We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice property at a value in DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center
Ranked #28 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice property at a value in DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a bit of an upgraded Embassy Suites experience. The two room suite has the typical amenities, but is just a bit nicer. The lobby and breakfast areas are very nice, and the fitness room is reasonably well equipped. The staff is very friendly and all are very accustomed to giving directions and suggestions to tourists. The property is convenient to many of the attractions, restaurants and metro. I found it easy to walk to the White House, China Town, Ford's Theatre or the mall. The metro is nearby and cabs were always lined up at the front door. I found the rates, which include a lovely breakfast and manager's happy hour, were reasonable for DC. I think this would be a great option for families looking to spend a few days in our nation's capital.

Room Tip: Higher up will be quieter. The second floor is busy as that's where the pool and fitness center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,375
    885
    215
    86
    55
See reviews for
1,228
342
68
716
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Maybe I´m wrong but I have read reviews of this hotel as if it were a 6 star hotel. What is going on?? It makes Four Seasons, Oberoi, Aman resorts, look like youth hostels....
My experience? Big, ample, old, smelly rooms, with lots of space, run down and ABSOLUTELY NO SERVICE, except for Pedro, the bell boy, a great asset.
You phone front desk...no answer. You phone house keeping ....no answer. Then you go down to reception and you understand....one employee juggling with everything!
As far as location, I had a business meeting at the Convention Center and it is 2 blocks away, but I am sure there are better places for the same price, this can´t be it....please!
Internet at 10 and 14 dollars is impossible. They should be paying guests for such a poor service!
I understand, if you go with kids, one room, space, no frills....but forget everything else.
Bottom line: skip this property if you can, look hard for alternatives, there´s got to be something better in the area!

Room Tip: Good rooms start outside the main door. My room had an office 10 feet away from it. It was as dark a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr_zito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here in May of 2013. The hotel is one block from the convention center and about a half mile from the White House. Be aware there is a lot of construction going on across the street and it can be noisy at times. The rooms are pretty standard for the brand - two-room suites. Hotel is very clean and modern. Breakfast is very good...and free. Lots of choices, including cook to order omelets. Gracious and accommodating staff. If the location works for you I think it's a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbradbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in late April 2013. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant, helpful and appeared to genuinely care about our needs. We had a corner king suite on a high floor and as with most all of our stays in the Hilton family, we were happy with how clean and organized everything was. Walking distance to many of the regular tourist sites. As with most in DC, it was on the higher side regarding price but wasn't outside the norm for town. Breakfast was free and full of options. We'd come back with our kids and make a longer stay of it next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was our first stay at an Embassy Suites and it was a really good experience. Having realized that with 2 children under 4, all cramming into a single hotel room is no fun for anyone, we wanted to try a suite option that would be comfortable but not ridiculously expensive, and this fit the bill. The room was clean and comfortable, with enough space for our family to spread out. Having a separate sleeping area so that we could watch a movie after the kids went to bed was great. The service at this particular hotel was excellent. The staff was friendly, ready with good recommendations for restaurants and directions, and always greeted our children. We wound up having to check out suddenly a day early because one of our children was ill, and they accommodated us without any trouble. The breakfast is decent, especially given that it is included. The location was also great for us - a reasonable walk to the Mall, and very close to a convenient Metro line. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to DC for a family trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

OK experience...breakfast and evening reception nice touch. Can't say much nice about registration desk..showed favoritism towards certain guests. Bellmen and Doormen always went out of their way to be nice. Security not the best saw a lot of "strays" going thru lobby checking things out then leaving. Stayed for 5 nights to attend a conference at the center....so stayed there due to the short walk..or would have changed hotels after 1st night..they do not really seem to care about you since DC is such a tourist town, your level of satisfaction not a priority.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank bbandky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just completed a 6-night family of 4 stay and thought this location was good for the breakfast; location to the trolley "hop on" tour; and close to two metro stations. You can walk to the Mall or take the metro two stops. We were upgraded to a 'two room suite' which helped with the space. It has 2 double beds and a pull-out bed, as well as fridge, microwave and two tvs.
The good:
Afternoon Manager's Reception; free Breakfast; Location; And one front desk member who 'took' a pencil from the gift shop, sharpened it and gave it to my daughter when he couldn't find one behind the counter. (She was working on a school project).
The Bad:
Our view (a brick wall); the pool (kind of smelly and cloudy); One grumpy breakfast staff member who, for two days in a row, was really kind of rude. (This is not a mark against the hotel and who know what she was going though this week).
Caution: A little pricey, but so is DC and Valet parking costs are CRAZY! I parked in the public lot kitty-corner to the hotel.
If returning with a family, I would come back. (Unless another hotel offered such a full breakfast)

Room Tip: Use Public Parking instead of Valet! and ask for a room with a view (Not the back alley)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Courtyard Washington Convention ...
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#41 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center
Address: 900 10th Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-4405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing