We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AKA White House
Ranked #34 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in a 2bedroom suite here for 21 nights from Nov to Dec. The suite has 2 spacious bedroom with a King Size each, 2 bathrooms, a well appointed living and dining space. The Living room and bedrooms all has cable tv and DVD players. Washer, Dryer, Dishwasher, Oven, Microwave, Stove, good size fridge, all provided in the suite! There is also Free Wifi in every suite, even though it didn't work in our original suite.
We were originally in Suite #803, and had quite a problem with the water heater.. there were 4 of us in the suite but only one get to have warm shower, the others had to deal with cold showers in winter.. Brrrrr.... or go to bed without 1 (not something we're used to). We had to call the front desk every night for the 1st couple of nights about the heater and someone will come to 'reset' the heater.
Finally after the 3rd/ 4th nights, we decided the next morning that we need to have a different suite, spoke to the front office and they promptly put us in suite #1003 that night. No more problem hence forth, hot showers for everyone in the family and wifi works well too.

The location of Aka White House is great. 5mins walk to Faragut West Metro and less than 10mins walk to Farugut North Metro. Across the road from Starbucks and Corner Bakery(closes at 4pm on weekdays and closed on weekends). McDonald's and Teaism is also a short walk away, the stay at AKA White House does not come with Breakfast, but the kitchenette in the suite is fully equipped and one can easily whip up a simple meal, or we can simply cross the road to corner bakery for a delicious meal.

Coming out of the hotel to our left and walking about 5mins brings us to Founding Farmers! We have had many delicious meals there (reservations recommended).

Overall, we were MORE than pleased with our accommodation at AKA White House, the suite: impeccable, location: convenient, the staff: warm & helpful, especially the Manager Ms. Toni. There is no concierge, but if you need help.. the staff are always more than happy to assist.

So, to Toni and all staff at Aka White House.. Thank you for a lovely time. My family and I really enjoyed our stay and will certainly return to Aka again. Hereof in the other locations.
The Tan family.

Room Tip: Do not take Suite #803, the wifi and hot water does not work there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ezholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We appreciate the great feedback! We take great pride in our accommodations and amenity services and are more than willing to assist in any way possible to ensure each of our guests is met with the same eagerness to please in our efforts to ensure your stay is exceptional. AKA White House's fully furnished, luxury condominium style suites boast ample space and amenities that cannot be matched by any hotel in Washington, DC. Regarding the WiFi connectivity and hot water, we do sincerely regret these inconveniences. We are however, thrilled to hear that a swift action was taken into making the remainder of your stay most enjoyable. Rest assured this suite has been inspected by our engineering team to ensure each guest experience is exceptional forthwith. Anytime a resident requires servicing on in-suite amenities, we urge them to contact the front desk immediately so we can ensure the effected item is repaired, or move to another suite, contingent on availability. Our resident services team is available 24 hours to provide dedicated concierge assistance around the clock. In advance of and/or during your stay they are there to recommend only the best travel arrangements, dining, and entertainment possibilities that Washington, DC has to offer. Being centrally located to boutique shopping, historical sites, and niche dining, AKA White House is your leading choice when in search of luxury extended stay accommodations. Your loyal patronage is most important to us and we greatly appreciate the feedback. Upon booking your next stay, please contact us directly so we may assist in designing a stay catered you, our guest. Thank you again and we look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    152
    34
    12
    20
See reviews for
174
102
17
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The AKA website states it is 2 blocks from the White House. A more apt description would be "right around the corner from the White House." The location is fantastic. Stayed there 4 nights and had an incredible time! The two-bedroom suite was plush and contained all the amenities one would expect from a 5 star property. The full kitchen came in handy with a Whole Foods within walking distance; Starbucks across the street; wonderful upscale restaurants in the area; and did I mention, the White House around the corner? Kudos to Thao, Jenny, Stephen, Melody, Lisa and Toni for making our stay a memorable one! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blueloci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback and kinds words! We take pride in our unparalleled concierge services and are thrilled to hear that our concierge team catered to your needs. At AKA White House, our living accommodations and amenities were designed to create a home away from home, for you, our guest. AKA White House is also centrally located to many wonderful restaurants and boutique shops. With Whole Foods within walking distance, our residents can secure groceries for their stay to have a home cooked meal in the comfort of their suite. Being centrally located, residents need only step outside to fully experience everything Washington, DC has to offer, including a short walk to The White House. Our number one goal is your complete satisfaction and we are thrilled to hear your stay reflected that notion. Please contact the hotel directly when booking so we may assist in designing a unique stay and submit any special requests. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Spacious, clean,absolutely no downside very nice lounge with bar and fireplace
Garage attached but there is plenty of street parking if you have a car
Near restaurants and walking distance to many sights
Great for families!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank batMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We appreciate the great feedback! Your satisfaction is our number one priority as we strive to ensure every guest experience is nothing but exceptional. With amenities such as in-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, and spacious living accommodations, AKA is your home away from home. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your next stay with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My business stay at the Aka White House Hotel was great from the reservation through check out. I want to commend your this hotel for having wonderful, polite, professional and helpful people like Thao and Steven. I definitely loved the suite with my private bathroom, guest bathroom, kitchen, and the washer / dryer at my exposal. Thao was pleasant and friendly at check in and made sure that the room was to my pleasing afterwards. I appreciate that because it showed she cared about the visitors to the hotel. She explained all the accommodations and I had no questions because she is just that good! What was even more special was at the time of checkout, my shuttle was later than I ever expected (45 minutes). Steven and Thao got on the phone trying to locate the shuttle. Steven even made the complaint for me with the shuttle supervisor. I elated at the fact that they cared enough to go to bat for me. I was treated as though I was apart of the family when this visit was a first time stay for me at the hotel. Steven even came out and flagged the shuttle down for me as it passed the hotel door. This was the greatest experience ever!!! I appreciate Thao and Steven. Hats off to both! Treva DW

Room Tip: Highly recommend as they rooms are spacious and family oriented!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treva d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We greatly appreciate the kind words and positive feedback. Our number one priority is exhibiting a high level of excellence throughout our guest’s experience. "Don't just visit...Live it!" is one of our favorite sayings here at AKA White House and we are thrilled that you found our team provided services and amenities that allowed you to experience such a memorable stay. AKA White House is your leading choice when in search of luxury extended stay accommodations. With in-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, spacious living quarters, and a dedicated concierge service, AKA is your home away from home. We take pride in our commitment to make sure our residents are fully satisfied, even after departure to flag down your transportation! When booking, please contact us directly so we may extend our unparalleled concierge services by assisting in designing a stay that fits your individual needs. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the AKA White House for four nights. We were delighted with the large room and after a week in smaller accommodation in New York, the second bathroom and laundry facilities were very welcome. We really appreciated the tips given to us by Thao, who suggested a great nearby restaurant, as well as a really enjoyable trip to visit Mt Vernon, which we wouldn't have done without Thao's recommendation. Only negative of our stay was a proposed fee of $100 a night for a roll-away, we made our youngest comfortable on the couch instead!We would not hesitate to recommend AKA White House and we look forward to returning in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback! We take pride in our outstanding concierge services while providing incomparable guest service to our residents throughout their stay with us. "Don't just visit...Live it!" is one of our favorite sayings here at AKA White House and we are thrilled that you found our team provided services and amenities that allowed you to experience such a memorable stay. It’s great to hear you had a great time at Mt. Vernon! With its historical background and gorgeous landscapes, Mt. Vernon is a great option for sightseeing in the Washington DC metropolitan area. Regarding the roll-away fee, we do regret this inconvenience. As our suites are not equipped with pull-out sofa’s and we have very few rollaway bed’s, which unfortunately do come at a premium price as we are a long term stay residence. Rest assured your comments have been taken into consideration while we continually strive to provide leading luxury extended stay accommodations. Your feedback is the key to our success and we appreciate your comments. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

AKA White house is definitely the best place to stay in DC. I stayed there a couple of times, some for business and once with my family. Staff is very professional, polite and efficient. Rooms are very spacious, well maintained and clean. It's well full equipped with some luxury appliances. All you need within walking distance from the White House ! If you feel for a drink, there's a bar in the lounge with an impressive choice of alcohol and wines.
I will definitely come back to AKA in DC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeFred50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
We appreciate the great feedback! Your loyal patronage is very important to us and we are thrilled you have enjoyed your stays with us. With in-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, and spacious living accommodations, AKA White House is your home away from home. The proximity of the property has anything a resident may desire. From grocery items at Whole Foods, to outstanding dining experiences at Taberna del Alabardero, residents need only to step outside to experience everything Washington, DC has to offer. Your highest satisfaction is our number one goal while we strive to be the leader in luxury extended stay accommodations. Thank you again for the positive feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Thanks to Thao, Justina, and the terrific team of front desk, bar/lounge and cleaning staff, AKA Suites provides its guests with an efficient, neat, and fun stay. Whether you are in town for work or play, we highly recommend AKA! Kim and Alton

Room Tip: Ventilation is a bit of an issue. Confirm that your room has an updated ventilation system ( we coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your kinds words and feedback. Your satisfaction is our number one priority as we strive to ensure every guest experience is nothing but exceptional. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your next stay with us at AKA White House

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,825 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 949 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Property: AKA White House
Address: 1710 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA White House 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. The perfect place for the long stay, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing