We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AKA White House
Nearby Hotels
Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)
$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
$479
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
$328
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$238
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$293
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$220
$194
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$351
$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
$389
$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)
$428
$335
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$502
$419
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (808)
Filter reviews
808 results
Traveler rating
515
203
46
16
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
203
46
16
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswasher and dryerfull kitchentwo bedroom suitewhite housestainless steel appliancesapartment hotelwhole foodsworld banklong stayhalf bathan extended stayfarragut westhome away from homerooftop terracewalk in closetlonger staythe penthouse
Filter
Updating list...
561 - 566 of 808 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

If you think you are going to get typical hotel services then you are wrong but this place becomes a great value when you bring your own food. Rooms are very spacious and clean. The extra bedroom becomes a little bit noisy as it seems the day starts early for many guests. Some very nice restaurants within walking distance plus there is a whole foods about 5 blocks away. It was nice to be able to move around ( we traveled with 2 energetic boys) at the end of the day in your hotelroom.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiebitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding our suites and your stay with us! We are so glad to know that our spacious, fully-furnished suites exceeded the expectations of your family. We take great pride in being the perfect option for a home-away-from-home experience in Washington DC! As you mentioned, the early bird does indeed get the worm in DC; however, in the future please do bring disturbances such as this to the attention of the front desk and we would be pleased to try and move you to another suite, based upon availability. In addition to the grocer you mentioned, our property is also short distance to some of the busiest and most popular neighborhoods and sites in Washington: including Dupont Circle, Chinatown, Georgetown, the Smithsonian Museum Complex and of course the White House. We are so glad that you enjoyed your suite and we look forward to welcoming you’ll back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We've been to DC many, many times over the last 30 years and will never stay anywhere else after our stay here. We spent two nights in early March. We can't really call it "a suite" because in fact, it was a full one-bedroom apartment! And it cost far less than other hotels. It was impeccably clean. The kitchen was spotless and had everything needed to cook a meal! (We didn't, but we could have!) The bathroom was elegant with high quality soaps and wonderful robes, the bedroom was a separate huge room with a walk-in closet and the living room had a large TV with DVD player. This place was first-class all the way. The woman at the front desk was friendly, professional and very helpful. Parking was a breeze because the garage is right next door, self-serve and priced really reasonably. The location is perfect for sight-seeing. We walked back from the Smithsonian museums and past the White House. It's also within walking distance of a Whole Foods so you can stock the kitchen easily. We had a drink one night in the bar in the hotel lobby and it was comfy, relaxing and the bartender was great. She was knowledgeable and attentive without being overbearing. Because of our great experience here, we are now looking at other AKA properties. One thing: our reservations were non-refundable. That did not bother us. We think that's why it was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roadhods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We take great pride in providing our guests with the most comfortable accommodations possible and therefore we are delighted to know that your stay was a reflection of this! We are glad that you were able to take advantage of all that our location and suites have to offer, that our staff was able to exceed all of your expectations, and that you were able to make AKA White House truly your home away from home!

Also, though we do have prepaid/nonrefundable rates available, these are not the only types of rates we offer. We do have rates with a more flexible cancellation policy - please feel free to visit our website when booking your next stay.

We are so delighted to be the "only place for you in DC" and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel to the Nation's Capital!

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights last week - and it was a mixed bag, but generally quite good. Asian influenced, it has an understated and elegant lobby area with a small bar area, and good traffic flow. The people were wonderful, checking us in early with no problems at all. Setup like an apartment, the room (207) was spacious and inviting, the bed and pillows comfortable, the bathrooms clean, modern and well appointed, and we totally enjoyed it. Set up like an apartment with full size refrigerator, washer dryer, stove, etc, you could easily stay here for an extended period. The living room is separate from the bedroom, and there is a toilet outside the bedroom for guests.
The odd things were that the sound insulation was spotty - some sounds got through, others did not, some were mildly annoying, nothing that would prevent us from staying again. The housekeeping staff was overly assertive, ringing the buzzer repeatedly on the day we were leaving, well before checkout. Odd, given the attentiveness to detail in the rest of the property.

Overall - we would stay there again - very good location a couple of blocks from the White House and right on the Metro a block from the Farragut stops (West and North). If I could say anything it would be to make sure you use your Do Not Disturb card!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RHOBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

We appreciated you taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay! It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests and know that they are able to have a home-away-from-home experience at our property; it seems that this was exactly your experience. Being centrally located in a bustling city, street noise is unfortunately inevitable, but we do regret any disruption to your stay caused by outside noise. If you are not completely satisfied with your suite location at the time of arrival due to audible noise levels, we would be more than happy to arrange for a different suite, contingent on availability. Regarding the decorum of the housekeeping team, we do apologize for any inconvenience. Rest assured, this is not a normal occurrence and we have spoken to the team to ensure that does not happen again. Your satisfaction is our number one priority. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your suite amenities as well! With a washer and dryer in-unit, a fully furnished kitchen, and spacious living accommodations, AKA White House is your leading option when in search of luxury extended stay accommodations. With boutique shopping, and niche dining all within a few blocks of the property, guests and residents have the unique opportunity to experience our Nation's Capitol to its full extent. Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

AKA White House is a great modern, comfortable hotel in a fantastic city. Although no breakfast or dining facilities are available in the hotel, there is plenty of choice around the corner. Definitely recommended, especially for families - try out the suite!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lieszambr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience and we are extremely pleased to be your jewel in your crown! We are so glad that you were able to take advantage of our property’s convenient location to many popular local restaurants which are a wonderful compliment to our fully furnished kitchens should you prefer to cook and dine in the privacy of your own suite. Although, as you mentioned, we do not offer breakfast, we do supply complimentary coffee in our lounge from 7am-10am Monday-Friday, additionally if you require coffee in your suite, please do stop by the front desk for our starter kit! Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel gets an A+ in all categories!

I was celebrating my wife’s 40th Birthday Party and we decided to have it at AKA. From the beginning, Aaron, the general manager, treated me like VIP. I wanted to have a lounge atmosphere at their bar area for 40 people. Aaron set me up with Windows Catering (they were first class as well) for the food and hooked me up with Jenny who would man the bar with her crew of three. We were invited to meet with Jenny two weeks before the event so that we could sample some of her specialties. We met with her for an hour and tasted some great concoctions to compose a list of seven drinks for our guests. There was no charge for this. Jenny even ordered in extra ingredients to satisfy my wife’s girly tastes.

Since we planned on “enjoying” ourselves the night of the party, we booked a standard room through Aaron. When we checked into the hotel, Aaron had upgraded us to a penthouse suite. The room was spectacular with granite, SS appliances, 2 bathrooms, a huge outdoor terrace, and a gift bag filled with chocolates, wine, and other goodies.

The Party was SPECTACULAR. Jenny and her crew allowed us to play our own music from our iPad through their system and kept our guests completely satisfied the entire night. The party was set to last from 8pm until 11pm but Jenny indulged us and kept the bar open until after 1am.

The experience was FIRST CLASS all the way and I highly recommend the AKA to anyone who wants to be treated like royalty.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank KellovesLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your beautiful letter and wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay and event with us! We are so delighted that we were able to help you celebrate your wife’s birthday and make your celebration as memorable and marvelous as possible. We take great pride in offering our guests the most memorable experience possible, and are glad to know that our team was able to help you make your celebration a success and that you enjoyed not only your suite, but also our a.lounge.

If you ever need accommodations here in the Nation’s Capital again, please feel free to reach out to us again – we would love to welcome you back!

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews