We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AKA White House
Ranked #26 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here in late December 2013 for vacation with children. The location is excellent just a block from the White House, Mc Donalds and subway station. You can walk to the smithsonians. The unit with 2 bed room is full with stove, toaster, microwave, huge fridge, washer and dryer, 3 flat TVs. Make sure to bring your own tea and coffee. The nearest supermarket is about 10 minutes walk. The unit is very clean. However, all guests and visitors can access all floors so that we were disturbed by visitors knocking at our door at 4 AM in the morning! Then again 15 minutes later. So annoying that the door has no peeping hole so that we have to open the door just to find out that the visitors are trying to meet friends at a different floor. The property shall invest in a security device limiting people to access only the designated floors. Other than that, AKA is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Davida_Davida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We appreciate your feedback! While we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your amenities, we do apologize for any inconvenience caused to you by the interruption from another guest. We take our residents security quite seriously, and as such, urge all residents to contact the front desk immediately so we may investigate the matter. All of our doors within our lobby lock at 10PM and in order to gain access, you must be a resident of AKA with a room key. If in the future you need any coffee, please do not hesitate to stop by the front desk and we are more than pleased to give you some starter coffee packets, we keep plenty on hand for our resident’s use. Rest assured, your comments regarding our suites doors having peepholes has been taken into consideration. Our number one goal is your complete satisfaction, and as such, please feel free to contact the property directly when booking so we may assist in designing a stay catered to your individual needs. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next lodging dates at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    179
    38
    14
    23
See reviews for
213
128
19
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I wanted to find a place where I had all the conveniences of home and a close location to where I was going to work. This is 2 blocks from the White House and 3 blocks from my meeting location. I was able to get groceries from a grocery store and make all of my meals in my room (including taking my breakfast and lunch to my work meetings). I was able to wash all of my clothes before going home! The only thing that is missing is close access to a grocery store and any type of food items in the hotel (no gift shop either). They do have a bar/lounge, fireplace, and friendly/helpful staff. They stored my food in their refrigerator and my suitcases on the final day of my stay so I did not have to throw out my food before my flight. A great place for touring the sights and maintaining a healthy diet while doing so! I had two of my co-workers stay there and they loved it too. This is where I will stay any other times I travel to the DC area.

Room Tip: I was fairly close to the elevator and barely heard anything. It is like living in a one-bedroom ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you kindly for the great feedback! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at your “home away from home”! With our suites designed to cater to your individual needs, AKA is your number one choice when looking for luxury extended stay within Washington, DC. While we do not have a restaurant on site, we are fortunate to be close to many, wonderful restaurants and cafés local to our area. While most residents utilize Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s for the groceries, our resident representative are on-site to assist any resident with ordering groceries online. This way, all your groceries are delivered right to your suite! We are thrilled to hear our concierge team was able to make your stay exceptional. Our number goal is your complete satisfaction and we are happy to hear your stay reflected that. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to your return.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I just loved everything about this hotel. The rooms are very spacious and come with a small kitchen that really just has everything. It is very clean and the rooms are very relaxing. Recommended for longer stays. The hotel is also very close to the metro station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ataha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback. Our number one goal is your complete satisfaction and we are thrilled to hear your stay reflected that. Upon booking your next stay, please contact us directly when booking to assist in designing a stay catered to your specific needs. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our family of four booked a penthouse two bedroom suite in October for a short stay. It was an excellent experience. The suite was well appointed and spacious. The enormous private balcony overlooking the city was just what we needed to host a small gathering of friends on a warm autumn weekend. The hotel was very well suited to host a small party of about 20 in the suite. The hotel offered extra service pieces for the catered dinner we brought in. They have no restaurant in the hotel but were very happy to aide our party. The hotel is excellently situated for all the sites of the city. I dropped my family off at the Mall and returned to the hotel to park and met my family on foot at the Museum of American History no problem. We also spent a late night touring the monuments by car which is a great way to beat the crowds and see Washington at its best. So close to the white house! Breakfast was easy to get in the area and bring up in no time. The room was well serviced and private with good internet and television. I highly recommend. Although there is not a formal off-street entrance, it is easy to pull up on the street and disembark and then park under the hotel. I actually appreciated the discreet nature of the hotel. You can barely recognize that it is a hotel. The staff couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating even if I felt they were a bit short staffed upon check in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momabouttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback! Our suites were designed with you, our guest, in mind. With in-suite washer and dryers, fuly furnished kitchens, and modern furnishing, AKA White House is your home away from home. So great to hear you enjoyed the “sights” while staying with family! Our central location allows our residents to fully experience what being a Washingtonian is all about. With our fantastic museum collection, national monuments, and local cuisine, residents and guests alike need only step outside to have a truly exciting stay in DC. We are thrilled to also hear our staff was on hand to make your stay memorable. With a dedicated concierge staff that is available 24/7, we are here to help design a stay unique to each visitor. Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is a very good place. Space, quiet, good finish, great bedroom, easy access, etc. etc. Compared with hotels in Europe, well... there is no comparison. You feel like you own the place, and have your own space.

AHA is available for long stay, and is also well suited for this purpose. In fact, I am tempted to try this out!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We greatly appreciate your positive feedback. With our spacious living accommodations, dedicated concierge team, and outstanding location, AKA White House is your home away from home. Whether staying with us for a long period of time, or a getaway to our Nation’s Capital, AKA is your number one choice in luxury extended stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great location for business (not for nightlife/entertainment), large, quiet apartments with stylish interior and quality equipment (e.g. stainless steel appliances), and friendly staff and service. No food services, but a bar is in-house. Perfect for long-term stays, but also for short term, if you like some more space and don't need all the typical hotel amenities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments and feedback! While not right in the middle of nightlife or entertainment in Washington DC, we are only a few short blocks away to Dupont Circle and Georgetown. Our number one goal is your complete satisfaction, and we are thrilled to hear your stay was as such. With our 24/7 dedication concierge team, fully furnished luxury suites, and central location, AKA White House is your number one choice when looking for extended stay within our Nation’s Capital. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent a week here in a 2 bedroom apartment. Very good location - 2 blocks from the White House and then to the Washington Monument, Reflecting Pool, etc. Only criticsm would be that the beds were very firm. The old TV in the family room was changed to a new flat screen during our week. Flat screen TVs were already in each bedroom. Rooms serviced once during the week and we were advised of this at check in. Highly recommended for families.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aust_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments! AKA White House is located within the heart of Washington, DC, and only 2 blocks from The White House. Residents need only to step outside to fully experience what being a “Washingtonian” is all about. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the new HDTV in your suite. We are very excited to have all of our suites upgraded with new flat screen HDTV’s! We do regret the beds did not meet your expectations, as we have numerous resident’s that have loved our mattresses. We thank you again for your comments and look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Property: AKA White House
Address: 1710 H St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-4699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA White House 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. The perfect place for the long stay, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing