We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way this is a Top 15 property in DC”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of AKA White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
AKA White House
Ranked #25 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“No way this is a Top 15 property in DC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I think something fishy may be going on… all the positive reviews of this place seem very suspicious to me. There is NOOOOO way this is a Top 15 hotel in DC! It is essentially a corporate apartment – converted from a condo/apartment building concept in-the-works years ago, that never materialized for some reason. I tried several rooms, and the overall condition of the walls, furniture, rugs, TV/stereo, and general fit and finishes (including kitchens and baths) were 3-star. Bed linen was not of a high thread count and not even ironed. The interiors photograph nicely, but that’s about it. All glitz and no substance. No restaurant, no breakfast, no food period. The management team on-site is very young, and it shows in the lack of experience and attention to details (hello: just a coat of fresh paint in the rooms would go a LONG way!!).

Also important for single women travelers – there is virtually no security. One can walk right in the front entrance (the sole doorman is often engaged doing other things), enter the elevator, push whatever floor they desire, and approach any unit. There are no peepholes in the doors, no safety chains or other security mechanisms on the doors, and no safes in the rooms. It is also loud as the noise from the corridors easily penetrates the large gaps underneath the doors, and the elevators’ operation also makes “things” rattle in the rooms. It’s a really old building.

There are some plusses: large apartment space if you need it for a family or group (and don't mind the rather beat up condition of the units themselves), full kitchen if cooking in your apartment is important, lovely front desk associate Thao (she belongs at the Four Seasons and not the AKA!), and a great bar tender in their lobby (sorry, cannot recall her name). Location is also very good. But there is simply NO way this is a top 15 hotel in DC. Travelers beware of the reviews here.

Room Tip: Choose far away from the noisy elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveGrandHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. We take Trip Advisor extremely seriously as this is crucial to the success of our property. All submissions are reviewed by our management team, as well as Trip Advisor team members and as such, it is an extremely important tool to us, and our reviews are reflective of our outstanding services and amenities that we offer to our clients. Our ranking is a reflection of what our clients have responded with via Trip Advisor and are fully accurate.

Being a property offering lounge/bar services, our lobby is open to the public 6AM-11PM. As we take guest security very seriously, our property has a 24/7 front desk, and a doorman on-site. With property access being restricted only to guests between 11PM-6AM, and management on-site during normal business hours, we are confident in our guests security, and their peace of mind. Our suites have keycard access, that only current residences have access to. Whenever a resident wishes, all suites have a “security lock” that the resident may use in the event they do not want to grant any keycard access.

Additionally, anytime a resident is not satisfied with the location of their suite, due to any issue, we urge our residents to contact the front desk so we may secure another suite, contingent on availability.

Our suites are designed with our client in mind, offering spacious living accommodations, that are fully furnished. While we regret you felt the suites were not to your standard, our Executive Committee Members, Front Desk Staff, as well as Sales Team Members met with you on several occasions to discuss your specific challenges you had with the property as well as happily showing you several different suites in various locations, unfortunately we were unable to appease you. Additionally, we did offer you a special rate based on your specific needs while you stayed with us. We are sorry that we were unable to satisfy your specific needs and after numerous interaction with our team members and yourself, all parties came to the conclusion that perhaps AKA White House was not the property for you, based upon your individual needs.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and regret that we were not able to meet your requirements.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    182
    38
    14
    24
See reviews for
217
133
19
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

As a former Washingtonian, I am very familiar with the city scene and the hotels in particular. For years, I have been fielding questions about where to stay when visiting Washington, DC and it wasn't until I moved to Brooklyn, NY last year that I got a chance to travel back to DC (as a visitor) and experience the hotels first-hand.

On a last minute trip to town a few weeks ago, I booked 2-nights at AKA White House at 17th and H and I have to say, it was one of the best hotel experiences I have had in years.

The service was impeccable - they treat every guest well, including a phone call after check-in where they double check to make sure the room is up to your standards and that everything is in good order. The rooms are stunning - clean, modern, luxury - I had one of the best nights sleep I have had in a hotel in a long time, and it had nothing to do with the cocktails that I had downstairs at the redesigned bar, which a hidden gem on the DC bar scene. NOTE: you must enjoy a drink during happy hour - you won't regret it.

I am actually looking forward to my next trip back to DC so that I can once again enjoy the comfort of AKA White House. I highly recommend this hotel for business travelers, individuals traveling for pleasure and even for families. I have stayed in most of the upscale hotels in DC at this point and AKA White House beats all of them, hands down. Happy travels and enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterslutsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback! Your satisfaction is our number one priority, and we are so happy you were able to enjoy your AKA White House experience. Offering modern, spacious suites with in-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, and spacious living accommodations, AKA White House is the ideal option when traveling in Washington, D.C. and we strive to always create a home-away-from-home. Additionally, with outstanding restaurants, local shopping, and convenient transportation, residents and guests alike can experience DC to its full extent; or as in your case, reconnect. We pride ourselves on making sure your experience at AKA is nothing but exceptional in terms of service and luxury. Once again, your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to greeting you with a "welcome home" upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked this place because we were taking my 95 year old father in law to DC for the first time.
Good things:
Location! Couldn't be better. You are close to all the sights. Many are within walking distance, others are a few Metro stops away.
Apartment-like facilities. FIL (father in law) has his own morning routine and with the kitchen, he could have his decaf, cereal, etc. just like he does at home. It was also more convenient than 2 separate hotel rooms.
Nice rooms. I had read some reviews about smells and less than desirable levels of cleanliness but thankfully, our suite was very clean. We opted not to have daily housekeeping, but they were happy to accommodate us when necessary. It was also helpful to have extra towels, pillows, etc. furnished.
Friendly staff. Everyone was very sweet and made us feel welcome.
Not every good things that could not be helped:
Extra deep tubs. For me, this was a plus, but verging on impossible for FIL. We had reserved a wheelchair, so they were aware of his mobility issues but we were not warned of the tub situation and by the time we arrived, there were no rooms available with more accessible bathrooms.
Noise. You are in the center of DC, so this is inescapable. Other big cities are worse. If noise bothers you, you should look somewhere else.
Things that they could improve on:
The water temperature in our bathrooms was inconsistent. One bathroom barely got warm enough for showering. We mentioned this to the staff but it never improved.
Small amenities. Yes, you get the regular toiletries, and the packet of dishwasher soap was helpful, but a small packet of laundry soap would have been equally helpful, as would a dish sponge in case you didn't want to run the dishwasher for a few cups and plates.
Overall, it's a convenient place to stay if you are a family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadTanuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. Feedback like yours is vital to our growth as a company, and we greatly appreciate the candidness. AKA White House is your ideal option when in search of a luxury extended stay, within the heart of Washington, DC. With in-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, and spacious living accommodations, AKA is your home away from home. Our suites were designed with the guest in mind, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your amenities.

It’s wonderful to hear you and your family had a memorable stay with us! Fantastic it was your father in law’s first time in the district, and we are so glad you chose AKA White House for your accommodations. With its location central to many outstanding restaurants and tourist attractions, AKA cannot be beat.

While we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay, we do apologize that a handicap accessible suite was not available. Due to high occupancy levels, our ADA accessible suites were booked and committed to other resident’s, but we encourage all of our guests to contact the front desk right away if they are not completely satisfied with their suite and to always request and ensure that an ADA suite is secured prior to your arrival as we cannot guarantee upon arrival. Also, we do apologize that the water temperature in your suite was not ideal. Residents can contact the front desk at any time to have our maintenance team inspect your suite to resolve any issue as all heating and cooling elements are located in each suite and are set at a standard level, however we can alter these temperatures, based upon your specific needs. All of our suites are equipped with amenity starter packs that include dish detergent, detergent for the clothes washer, and bath toiletries. Any time a resident requires more, we urge them to contact the front desk so we may replenish any items a guest requests, based on their needs. With our fully furnished kitchens, guests have the opportunity to cook a home cooked meal, right in the comfort of their suite. If a resident wishes to clean dishes by hand, paper towels and a sponge is provided under each kitchen sink, and complimentary liquid dish detergent is available at the front desk upon request as well.

Your satisfaction is our number one priority as we exhibit the highest level of excellence. With a location that cannot be beat, amenities catered to our resident’s needs, and outstanding hospitality, AKA is your home away from home. We thank you for the great feedback and look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We loved our stay. Perfect stay for family of four. Tour a metro ride one stop to foggy bottom to a fabulous Whole Foods and stocked up on fruit, breakfast food, wine & cheese and saved so much time for all our sight seeing. Perfect location to quickly catch the metro. Clean, modern, well stocked kitchen, even a washer and dryer with detergent provided. We will check out AKA for visits in other cities!

Room Tip: Stayed on 10th. . Corner suite in back, quiet -no view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive feedback. AKA White House was designed to offer our guests a luxurious environment with a family oriented atmosphere. Spacious and centrally located to many outstanding things to do and see, we are elated that your stay reflected the AKA experience we enjoy creating. You all seem to have figured out exactly how to get around and enjoy the city ; we certainly look forward to welcoming you all back to your home-away-from-home for another great DC experience. Safe Travels !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

My mother-in-law, wife and I stayed here over the Memorial Day holiday weekend and were impressed with the two bedroom suite. The suite is actually as large as a small apartment in some cities, with a den, a small dinette and a kitchen containing a four burner stove, a full size fridge with bottom freezer, a coffeemaker, a toaster, a sink and a dishwasher. All cups and utensils are provided. There is a master suite with king bed and bath, as well as a second bedroom with a king bed and a separate bath at the end of the hall. This was the perfect setup for our party as my mother-in-law had her own bath. In room Wi-Fi is free with a password the hotel provides. The location on H Street is in a financial area, surrounded by office buildings but within walking distance (10 minutes) of Foggy Bottom/GW University campus and the White House. Parking is on site in a secure lot inside the building for an additional $30 a day. There is a Whole Foods nearby on the GW campus and a CVS pharmacy a few blocks away if you need items such as snacks, food or coffee supplies (the hotel will provide a coffee bag and sugar if you ask for it and there is dishwashing detergent and a sponge for cleanup). Several eateries are nearby including Founding Farmers, Paul, Pot Belly Sandwiches, McDonalds, the Corner Bakery and Starbucks to mention a few. The entrance to the hotel is nondescript behind two large doors and not the busy entrance/lobby you see at the large hotels. There is a bar off the lobby as well as a fitness area (although this was closed for renovation during our stay and the hotel offered a pass to a gym down the street as compensation). Guest services was friendly and accommodating. The only things I was a little put off by was that the cleanliness was average (there was a small something wiped on the wall in the master bath that was missed by the cleaning crew) and after getting to the room floor from the elevator the hallways are quite dim. Our suite faced H street and while I have read complaints here about the noise from the street no one in our party had any issues with sleep quality. I would certainly recommend AKA White House to anyone who needs a little extra space and the convenience of what is basically a small apartment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawgX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your accommodations while staying with us at AKA White House. Our suites were designed with our guests in mind. With a fully furnished kitchen, residents and guests alike can enjoy a home cooked meal upon their convenience. With a central location, residents have the unique opportunity to experience everything DC has to offer. With Whole Foods within a short walk, residents and guests alike can prepare and enjoy a home cooked meal, all within the comfort of their “home away from home”. Alternatively, residents can enjoy the numerous restaurants within walking distance. Our resident representatives can suggest many different options, depending on your interests. Taberna del Alabadero and Founding Farmers are resident favorites, both offering unique menus exclusive to Washington, DC. After a busy day exploring DC, we encourage our residents to relax in our a.lounge, while enjoying a hand crafted cocktail, or one of our curated selected wines. In regards to your suite not being fully clean, we do apologize for this inconvenience. Rest assured, this is not a normal occurrence. We take pride in our meticulous attention to detail, and have spoken to our housekeeping department regarding the walls in your suite and we suggest that if you are not satisfied that you let us know at the desk and we will send up a housekeeper to rectify the situation to your complete satisfaction. We always encourage our residents to contact the front desk immediately if you are not completely satisfied with your suite, so we may remedy the situation immediately. We are thrilled to hear you had a restful and enjoyable stay. “Don’t just visit… Live it!” is one of our favorite sayings at AKA, and we are glad to hear our team was here to make your stay memorable. We thank you again for the great feedback and look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Nice, clean hotel. Very convenient. Wish they'd offered some type of continental style breakfast. Gym was closed. Had to call for shampoo/fresh wash cloths one day. Overall decent stay. Comfy beds that are very clean :-) Nice & bright rooms. Liked the contemporary furnishings.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. AKA White House is your ideal option when in search of luxury extended stay in DC. With our complimentary coffee service in the a.lounge Monday through Friday, residents can relax in comfort before the start of each day. Being centrally located, our residents have numerous options when in search of a fantastic breakfast; all within less than a block from the property. While our fitness center is being renovated to further enhance our guests experience, our resident representatives are here to direct you to a fitness facility that best caters to your needs and during our renovation we have offered our guests complimentary access to a local gym only minutes away. Also, while our suites are outfitted with a starter pack of toiletries, we encourage our residents to contact the front desk at any time so we may arrange for these items to be sent up right away, based upon your needs. Your satisfaction is our number one priority. As such, we appreciate you providing your feedback so we may continue our endeavor to be the leader in luxury extended stay. Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to you next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

It is true i didn't spent a lot of time on the hotel during my visit to DC, however; the suites are very organized, beautiful, and clean... The furniture are adorable, and like new!!
The hotel location is also great since it just two blocks to the white house and very close to all other city important views and sites.
One more thing, i would like to thank each and every one of the hotel staff for their kindness, and professionality....

You should try it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljdana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback! Namely highlighting the amazing team we have at AKA White House. Our top priority is your satisfaction and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. With amenities such as fully furnished kitchens, in-suite washer and dryers, spacious living accommodations, and 24/7 concierge services, AKA White House is your home-away-from-home. We are also glad to hear you enjoyed the area as well; the proximity of AKA to outstanding restaurants, historical landmarks, and great shopping make it second to none. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Property: AKA White House
Address: 1710 H St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-4699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA White House 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. The perfect place for the long stay, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing