here were the unfriendly staff and the almost non-existent cell coverage. The staff nearly across the board was totally disinterested and unhelpful, though I will say that the housekeeping staff did a great job and was friendly when we met them in the halls. The cell coverage was horrible. We had absolutely no signal at all at most times in our room. If we stood right next to the window, we could maybe get one bar. To make a call or use apps, we had to go downstairs or outside. I still find it ridiculous that you can pay almost $300 a night and have to pay $10-15 a day for internet access. We could get wi-fi for free if we went to the lobby but it would have been nice to have it in our room. I guess we have to stay at Super 8 for that. All in all, we enjoyed and would likely recommend it, with warnings about the cell issues and pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the neighboring building. We faced an office building and could see into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nice hotel, but don't expect a view of Washington DC. Food was very good. Pool was way too crowded to enjoy. Nice central location for visiting attractions within the city. The food in the restaurant, especially the happy hour prices.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Whether its the over-crowded free breakfast of poor food which runs out in minutes after refresh, or the manager's reception which runs out of bar munchies or has a line out the door for drinks, or the cloudy water in the small swimming pool, or people smoking in the small gym-ette, you can do better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Leighann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington D.C. Georgetown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Washing...
#47 of 141 in Washington DC
384 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#70 of 141 in Washington DC
5,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center

Address: 900 10th Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-4405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $140 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing