We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Building”
Review of DAR Museum

DAR Museum
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Half-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC
Ranked #69 of 443 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The DAR Museum looks at the American experience through objects and art of the American home from the Colonial Era to the early 20th century. Visitors can tour 31 period rooms, learn about the history of American furnishings through a fun interactive area, and research their family history in the library.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Impressive Building”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

It's great fun to explore this building, especially the period rooms that are located in what seems to be a maze of corridors. The period rooms depict parlors and bedrooms from almost every state in the US, but one can't help but notice the theme of wealthy white households.

The organization seem a bit stuffy, but offers the opportunity to explore their free exhibits and rooms. Given that much of it focuses on the china patterns and such, my husband and son became a bit tired easily. I thought it was put together really nicely. The library is absolutely beautiful.

This museum is free and definitely worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    42
    10
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting, hard to navigate Daughters of the Revolution museum”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We actually stopped as outside there is the DAR sign.
It fit Dan, who is always right, so had to take a picture.
Had rooms from different states and different times in history, a library, and more.
We should have taken the tour to truly understand it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charesef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Interesting Home Museum, Library and Period Rooms”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We visited here during the Shutdown because many of the other DC museums were closed. We were so glad that we did.

We had a very interesting tour of the exhibition creating the Ideal Home - the curator was extremely enthusiastic, and had lots of stories to tell. The tour was supposed to be about an hour, but took much longer! It was very interesting to see how household appliances had developed differently in the US from Europe.

We also went into the wonderful library which we were told had been a theatre. And then we toured the Period Rooms - small rooms which depicted each State at a different period of history. Very interesting as were the area of children's toys and the various dolls houses.

An unexpected delight.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank countrygirluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
308 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The Christmas Open House is Festive!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Each year the DAR opens their museum and buildings to the public for Christmas Open House. They serve cookies, warm cider and hot chocolate and offer Santa for the little ones. It is a very nice free event in December.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lois6848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful taste of history”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Visited the library here to find information on ancestors of mine who fought in the Revolutionary War. A beautiful sampling of rooms representing each state on view. Also a magnificent library. I was overwhelmed with information of that time of our countries history.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DAR Museum also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to DAR Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing