We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center
Ranked #31 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel was great, they made us check in early instead of 3pm we checked in at 10am no extra charge, which gave us a free breakfast so for two nights we had 3 free breakfasts. room was beautiful, clean and large 2 tvs and excellent service.close to everything is in walking distance.

Room Tip: i was on the 5th floor everything was quiet, excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milokevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,385 - 2,391 of 3,162 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

We just stayed here for a work related trip for me but I brought my family and they loved it. The Hotel is beautiful, clean and well situated. Five blocks or so from the National Mall and Smithsonian museums. Lost of restaurants around the area. Two blocks or so from Ford's Theater, which my children enjoyed very much and from Madame Tussaud's Wax museum. Also close to the Spy museum, which was not worth the money. We highly recommend this Hotel. The Hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Metro Center Metro Station and a short walk from Chinatown. Excellent Hotel, wonderful service, amazingly clean, confortable rooms and beds, breakfast was fabulous and so much variety. A beautiful and well kept Hotel. The only thing more negative was the pool, which is small and was crowded and the gym is fine for a workout but equipment could be updated. I would stay here again anytime. Roby, at the front desk, is amazingly friendly and helpful and made recommendations of where to go. Donna, also at the front desk was very nice and helpful. If in DC, a must is a tour on the "The Big Bus" tour company. This Embassy Suites was wonderful all around. You can tell the management cares as well as the employees in general.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a spring break trip. Good location for access to the mall and museums. The breakfast was delicious but the lines were really long because of the holiday week. They had a free happy hour we took in one night with beverage and chips. Room was large.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The location is good, any important sightseeing point can be reached on foot. suites are not old nor new, space is enough. we traveled with a two year old, thus separate bedroom was good. pool is tiny and crowded with children.
breakfast is complementary and that is the problem. service on weekends is like a zone of war. food is mediocre and you have to line up forever. well, as they use traffic signs, it is obvious that they don`t want to improve the situation. even on monday it was super busy, thus, lining up 10 min for eggs and then another 15 min in another line to get bread toasted in UNACCEPTABLE.
by the way, advice for international travelers that bring unlocked apple devices. forget about getting any 3G prepaid plans in the US.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolandShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice place, great service, good pricing.
We stayed 3 nights for 2 full days in the city. It was a bit of a walk to The Mall but we were up for it. Near enough to walk to the White House.
We got the 48 hour bus pass from The Big One and the yellow line stops within sight. Book that, stay there and enjoy the service.
One word od warning: the restaurant, in house is fair at best and a little pricey. Look around for something different including The Capital City Brew Pub. Nearby and great deals.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank pnf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

In August 2012, my family and I stayed at this Embassy Suites and it was wonderful. Unlike other Embassy Suites that we have stayed at, this one is not an atrium style. This hotel is run more like its partner brand, Hilton, but with the free breakfast in the hotel's restaurant. Robby who greeted us at the front desk talked with us quite awhile about our trip, our family, our touring interests. It reminded me of checking into a Disney World hotel. There is valet service and bellhops and the staff were all very fast and very friendly. One time we got into the elevator while one employee was finishing cleaning the inside of it. He wanted to know if there was anything the hotel could be doing to make our stay even better. I have never been asked that in a chain hotel before.
The room was large for DC (but we were upgraded to a corner suite since it was a quiet time in DC and the room was available and we are Hilton Honors members.) There is construction ongoing across NY avenue but we couldn't not hear it in our room. The concierge was great (again not someone I have seen in other Embassy Suites) and recommended some wonderful restaurants to us.
Because of enjoying those restaurants (and a very crowded manager's reception -- I have never stood in line for one of those at other Embassy Suites) we chose to walk everywhere because it was surprisingly cool for August in DC. It was a 40 min walk for us to the Library of Congress (and yes, we could have taken the metro but were trying to walk off meals), about 25 to the Mall, about 10 minutes to Lafayette Park and the White house, and about 5 to the Ford's theater area.
But again, it was the service and the little extras that made this hotel special. There is a sign near the elevator area that warns you about timing and the typical breakfast traffic -- something I have never seen done before at an Embassy Suites. The breakfast staff was quick to clear tables and keep things moving. There is a Starbucks right across the street if you want different coffee. Upon checkout, we were surprised to find 4 bottled waters in our vehicle and a note card that had printed directions to the major highways. Another little extra we have never seen before. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDelRusso, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Magal65,

Wow…. thank you for your great review. It sounds like you travel with Hilton frequently and, and I am so glad you noticed some of the small but important details (concierge service, extra friendly staff, bottled water in your car when you check out…) that make us stand out. We know that you have many hotel options in downtown DC, so we work very hard to provide the best service and overall value at our hotel – so you have no reason to look anywhere else! We are fortunate to enjoy an excellent location in the heart of DC – and we know that very clean rooms and comfortable beds are essential - but the most important ingredient to any stay is warm service that we provide to each guest who walks through our front door. We are your home away from home, and we want you to feel completely comfortable while you are here. Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed observations with the Trip Advisor community. To know that we are your favorite Embassy Suites is a great feeling, and rest assured that I will be reading your review to our entire team at our next staff meeting! Thank you again for staying with us, and please send me an email the next time you will be coming to DC!

Warm regards,

David Del Russo
General Manager
david.del.russ@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very good location, it's 20min walk to the White House, 20-30min walk to the Museum of Natural History. Plenty of restaurants nearby, 5min by taxi to DuPont Circle. 
Hotel itself is in good condition, rooms are sufficient size, with 2 rooms King suite you can easily fit family with 2 kids (we had just one in the crib so it was even easier). Bed very comfortable. As for noise, those walking on the corridor do tent to be loud but not after 9-10pm so nothing really to complain about. There is a huge construction going on across the street so on the weekdays be prepared for the sounds of it starting around 7.30am. 
One minus - that's a very popular hotel and that makes it crowded during the holiday season. I think that the place calls for some reorganization because the existing facilities are barely enough to serve the existing number of customers. Swimming pool is so full that young children get easily scared, breakfast area resembles school canteen during the longest break. Queues form for everything and are long. This said, breakfast was OK, all the basic stuff was there although I would love to see more healthy, not sugared muesli, cereal and more fruit choices. Omelets were good. 
Service was professional, efficient and friendly.
Hotel offers very convenient perk - TV either phone check out. You get the bill evening before and if you are OK with the charges, using remote control you check yourself out within 2min while being still in the room. 
Overall, this is not a hotel with "atmosphere" but more than enough value for money. We were happy with our choice and can recommend it to any other traveling family. 

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Magdalena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDelRusso, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear Magdalena Z,

Thank you for your detailed and balance review. I am very glad that you enjoyed our location and found the hotel to be in good condition. We just completed a major refresh of all our guest rooms in March after being open for just 6 years. Nobody likes to stay in a shabby hotel room, and we will never let that happen! You mentioned the huge construction project across the street. That is City Center, DC. It is going to be a mix of office buildings plus condos and apartment - and all with ground floor retail establishments. So please come back in about 18 months and it is going to be great! It sounds like you came during our busy summer season when breakfast can get crowded. We always add extra staff members to make sure that service is efficient and that tables are cleared quickly. I assure you and all Trip Advisor members, that we keep breakfast open later on the weekends to make sure that all of our guests enjoy a fresh hot breakfast! Many guests have asked for more fruit so we recently started a new rotation that includes more fruit options. Thank you for staying with us and please come back soon and experience it for yourself!

Sincerely,

David Del Russo
General Manager
david.del.russo@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#40 of 142 in Washington DC
441 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center

Address: 900 10th Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-4405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $161 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing