We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center
Ranked #30 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Fit my needs”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I recently stayed at this property while vacationing with my fiancé and daughter. Rooms were nice and spacious with a separate living room area that included a pull out sleeper sofa, couch, microwave and fridge. Check-in and out went smoothly as clerks were on the ball. This property is a 20 minute walk to the Smithsonian attractions and close to shopping. FYI..Cab ride to hotel was $18 for 3 people, not too bad. Room service is a bit pricey however open bar during managers reception was a bit hit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyalFloridianmgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,598
    989
    239
    94
    57
See reviews for
1,399
385
75
828
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
frisco, tx
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed here for 4 nights. Overall the stay was just okay. Keep in mind that we were here at the start of summer vacation.
Location: Acceptable, but I was hoping it would be closer to the DC attractions and more restaurants than it was. Hard to tell with maps sometimes. We were able to walk several blocks over and down to the DC attractions. Be prepared to do lots of walking in DC!! However, there are cabs, trolleys, and buses if you need them. We took the metro subway from Reagan Airport to the metro station a few blocks away. There seemed to be lots of other people pulling their luggage on the sidewalk to their respective hotels too. Only Valet parking is available if you drive and it's pricey. Restaurants can be found within walking distance of a few blocks away. We ate at Capitol City Brewing Company, Legal Sea Food, District Chophouse, and Ella's Wood fired Pizza. All excellent eats!!
Lobby: It is not the same set up as other Embassy Suites I've been to. Maybe because it’s downtown DC and there is not a lot of space to work with. Rooms don't look out over into an atrium and breakfast is not served in an open air atrium. No lush greenery with cascading waterfalls or lots of places to sit and relax.
Rooms: Room 1118. Typical hotel room, a little dark and felt a little sparse to me. There were the two separate rooms though, so if someone wanted to go to bed early, they could and not be too disturbed...unless someone flushed the toilet, your neighbors had their TV on, were talking, or talking was coming through the air duct from other rooms. A room full of kids either below or above us kept me up for 2 nights till midnight. And, if you get a room with 2 beds, they are double size so cozy up to your partner because there is not a lot of room to move around in a double bed. The flushing toilet scared my son every time. It’s like jet propulsion loud! Temperature of the room was comfortable with an adjustable thermostat. Everything seemed clean in the room. There is no cell service when you’re in your room. You either have to pay for Wi-Fi access or go down to the lobby if you want to make a call on your cell phone, text, or check your email. Aggravating! It should be free Wi-Fi for the price you pay for a room at this hotel!
Pool: Extremely small. Small pool, small room. The area was really loud because of the many kids voices bouncing off the walls. The water was very cloudy and did not look clean to me. The whirlpool smelled a little bit like urine. Not sure if it was just the chemical they used to keep it disinfected or it was really urine.
Breakfast: The free buffet is okay. You have to wait in a long line every morning for either the buffet or custom made eggs/omelets. And then finding a table is a bit stressful. Buffet included potatoes, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage, waffles/pancakes/French toast, yogurt cups, fruit, coffee/tea, juice, milk, cereal, bread/muffins/pastries, oatmeal, soda. They ran out of oatmeal every day so get there early if you want some of that. Pastries seemed to go quick too.
Managers Reception: Free drinks and snacks each night. They usually had a special mix drink like a margarita, or sangria, but you could also get things like a rum and coke. They had soda and lemonade for kids. Snacks were chips and salsa, cheese cubes, pretzels, goldfish crackers, and regular crackers.
Staff: Everyone was extremely friendly, polite, and helpful! A++ for that!

I would probably try another hotel if we went back to DC.

DC is a great city! You will do a lot of walking so bring comfy shoes. Sidewalks are brick, loose brick, and grates. If you go when school’s out, be prepared for crowded museums and memorials. The most crowded museum we went into was the Museum of Natural History.

Our itinerary included visits to National Air and Space Museum, National Museum of American History, National Museum of Natural History, the White House (closed inside), the Capitol, Supreme Court, Library of Congress, House Gallery, visit to our House Representative, Memorials: Lincoln, Vietnam, Korean, WWII , Washington Monument (closed inside), Ford’s Theater, International Spy Museum, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Big Red Bus Open top sightseeing bus. We wanted to do more but didn’t have enough time to fit it all in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amarieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Researched many hotels and went with E.S. b/c of location and two-room suite. Staff was very friendly, engaging, and attentive. The area is good and travel by foot will be better when the constuction across the street is completed. You will have very direct access (2 or 3 bocks) to Ford Theater, shops, restaurants, etc. Not bad now but you just have to walk around two extra blocks b/c of construction. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay (5 nights) at the hotel. We were not in the center of downtown and needed to walk far distances, so as not to take cabs and drive up our expenses. The Metro was close-by and proved to be tremendous asset each day. We missed the convenience of a nearby grocery and perhaps a greater variety of restaurants. The hotel restaurant was convenient and pleasing. The service at the hotel and restaurant was outstanding!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank marilynr433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The first night that we stayed the room next to us decided to party from 6pm to 6am-doors slammed constantly, loud music, loud people, etc. We did complain the next day and were upgraded to to a bigger suite. Also, the pool is only 3 feet and the water was so unclear. And way to small to accommodate all of the people that wanted to be in it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank mlhofmeyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is the place to stay! I was in town with some girlfriends for a concert and I found this place online. I booked through the hotel's direct website. I am not going to lie- I looked at Expedia and the other discount websites, but #1 the prices are the same! So why not go through the hotel directly so you don't have to give out commission and #2 the room type I wanted wasn't available via expedia. I got the 1 Bedroom Suite with 2 Queen Beds. It was an amazing value and the complimentary reception and breakfast were right on point. That breakfast--- Goodness! I would have certainly expected to pay atleast $15 for that. I guess it's included in my room rate- but seriously that is a steal. When we arrived, I called down to ask for some extra pillows/sheets for the pull out and the nice person brought that in addition to extra towels! How thoughtful and proactive. I love that sort of thing :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank OhioTravel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Overall, a good hotel. Good location. Free breakfast and managers cocktail hour a definite bonus! Room decent enough in terms of size, cofort and cleanliness. Staff also very accommodating. Biggest issue, and this is a big issue, is that the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything going on next door, in hallway and upstairs. Neighbors very loud until 3 am. Moved rooms the next day and encountered a baby crying all night a coupole rooms away. Literally can hear every word spoken from other nearby rooms. Didn't get more than a few hours of sleep each night and then exhausted for sight seeing the next day. Deal breaker for me. Also, beware if you are a verizon wireless customer that this hotel has no verizon wireless signal, even in lobby. And Wifi hookup costs extra. Very strange to be without cell service for most of the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ja k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
365 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center
Address: 900 10th Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-4405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing