We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting property - great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of AKA White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AKA White House
Ranked #26 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Interesting property - great location”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights last week - and it was a mixed bag, but generally quite good. Asian influenced, it has an understated and elegant lobby area with a small bar area, and good traffic flow. The people were wonderful, checking us in early with no problems at all. Setup like an apartment, the room (207) was spacious and inviting, the bed and pillows comfortable, the bathrooms clean, modern and well appointed, and we totally enjoyed it. Set up like an apartment with full size refrigerator, washer dryer, stove, etc, you could easily stay here for an extended period. The living room is separate from the bedroom, and there is a toilet outside the bedroom for guests.
The odd things were that the sound insulation was spotty - some sounds got through, others did not, some were mildly annoying, nothing that would prevent us from staying again. The housekeeping staff was overly assertive, ringing the buzzer repeatedly on the day we were leaving, well before checkout. Odd, given the attentiveness to detail in the rest of the property.

Overall - we would stay there again - very good location a couple of blocks from the White House and right on the Metro a block from the Farragut stops (West and North). If I could say anything it would be to make sure you use your Do Not Disturb card!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHOBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We appreciated you taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay! It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests and know that they are able to have a home-away-from-home experience at our property; it seems that this was exactly your experience. Being centrally located in a bustling city, street noise is unfortunately inevitable, but we do regret any disruption to your stay caused by outside noise. If you are not completely satisfied with your suite location at the time of arrival due to audible noise levels, we would be more than happy to arrange for a different suite, contingent on availability. Regarding the decorum of the housekeeping team, we do apologize for any inconvenience. Rest assured, this is not a normal occurrence and we have spoken to the team to ensure that does not happen again. Your satisfaction is our number one priority. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your suite amenities as well! With a washer and dryer in-unit, a fully furnished kitchen, and spacious living accommodations, AKA White House is your leading option when in search of luxury extended stay accommodations. With boutique shopping, and niche dining all within a few blocks of the property, guests and residents have the unique opportunity to experience our Nation's Capitol to its full extent. Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    182
    38
    14
    24
See reviews for
217
131
19
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

AKA White House is a great modern, comfortable hotel in a fantastic city. Although no breakfast or dining facilities are available in the hotel, there is plenty of choice around the corner. Definitely recommended, especially for families - try out the suite!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lieszambr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience and we are extremely pleased to be your jewel in your crown! We are so glad that you were able to take advantage of our property’s convenient location to many popular local restaurants which are a wonderful compliment to our fully furnished kitchens should you prefer to cook and dine in the privacy of your own suite. Although, as you mentioned, we do not offer breakfast, we do supply complimentary coffee in our lounge from 7am-10am Monday-Friday, additionally if you require coffee in your suite, please do stop by the front desk for our starter kit! Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel gets an A+ in all categories!

I was celebrating my wife’s 40th Birthday Party and we decided to have it at AKA. From the beginning, Aaron, the general manager, treated me like VIP. I wanted to have a lounge atmosphere at their bar area for 40 people. Aaron set me up with Windows Catering (they were first class as well) for the food and hooked me up with Jenny who would man the bar with her crew of three. We were invited to meet with Jenny two weeks before the event so that we could sample some of her specialties. We met with her for an hour and tasted some great concoctions to compose a list of seven drinks for our guests. There was no charge for this. Jenny even ordered in extra ingredients to satisfy my wife’s girly tastes.

Since we planned on “enjoying” ourselves the night of the party, we booked a standard room through Aaron. When we checked into the hotel, Aaron had upgraded us to a penthouse suite. The room was spectacular with granite, SS appliances, 2 bathrooms, a huge outdoor terrace, and a gift bag filled with chocolates, wine, and other goodies.

The Party was SPECTACULAR. Jenny and her crew allowed us to play our own music from our iPad through their system and kept our guests completely satisfied the entire night. The party was set to last from 8pm until 11pm but Jenny indulged us and kept the bar open until after 1am.

The experience was FIRST CLASS all the way and I highly recommend the AKA to anyone who wants to be treated like royalty.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KellovesLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your beautiful letter and wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay and event with us! We are so delighted that we were able to help you celebrate your wife’s birthday and make your celebration as memorable and marvelous as possible. We take great pride in offering our guests the most memorable experience possible, and are glad to know that our team was able to help you make your celebration a success and that you enjoyed not only your suite, but also our a.lounge.

If you ever need accommodations here in the Nation’s Capital again, please feel free to reach out to us again – we would love to welcome you back!

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Aka white house has a great location ...steps to the white house, great restaurants, subway stops. And the space itself is fantastic. The staff is very friendly. We reserved a two bedroom - for my husband and I and our teenager. It was great to have two bedrooms and baths with a living/kitchen area. There was tons of space. Unfortunately, there was also tons of deferred maintenance. The torn upholstery on a dining chair, freezer with the handle that came off when we opened it, toilet the wasn't seated properly, dirty front load washer that we didn't risk putting our clothes in. And the housekeeping staff that made the beds but didn't clean the floors or the kitchen. There was also the lack of basic amenities found in even mediocre hotels - coffee for the maker, klenex in the bathroom and a safe to stash jewekery in. Bottom line - what an incredible shame. This has all the potential to be the hidden jewel of DC - but it's going to require some elbow grease.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoustonTexasMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
While we are very sorry to know about the issues that you encountered during your stay, we are so grateful that you took the time to bring this to our attention. Feedback like yours is crucial for us as we strive to ensure that we exceed all of our guests’ expectations and make their stays as memorable as possible. We do apologize that the furnishings in the suite were not up to your expectations; however, we are delighted to know that despite this you enjoyed the amount of space that our suites boast. We will be sure to take your aesthetic feedback into consideration moving forward for any upcoming renovations. Also, if the suite did not meet your expectations, please do bring this to the attention of the front desk and we would be pleased to try and move you to another suite, based upon availability. If you would not mind supplying the suite number you were in, we can immediately address the concerns you expressed in your review. Once again, we do thank you for bringing this to our attention – we truly value such feedback!

In regards to the housekeeping services – as we are a long term stay property, our housekeeping is slightly different from what one is used to in another type of property. We offer two different types of cleaning services: daily and weekly, depending on the length of stay that is booked. A daily clean, which offered is for our residents who will be staying with us for less than 7 nights, where, like you mentioned, the bed is made, the trash is taken out, dishes placed in the dishwasher, and the towels replaced. The weekly cleanings, offered to guests who stay with us for more than 7 nights, is a full, deep clean of the suite. However, if you would like to have extra cleaning while you are staying with us, please just let any member of the Front Desk know, and we can schedule an extra cleaning for you for nominal fee or alert our Director of Housekeeping, via the front desk, regarding your services and she will personally inspect your suite and ensure it is to your satisfaction.

Also, many of these amenities, such as coffee packs, extra Kleenex, and additional detergent, are available at the Front Desk. We do apologize if this was not communicated with you during your stay and for any inconvenience that this may have caused to you. We will be sure to address the matter with all of our team.

We are hopeful that you have otherwise enjoyed your stay and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to AKA White House and exceed all of your expectations. Please feel free to reach out to us prior to your arrival with any special requests or preferences you may have so that we can do everything possible to make your stay unique and AKA White House your home away from home!!

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a great location -- minutes from (a) the REAL White House and (b) two very convenient Metro stations - with very friendly and helpful staff and a TON of room. The only downsides: (a) as with any City, the night noise is HIGH -- probably higher than it should be so ask for a room as high as you can get, (b) the upkeep is lacking (the rooms need a paint job, the handle on the freezer came off in my hands; the commodes are not set right, some fixtures are not secure), (c) the housekeeping staff does a good job making beds but otherwise is not particularly thorough, and (d) there is no coffee, no coffee filters, no paper towels, etc. (these are apartment-type suites and a few basics are expected). Having said all of that, this is a keeper and definitely worth the money. It is clean, efficient, well-located, and a perfect place to stay in the District.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandmankwfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback regarding your family's recent stay as well as recognizing our amazing staff! We deeply appreciate your comments and are always happy to hear from our extended AKA family. We do apologize for any inconvenience regarding noise, unfortunately, being a city location this does prove to be a challenge, however, as you mentioned a higher floor or a suite facing the back, do ensure a quieter experience, please do reach out to our front desk and we will do our best to secure a different suite. Regarding your in suite amenities, we do have the various items you mentioned above in each suite and/or additional items located at the front desk. If you would not mind supplying the suite number you were in, we would be pleased to review that these items were in your suite, as well as reviewing the suite for the above maintenance issues you have listed above. Thank you again for your review and we hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to AKA White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is fantastic. I decided to make this conference trip and little more fun by bringing the family along. I was concerened that the eating out with the family was going to make the trip cost prohibitted but finding AKA made it all worth while. Each room has its a kitchen and plenty of room. The hotel is strategically located next to two subway stops and walking distance to all the monuments and museums. I plan to return with or without the family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We are always glad to welcome families at our property as the size of our suites and the amenities they have to offer is ideal for families – we take great pride in this and are glad that your experience was a reflection of this! Our convenient location and spacious suites help to make any stay memorable and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back the next time you travel to Washington. Please feel free to reach out to us prior to your arrival with any special requests you may have so that we can make your stay unique and truly your own!

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Not a hotel but rather luxury apartments. I was there for 5 nights the first days of March. A central location for the National Mall, and all the Smithsonian museums. Fairly good eating nearby including a major Whole Foods about 10 minutes away. Running at the mall was pretty awesome despite the cold. A taxi ride from Reagan Airport was $19 with tip. The weight room is very good with a complete selection of free weights.

The staff was overall great. Some weird but minor control issues with one of the evening desk staff who was a bit passive-aggressive but really just a minor blip. The morning crew were fantastic.

The suites are exemplary. I suggest running over to whole foods on your arrival and stocking heathy foods for breakfast and lunch, then eating out for dinner. Try nearby Sichuan Pavillion on K street.

Room Tip: Street side is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mylonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We are so delighted to receive your feedback regarding your recent stay! It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests and know that they are able to have a home-away-from-home experience at our property and it seems that this was exactly your experience. Regarding the decorum of the front desk, we do apologize for any inconvenience, as this is not a normal occurrence. We have spoken to our front desk team to ensure each guest experience is exceptional from arrival to departure. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your suite amenities as well! With washer and dryer in-unit, a fully furnished kitchen, and spacious living accommodations, AKA White House is your leading option when in search of luxury extended stay accommodations. Please feel free to reach out to us directly to book your next stay so we may assist in designing a stay that is truly memorable. Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
457 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
1,175 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Property: AKA White House
Address: 1710 H St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-4699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA White House 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. The perfect place for the long stay, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing