We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need”
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AKA White House
Ranked #39 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Extremely comfortable 7 day stay. Spacious room, a full kitchen, washer/dryer and 2 bathrooms. a couple blocks from the white house and conveniently located, you can not ask for more and I certainly didnt. There was no view but that was expected as youre in the city not a seaside resort.

The only issue I had was the abrupt lady at the front desk. I was expecting 2 packages and on on my way out one day enquired at front desk if anything had arrived. I was told abruptly by the lady(I didnt get her name) that nothing had arrived, that she doesnt need to check as SHE logs everything. I was speechless and surprised as my package was on floor directly behind her. I decided I'd ask later when she had left whereby the gentleman at the front desk promptly checked and handed me my 2 packages which by the way were marked on the sheet as "delivered". the only blemish on a brilliant stay

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. Our number on goal is your highest satisfaction and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. With spacious living accommodations, washer and dryer in suite, and a fully furnished kitchen, AKA White House is your home away from home. The proximity of AKA also offers our residents the unique opportunity to experience Washington, DC to its full extent, while enjoying outstanding luxury accommodations that fit their needs. Regarding the incident at our front desk, we do regret this inconvenience. Rest assured, this is not a normal occurrence and we have spoken to our front desk on the matter. Anytime a resident receives a package, we meticulously log each one and send all packages each evening to ensure delivery. We encourage our guests to speak to a Resident Representative at anytime to inquire about any package you may have received. Your satisfaction is our number one priority as we strive to exhibit the highest level of excellence at all times. We thank you for the great feedback and look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
There are newer reviews for AKA White House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 752 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at AKA White House and our experience was superlative. The greeting and efficiency of the front desk staff was great; a short check-in time, then to our suite. We were upgraded and we thoroughly enjoyed our one bedroom penthouse suite. In similar hotels around the world, we have found cleanliness to be a problem but not here - everything was "ship shape". The bed was very comfortable (another common complaint for us). And, the decor was typical of the five star hotels nearby. The nightly rate was about one-half what we would have paid at Hay-Adams or St. Regis.

Room Tip: We prefer a room away from the main street, H Street - it is quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for the great feedback and choosing AKA White House as your home away from home. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed you suite amenities! With in-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, and spacious living accommodations, our residents can experience luxury accommodations in our Nation’s Capitol with ease. As our guest, your satisfaction is our top priority and we are happy to hear your experience was as such. We take pride in our meticulous attention to detail and strive to exhibit a high level of excellence at all times throughout our guests experience. Thank you again for the positive feedback and we look forward to your next lodging dates at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed at the AKA Whitehouse for 3 nights. My 2 bedroom suite was clean, spacious and nicely furnished and ideal for my son, his mate and myself. Having 2 bathrooms was a real bonus so to was the kitchen. The location was excellent and within easy walking distance to the White House, Capital Hill and all the monuments it's even an easy stroll to Arlington Cemetery. Restaurants like the Founding Farmers were an easy walk and a short cab ride took you to Georgetown an lovely little town. Metro station was close by too. I would be more than happy to stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bentley2012x3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for the great feedback! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our residents and guests satisfaction is our number one priority, while providing an incomparable level of excellence at all times. With spacious living accommodations, in-suite washer and dryers, and fully furnished kitchens, AKA is your home away from home. With a proximity to many wonderful restaurants and boutique shopping areas, the location is unparalleled. Residents have the unique opportunity to experience Washington, DC to its full extent, while enjoying outstanding luxury accommodations that fit their needs. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed at the AKA Whitehouse for 3 nights while in DC for business. My suite was very clean and spacious. Having a full kitchen while away from home was a treat. There was a gift bag waiting for me in the suite from the hotel's general manager with a handwritten note. I was impressed by the gesture. The bag was full of practical goodies and included 2 coupons for complimentary glasses of wine in the lobby bar.

The cons: The lack of true daily housekeeping. When I am away I like for my room to be serviced every day in a detailed manner. The maid simply brought new towels and pulled the sheets back on the bed - a bit dissapointing. Also as mentioned in other reviews the suite was a bit dark. I like a lot of natural light and a bright space.

The location is great in terms of being close to DCA airport and it is in a walkable area with plenty of restaurants near by.

The staff I encountered were friendly and accomodating. Drinks in the lobby bar were also enjoybale.

If given AKA Whitehouse as an option while staying in DC I would stay again.

Room Tip: The suites are a perfect option for families and extended stay trips.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaigirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Your positive feedback is the key to our success as a leader in luxury extended stay accommodations and we are happy to hear your stay reflected that. Our suites were designed with you in mind, creating a relaxing atmosphere that is your home away from home. With in-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, and spacious living accommodations, AKA White House is your leading option in luxury extended stay. Regarding housekeeping, we do understand your concern. Anytime a resident requires any extra suite amenities, such as towels, we urge our residents to contact our front desk so we may arrange for these items immediately. If a resident requires further cleanings outside of their scheduled cleaning, we can happily schedule these at a nominal fee. Also, anytime a resident is not completely satisfied with their suite location, due to inadequate natural lighting, we are more than happy to secure a different suite that is suitable, contingent on availability. Your satisfaction is our number one priority as we strive to exhibit the highest level of excellence at all times. With a location that cannot be beat, amenities catered to our residents needs, and outstanding hospitality, AKA is your home away from home. We thank you for the great feedback and look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A wonderful GM ! Thanks a lot Aaron for such a great hospitality .

I would highly recommend you the AKA White House as the staff is great, rooms are clean and the location is perfect !!!! Very modern decoration and the Chimney in the Lobby is just the perfect touch to feel home away from home :) Nice Red wine served at the bar of the Hotel.

Thanks for everything and can't wait to stay with you again on my next trip to DC.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatDom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

We greatly appreciate your feedback and kind words. Our number one goal is your complete satisfaction and we are thrilled to hear your experience was as such. AKA White House is your home away from home. With modern and meticulous details throughout the property, AKA White House is the leading option in luxury extended stay accommodations. Great to hear you enjoyed the lounge! Our a.lounge is a great option for relaxing and enjoying a curated selection of wines and expertly crafted cocktails. Thank you so much for the positive feedback and we look forward to your not lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My sister and I stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, suite for a weekend in Washington. The property was very well-maintained and was quiet. We were in the back of the hotel and did not have a special view. Having two baths was quite luxurious. The kitchen was complete with microwave, full-size refrigerator, coffee maker and dishwasher. The location is perfect for walking to the White House and other attractions, such as the restaurants on Pennsylvania Avenue like Founding Farmers. Two metro stations are nearby; one is a block away and the other two blocks away. If you are staying over on a Sunday, be aware that the coffee shops nearby are not all open early on Sunday morning. Also, the lounge in the hotel serves wine and beer but was not open on the Saturday night when we visited, probably more fully in action on week nights. This DC hotel is business-like and best for adults but we did observe some well-behaved young children. We had a special rate involving payment ahead but were not actually charged until we arrived. Would like to stay again.

Room Tip: A room facing the front would probably have a more pleasant view than the back.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank classicalmusictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you for the great feedback! At AKA White House, we take pride in our attention to detail while exhibiting a high level of excellence at all times. Being a downtown city location, we are unable to secure any specific view, however we would be pleased to relocate our residents to another suite if preferred, contingent on availability. With suites designed to truly embody a “home away from home”, residents and guests alike have the unique opportunity to experience Washington, DC in luxury. In-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, and spacious living accommodations sets AKA apart from other luxury extended stay properties and we are thrilled to hear your experience was as such. The proximity of AKA White House also boasts great opportunity in terms of artisan dining and boutique shopping. Our residents need only to step outside to fully experience everything DC has to offer. Farragut North and Farragut West metro stations are also within walking distance so our residents can explore the great sights of DC. When residents and guests wish to relax, our modern and inviting a.lounge is open nightly from 4pm to 11pm. Here, you can enjoy expertly crafted cocktails and artisan beers while relaxing in the plush surroundings. Upon your next stay with us, please contact us directly when booking prior to arrival so we may extend our unparalleled concierge services to assist in any special requests that will make your stay that much more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite for a very reasonable rate .It was beautiful,very clean and
quite .We had so much space .I still can not believe the price . We booked directly on there web site .The staff were amazing ,nothing was to much trouble .I loved the bar ,again great bar staff .Workout is very good but no water at all ,so bring your own .There is a whole foods a few blocks away and some great Restaurants near by .There is a Starbucks across the road but the Hotel does provide free Coffee and Tea .There is no doorman or bell desk but they make it work .I am a big fan of AKA and stay with them when ever I can .This Hotel did not disappoint.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perryb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for the positive feedback! We take pride in our unparalleled concierge services and are thrilled to hear that our concierge team catered to your needs. At AKA White House, our living accommodations and amenities were designed to create a home away from home, for you, our guest. Our fitness and business centers are available for guest use 24/7, and make for a great addition to our luxury extended stay accommodations. Anytime a resident or guest requires water, you may visit the front desk at anytime and our concierge would be more than happy to provide this. Our a.lounge is also available for when you would like to relax with a curated selection of wine and expertly crafted cocktails. AKA White House is also centrally located to many wonderful restaurants and boutique shops. With Whole Foods within walking distance, our residents can secure groceries for their stay to have a home cooked meal in the comfort of their suite. Alternatively, Founding Farmers and Equinox are excellent options when in search of niche dining. Our concierge team is also available 24/7 for any requests a resident requires, including help with luggage, grocery deliveries, restaurant suggestions and reservations, and much more. Please contact the hotel directly when booking so we may assist in designing a unique stay and submit any special requests. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#53 of 142 in Washington DC
500 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,290 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 142 in Washington DC
1,286 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#56 of 142 in Washington DC
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Address: 1710 H St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-4699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $179 - $1,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA White House 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just two blocks from the nation’s most important residential address, as well as in close proximity to many noteworthy business and arts institutions, AKA White House features spacious one and two bedroom residences with king size beds, elegantly designed living rooms, full kitchens, spa-like baths, as well as spectacular penthouse suites with spacious terrace and outdoor dining areas. Superb amenities include a modern lounge area with stunning bar and fireplace and contemporary, comfortable seating with open views onto the streetscape; complimentary wifi; resident cinema; fitness and business center services, and a 24/7 Resident Services Team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing