We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice central place for longer stays”
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AKA White House
Ranked #36 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked this place because we were taking my 95 year old father in law to DC for the first time.
Good things:
Location! Couldn't be better. You are close to all the sights. Many are within walking distance, others are a few Metro stops away.
Apartment-like facilities. FIL (father in law) has his own morning routine and with the kitchen, he could have his decaf, cereal, etc. just like he does at home. It was also more convenient than 2 separate hotel rooms.
Nice rooms. I had read some reviews about smells and less than desirable levels of cleanliness but thankfully, our suite was very clean. We opted not to have daily housekeeping, but they were happy to accommodate us when necessary. It was also helpful to have extra towels, pillows, etc. furnished.
Friendly staff. Everyone was very sweet and made us feel welcome.
Not every good things that could not be helped:
Extra deep tubs. For me, this was a plus, but verging on impossible for FIL. We had reserved a wheelchair, so they were aware of his mobility issues but we were not warned of the tub situation and by the time we arrived, there were no rooms available with more accessible bathrooms.
Noise. You are in the center of DC, so this is inescapable. Other big cities are worse. If noise bothers you, you should look somewhere else.
Things that they could improve on:
The water temperature in our bathrooms was inconsistent. One bathroom barely got warm enough for showering. We mentioned this to the staff but it never improved.
Small amenities. Yes, you get the regular toiletries, and the packet of dishwasher soap was helpful, but a small packet of laundry soap would have been equally helpful, as would a dish sponge in case you didn't want to run the dishwasher for a few cups and plates.
Overall, it's a convenient place to stay if you are a family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadTanuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. Feedback like yours is vital to our growth as a company, and we greatly appreciate the candidness. AKA White House is your ideal option when in search of a luxury extended stay, within the heart of Washington, DC. With in-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, and spacious living accommodations, AKA is your home away from home. Our suites were designed with the guest in mind, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your amenities.

It’s wonderful to hear you and your family had a memorable stay with us! Fantastic it was your father in law’s first time in the district, and we are so glad you chose AKA White House for your accommodations. With its location central to many outstanding restaurants and tourist attractions, AKA cannot be beat.

While we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay, we do apologize that a handicap accessible suite was not available. Due to high occupancy levels, our ADA accessible suites were booked and committed to other resident’s, but we encourage all of our guests to contact the front desk right away if they are not completely satisfied with their suite and to always request and ensure that an ADA suite is secured prior to your arrival as we cannot guarantee upon arrival. Also, we do apologize that the water temperature in your suite was not ideal. Residents can contact the front desk at any time to have our maintenance team inspect your suite to resolve any issue as all heating and cooling elements are located in each suite and are set at a standard level, however we can alter these temperatures, based upon your specific needs. All of our suites are equipped with amenity starter packs that include dish detergent, detergent for the clothes washer, and bath toiletries. Any time a resident requires more, we urge them to contact the front desk so we may replenish any items a guest requests, based on their needs. With our fully furnished kitchens, guests have the opportunity to cook a home cooked meal, right in the comfort of their suite. If a resident wishes to clean dishes by hand, paper towels and a sponge is provided under each kitchen sink, and complimentary liquid dish detergent is available at the front desk upon request as well.

Your satisfaction is our number one priority as we exhibit the highest level of excellence. With a location that cannot be beat, amenities catered to our resident’s needs, and outstanding hospitality, AKA is your home away from home. We thank you for the great feedback and look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 754 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

We loved our stay. Perfect stay for family of four. Tour a metro ride one stop to foggy bottom to a fabulous Whole Foods and stocked up on fruit, breakfast food, wine & cheese and saved so much time for all our sight seeing. Perfect location to quickly catch the metro. Clean, modern, well stocked kitchen, even a washer and dryer with detergent provided. We will check out AKA for visits in other cities!

Room Tip: Stayed on 10th. . Corner suite in back, quiet -no view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive feedback. AKA White House was designed to offer our guests a luxurious environment with a family oriented atmosphere. Spacious and centrally located to many outstanding things to do and see, we are elated that your stay reflected the AKA experience we enjoy creating. You all seem to have figured out exactly how to get around and enjoy the city ; we certainly look forward to welcoming you all back to your home-away-from-home for another great DC experience. Safe Travels !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My mother-in-law, wife and I stayed here over the Memorial Day holiday weekend and were impressed with the two bedroom suite. The suite is actually as large as a small apartment in some cities, with a den, a small dinette and a kitchen containing a four burner stove, a full size fridge with bottom freezer, a coffeemaker, a toaster, a sink and a dishwasher. All cups and utensils are provided. There is a master suite with king bed and bath, as well as a second bedroom with a king bed and a separate bath at the end of the hall. This was the perfect setup for our party as my mother-in-law had her own bath. In room Wi-Fi is free with a password the hotel provides. The location on H Street is in a financial area, surrounded by office buildings but within walking distance (10 minutes) of Foggy Bottom/GW University campus and the White House. Parking is on site in a secure lot inside the building for an additional $30 a day. There is a Whole Foods nearby on the GW campus and a CVS pharmacy a few blocks away if you need items such as snacks, food or coffee supplies (the hotel will provide a coffee bag and sugar if you ask for it and there is dishwashing detergent and a sponge for cleanup). Several eateries are nearby including Founding Farmers, Paul, Pot Belly Sandwiches, McDonalds, the Corner Bakery and Starbucks to mention a few. The entrance to the hotel is nondescript behind two large doors and not the busy entrance/lobby you see at the large hotels. There is a bar off the lobby as well as a fitness area (although this was closed for renovation during our stay and the hotel offered a pass to a gym down the street as compensation). Guest services was friendly and accommodating. The only things I was a little put off by was that the cleanliness was average (there was a small something wiped on the wall in the master bath that was missed by the cleaning crew) and after getting to the room floor from the elevator the hallways are quite dim. Our suite faced H street and while I have read complaints here about the noise from the street no one in our party had any issues with sleep quality. I would certainly recommend AKA White House to anyone who needs a little extra space and the convenience of what is basically a small apartment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DawgX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your accommodations while staying with us at AKA White House. Our suites were designed with our guests in mind. With a fully furnished kitchen, residents and guests alike can enjoy a home cooked meal upon their convenience. With a central location, residents have the unique opportunity to experience everything DC has to offer. With Whole Foods within a short walk, residents and guests alike can prepare and enjoy a home cooked meal, all within the comfort of their “home away from home”. Alternatively, residents can enjoy the numerous restaurants within walking distance. Our resident representatives can suggest many different options, depending on your interests. Taberna del Alabadero and Founding Farmers are resident favorites, both offering unique menus exclusive to Washington, DC. After a busy day exploring DC, we encourage our residents to relax in our a.lounge, while enjoying a hand crafted cocktail, or one of our curated selected wines. In regards to your suite not being fully clean, we do apologize for this inconvenience. Rest assured, this is not a normal occurrence. We take pride in our meticulous attention to detail, and have spoken to our housekeeping department regarding the walls in your suite and we suggest that if you are not satisfied that you let us know at the desk and we will send up a housekeeper to rectify the situation to your complete satisfaction. We always encourage our residents to contact the front desk immediately if you are not completely satisfied with your suite, so we may remedy the situation immediately. We are thrilled to hear you had a restful and enjoyable stay. “Don’t just visit… Live it!” is one of our favorite sayings at AKA, and we are glad to hear our team was here to make your stay memorable. We thank you again for the great feedback and look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Nice, clean hotel. Very convenient. Wish they'd offered some type of continental style breakfast. Gym was closed. Had to call for shampoo/fresh wash cloths one day. Overall decent stay. Comfy beds that are very clean :-) Nice & bright rooms. Liked the contemporary furnishings.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. AKA White House is your ideal option when in search of luxury extended stay in DC. With our complimentary coffee service in the a.lounge Monday through Friday, residents can relax in comfort before the start of each day. Being centrally located, our residents have numerous options when in search of a fantastic breakfast; all within less than a block from the property. While our fitness center is being renovated to further enhance our guests experience, our resident representatives are here to direct you to a fitness facility that best caters to your needs and during our renovation we have offered our guests complimentary access to a local gym only minutes away. Also, while our suites are outfitted with a starter pack of toiletries, we encourage our residents to contact the front desk at any time so we may arrange for these items to be sent up right away, based upon your needs. Your satisfaction is our number one priority. As such, we appreciate you providing your feedback so we may continue our endeavor to be the leader in luxury extended stay. Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to you next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It is true i didn't spent a lot of time on the hotel during my visit to DC, however; the suites are very organized, beautiful, and clean... The furniture are adorable, and like new!!
The hotel location is also great since it just two blocks to the white house and very close to all other city important views and sites.
One more thing, i would like to thank each and every one of the hotel staff for their kindness, and professionality....

You should try it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ljdana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for the positive feedback! Namely highlighting the amazing team we have at AKA White House. Our top priority is your satisfaction and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. With amenities such as fully furnished kitchens, in-suite washer and dryers, spacious living accommodations, and 24/7 concierge services, AKA White House is your home-away-from-home. We are also glad to hear you enjoyed the area as well; the proximity of AKA to outstanding restaurants, historical landmarks, and great shopping make it second to none. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at the white house for 3 days, it is in a great position, no need for a car or bus. The apartment is big but something is missing, like coffee or tea. The bedroom and bathrooms are big and clean, it is worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabio566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for providing your experience with us! AKA White House was designed with you in mind, our guest. With spacious living accommodations, fully furnished kitchens, and washer and dryers in-suite, AKA is your home away from home. In regards to coffee, we encourage our residents to visit our lobby Monday through Friday for our morning complimentary coffee service from 6:30AM to 10AM. Alternatively, our front desk can provide a coffee starter kit with everything needed to brew your own in your site. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Elegant convenience. Staff is wonderfully friendly and helpful.
International flavor with great evening bar scene (for guests).
Location is central, easy to get to area meetings, the Hill, resaurants & sights.
Would not stay anywhere else in DC.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonaQOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to provide such great feedback! AKA White House is your ideal option when in search of luxury extended stay in DC. With its location central to many wonderful restaurants, and outstanding tourist attractions, the location cannot be beat. Our top priority is your complete satisfaction and we are thrilled to hear your experience was as such. Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to you next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 142 in Washington DC
505 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
1,303 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 142 in Washington DC
1,295 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#57 of 142 in Washington DC
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Address: 1710 H St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-4699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $166 - $1,115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA White House 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just two blocks from the nation’s most important residential address, as well as in close proximity to many noteworthy business and arts institutions, AKA White House features spacious one and two bedroom residences with king size beds, elegantly designed living rooms, full kitchens, spa-like baths, as well as spectacular penthouse suites with spacious terrace and outdoor dining areas. Superb amenities include a modern lounge area with stunning bar and fireplace and contemporary, comfortable seating with open views onto the streetscape; complimentary wifi; resident cinema; fitness and business center services, and a 24/7 Resident Services Team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing