We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your best pajamas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center
Ranked #31 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great room, but felt like I was abroad. Because overseas, I'm used to poor technology...oh wait, basic technology. No cellular connection in room. If you plan on using a hotspot forget it. No wonder the lobby was full of folks trying to call home. It was the only place we could get even a couple bars (and I'm not talking about drinks). My only advice here is to bring your best pajamas if you plan to call your loved ones after your busy day. Not going back there. The Renaissance across the street has no similar issue. When we all asked why, the staff simply replied, "well there shouldn't be anything wrong". Really, this is D.C. The hub of business and politics in the United States. How can a major brand hotel make such a basic mistake. Hmmm, maybe it's to get us all to pay for their overpriced WiFi connections.....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,255 - 2,261 of 3,162 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed here with three other people from Wednesday-Saturday for a convention. The hotel itself was fantastic! The Valet and Concierge service...man, I can't say enough wonderful things about them. They were all very friendly and bent over backwards to accomidate us. They were on point with every recommendation and even helped me find a place to get my nails fixed after I broke one in the middle of the night.

The hotel restaraunt, Finn & Porter is out of this world! I had Macaroni and Cheese with lump crab meat. It was fantastic. Everyone else in the party couldn't stop saying enough wonderful things about the food. We all tried a little of each others' dishes and there wasn't a bad thing amongst the four of us. The drinks in the F&P bar were superb; mixed perfectly and tasted out of this world. The bartender was very knowledgeable and friendly. We all got our favorite drinks made better than what we were used to!

Our room was very up to date; both the sitting room and the bedroom had nice flatscreen TVs. The bathroom was huge and very clean and the coffee bar was just an added bonus. There was a mini fridge and a microwave in the room that we utilized and loved. The room itself was very clean and the beds were incredible!

Now, the downsides:

The front desk staff ran hot and cold. They were either very friendly and kind, or treated you worse than the scum on their shoes. When calling to ask about when we could check in and if we could check in early, one of the front desk employees was very snarky when answering questions to the point of saying (what he thought was under his breath) "stupid people". The employee had a very distinct voice, so we just stayed away from them when we needed anyting.

Paying 10$ a night per device to connect to the internet isn't cool at all. With four of us, it would've been 40$ a night just to connect and if the little kiosks in the lobby were any indication on how well the WiFi worked, there was no point to do it anyways as it was very slow and laggy.

The Manager's Reception; great idea, very poor follow-through. There weren't hors d'oeuvres the way you'd think, but bar snacks like pretzles, chips, and veggie sticks. The specialty drink was watered down as it sat in a pitcher filled with ice. There were only two beers on tap and the "bartender" was all too often mixing up drinks; giving Bourbon instead of Whisky, Gin instead of Vodka...ect. The brands were all call brands, so don't expect much.

The pool/spa area: The first night we went down, the hot tub smelled horrific and had black/brown things floating in the water. The walls were covered in black scum. The water had a thick, oily like feel to it. We stayed for about ten minutes before we left and alerted the front desk. The next day, it was 100% better; no funny smell, water "felt" right, no little floating things, and the walls were clean. It was obvious that the pool area wasn't cleaned well until someone complained about the conditions.

All in all, it was a decent stay. I was very pleased overall, so I would recommend this hotel to someone else, while keeping in mind the downsides of this place.

Room Tip: Use your HHonors Gold or Diamond to get the huge suites on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shao T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We just completed a four night stay at the Embassy Suites as we were attending a conference at the Convention Center. We booked an executive suite since both my husband and I need desk space and found that the large dining table fit the bill and allowed both of us plenty of space to set up computers and work comfortably. The entire staff was very welcoming and friendly, especially the housekeeping staff! Amenities were great, fab breakfast included in the price as well as a welcome wine/cheese reception in the afternoon. Love the coffeemaker in the room too. Only negative is having to pay for internet. Just include it in the room cost, at $300+ per night one expects a $14 internet charge to be complimentary. Forget my glass of wine and give me the internet instead! - All in all, a great hotel, 5 minute walk to the convention center, clean rooms, warm staff and a top notch Embassy Suites. Will stay again next trip to DC.

Room Tip: The executive rooms had more space and lots of windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoshiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Breakfast is included with the price of the room, and it's delicious --excellent made-to-order eggs, but even the steam table buffet items were perfectly cooked. The manager's reception every evening -- free drinks and snacks -- was a wonderful added touch. Comfortable bed, and the suite was large. Two minor complaints: The plumbing needed a bit of work; both the toilet and shower were somewhat weak. And the bedroom TV was showing the effects of age. But overall, an extremely pleasant experience in an excellent location, and I'd happily return.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our large family stayed hear for the great American Israel friendship convention (AIPAC). It was a 3 minute walk to the beautiful Washington Convention Center. Its right in a very nice and safe section of downtown DC. Its a few block walk (10-15 min) to any metro stop. The rooms were great, large spacious suites that easily accommodated 2 adults and 2 kids. Their large delicious breakfast in a large nice dining area was great. In the evening they had a really nice wine and cheese hour for guests. The staff was very nice- not at the level of a Ritz Carlton in manner, but very nice. The hotel is very clean and well decorated. The lobby was very nice. The prices was fair for a large city (@$375/night). Like in a lot of hotels I still am put off by charges of $14 a night for wireless internet in the room. Wireless access in the lobby was a bit problematic at times. Some other minor things I noticed as a negative was that in the elevators and public spaces they played rather low level music- Id consider it rock- type music my 17 year old would like. My middle aged ears paying $400 a night was turned off by it.The hot water temperature in the showers was a bit on the too cool side. Overall grade: solid B+--A-. Id stay there again without hesitation. Howard Sachs Chevy Chase Md.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Rooms are very nice and clean, the staff is friendly, and the amenities are great! The indoor pool is a super plus, especially if you have kids. This hotel is pretty close to everything, not more than a 15-20 minute walk. The breakfast and evening reception are fully stocked and were much better than we have had at other hotels. We would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Family friendly, Corner suites are worth it if you can afford it for the extra space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We just stayed here on a Thursday - Saturday. For < $200 per night, we had a spacious, comfortable, and clean suite in what appears to be a fairly new property.

The breakfast was excellent. I didn't do the made-to-order omelettes, but the hot food was really good. The front desk was friendly and helpful. On our last day, they allowed us to extend our checkout for 2 hours, given that we had a late day flight home. I realize that privilege isn't guaranteed, and was grateful for that.

The neighborhood was perfect - clean, safe, and within walking distance to the Metro and some attractions. Plenty of options for meals and drinks. There is a Starbucks across the street for those of you who, like me, find that generally speaking, hotel coffee isn't very good.

The elevator service was excellent, which can be problematic in city hotels. There was never a wait. The shower worked fine as well.

The printer in the business center worked fine, which useful for printing boarding passes. And it wasn't taken over by children and teens hogging the computers for important things like Facebook.

The only complaint about this property is that the cell phone service in the room was unreliable. Other than that, I would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank shortysnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#40 of 142 in Washington DC
441 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center

Address: 900 10th Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-4405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $161 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing