We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center
Ranked #31 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

What a find! Not only is this hotel near lots of washington attractions but the service and facilities are fantastic! We are here at the moment. You get free breakfast, free internet, free evening drinks and snacks. Couldn't recommend highly enough. The bus to george town and union station stops outside the door as well. See you here soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,549
    966
    236
    93
    55
See reviews for
1,363
379
72
805
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Fabulous hotel, great location, wonderful ammenities. Strongly recommend. The on-site Finn & Porter restaurant was exceptional for great and easy family dining.
Taoufik provided outstanding service in a manner that made our family of 4 generations comfortable and happy. Finn & Porter is a definite dinner spot after a long day of tourist activities.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4generations2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

I am a bit wary of big national chain hotels catering to families, but I was pleasantly surprised by the level of service and offerings. We had a regular suite a few nights but my husband asked for a corner suite and we were moved as soon as one was available. The staff was very accommodating about the whole thing. The larger suite had more light and felt airy.
The free breakfast was so great and really saved a lot of $$$ during our stay considering we were there for a week. My husband was there for business and I was there for leisure and the hotel suited our needs perfectly. Yes, wifi would have been nice but I was able to surf with 3G connection.
From housecleaning staff to breakfast hostess to front desk staff, customer service was top notch. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating. One time I got to breakfast late and they were cleaning up. I got a bowl of oatmeal and was looking around for brown sugar. Out of nowhere the hostess appeared and asked if I was looking for brown sugar. She then went on a hunt for me and found me some! Wow...What a service! I also saw one of cooks come out to chat with a family and offered a free movie rental coupon because it was raining out so the kids can watch a movie for free in the room. How thoughtful!!
As far as physical feature:
The bed was very comfortable, pillows on the other hand, not so much for me. Too high and firm for my taste. By the way, I wasn't bothered too much by the construction as the digging phase seems to be over.

Nice workout room but the indoor pool is really more for kiddies.
By the way, I have never seen so many kids outside of a school. The hotel does offer a tremendous value for families and is in a great location.

Loved the mint water in the lobby. I'm so going to try it at home.

Overall, a great and comfortable stay. You can't get this kind of value in one of the top cities in the nation.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite but not the ones facing the back alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jujuking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

From the start of our stay until the very end, the staff treated us wonderfully. The hotel boasts a terrific breakfast bar and a "free" evening reception with free beverages and snacks for both adults and children. The front desk staff answered all questions we had whether it was about directions or services. They were always very courteous and friendly.
They helped load up our car and gave us bottled water as we pulled away. I will highly recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights with my family of 4, and really enjoyed it. Staff was great, super-friendly and helpful. Beds were really comfy! Breakfast was good, and we managed to navigate the breakfast line in 15 minutes or less every day. Location was nice - was within walking distance to the mall, restaurants, metro, etc, even though it was an ungodly 100+ degrees outside! I would definitely stay here again. The only negative thing we encountered is that the hotel had a club open on Saturday night with super-loud dance music that we could hear in our 4th floor room. Didn't bother us much since we were super tired and fell asleep despite the noise, but could be an issue.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I had high hopes for this hotel based on reviews I read on this forum, and usually they are spot on. Maybe it was an off week, but me and my family - we were not wowed, and were mostly disappointed in this hotel. The hotel lobby is very nice, and would lead you to think the rooms are nice as well. However, when we arrived our room seemed dirty/used so we were moved to another room. Unfortunately, that room was a handicapped room, so the bathroom wasn't functional for a family...no barrier to shower area, so water will just run all over bathroom and no bathtub at all. We moved back to 1st room for 1st night and moved on 2nd night to a larger room. Moving us was a nice, accomodating gesture of the staff, which we appreciated. However, nice staff can only do so much. The rooms speak for themselves, and seem very worn, mostly the carpets. In all 3 rooms we saw there were stains on carpeting in various areas, which really brings down the quality of the room. One of the main reasons we selected the hotel was for the size, wanting space while there 7 nights. It is larger than a standard hotel by far, but the bathroom is really uncomfortable in many ways. The door to the bathroom is always "in the way" if you are using facilities, bathing kids, using the mirror, you are constanting moving the door back and forth. The toilets are the loudest toilets I have ever heard, you cannot flush anytime over night or you will wake everyone in your room, as well as anyone in surrounding rooms. We also were staying in the hotel during the arrival of a fraternity convention which was tremendous...this was something I would somehow research beforehand (call and ask hotel) if a huge group would be arriving, etc., because it really affected our stay. There were probably 20 people crammed in a few rooms around us, and we had to call front desk to send security 3 times in one night. You could hear your neighbors through the A/C vents, so we had to stuff towels into the vents to muffle the noise. After that evening I think the parties moved rooms, because we were not bothered by that again. The Internet access is extremely poor, and costs $10 a DAY if you want it in your room. This is the year 2011, I think that should be provided to all guests free of charge. Cable provider offered limited television choices in my opinion. Housekeeping was done at a minimum, basically remove towels you put on floor and maybe take out trash. No vacuuming was done, although it was obviously needed over a week long stay. There is also a huge construction project going on across the street from the hotel. Room view choices we saw were, staring at an office building a few feet away, or staring at a huge construction site, with surrounding buildings. We had the construction site, which had the added perk of construction noise beginning at 7 am each morning, except the weekend. The pros of the hotel would be the staff seems nice, and tries accommodate it's guests; the breakfast buffet is nicely done and included free each morning. The cons are listed above, and unfortunately due to our experiences, I would not recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLMHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Visited DC with family group of six. Two suites. Location ("K" and 10th), rooms, staff, breakfast, manager's reception -- all EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcb1Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center
Address: 900 10th Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-4405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing