We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National Native American Conference”

Department of State
Book In Advance
More Info
$400.00*
and up
Customized Private Sightseeing Tour of DC
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Half-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“National Native American Conference”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Every November, they have a amazing conference here with a lot of tribal leaders and Code Talkers. I loved the experience and to meet the people whom work in this building.

Helpful?
Thank nivee_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Looks as it should”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Not a whole lot to say about this building; it was fairly plain and away from the downtown area where the white house and other departments are. The building is plain yet efficient, the way government should be!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LfeisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Something different in DC”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We thought making advanced reservations and going through security were well worth the effort. Our tour guide was very informative and you get a chance to really see these rooms and their content. Things aren't cordoned/roped off and your get a chance to look closely at the items that may interest you. Schedule 2+ hours for this considering you must be there 1/2 hour before admission time and it takes time to get through security - the tour itself may be a little over an hour. They were setting up for an event in the Benjamin Franklin State Dining Room - so it was fun to see it set up for a formal occasion.

Getting there was easy enough - it's a few blocks south of the Foggy Bottom Metro. Other members of our party came by car and they were able to park right across the street at a metered space (I think it was a 2 hour meter).

I would strongly advise not bringing children or even teenagers unless they are really into history. Get tickets at: https://receptiontours.state.gov/

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank TN-Traveler38017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Must Know's”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I didn't go on my most recent trip to DC, but for those that want to go and I am in that category, this may be the most difficult museum to see. You have to make an appointment in advance and go through a background check. The security police outside even said as much.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdx
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“jewell surrounded by ugly building”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

this was my substitute for not getting a white house tour and I think I enjoyed this more. the rooms are very nice and look like the 18th or 19th century (like the white house ) but in an ugly 1960s building. tour was excellent and very informative AND you are allowed to take photographs plus you can walk all around the rooms...my tour was fantastic because it was just the guide, myself and two employees of the state dept so I was able to get great shoots of the rooms and furniture...go early for less people

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank larrybanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Department of State also viewed

 

Been to Department of State? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing