We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AKA White House - Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AKA White House
Ranked #26 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AKA White House - Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband & I are local and chose to stay at AKA White House as had to catch a flight out of Narional early morning. What a pleasant surprise. The rooms are super large and have all the ammenities of a true apartment and is like having your home away from home. This is the place to stay for sure....from the large living area, full kitchen, washer/dryer and comfortable & cozy bedroom. I am in the business booking hotels for a living so I am first hand going to be extra particular. This place rates 5 star all the way. I am looking foward to putting clients there in the future as no doubt it will make me look good too. It is a great location as well, close to a metro and easy access for taxi if preferred.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you kindly for the positive response. Your feedback is the key to our success as the leading luxury brand of extended stay accommodations in Washington, D.C. and we are thrilled to hear your experience reflected that notion. With in-suite washer and dyers, fully furnished kitchens, and spacious living accommodations, AKA is your destination for a “home away from home”. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the area as well! With outstanding restaurants, local shopping, and convenient transportation, residents and guests alike can experience DC to its full extent. Upon your next stay, please contact us directly when booking to plan your next stay prior to arrival so you may fully experience what AKA has to offer. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to exceeding your expectations upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    179
    38
    14
    23
See reviews for
213
128
19
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
U.S.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

AKA White House is not a real hotel. It is a long term service apartment building masquerading as a hotel. It has a front desk for check-in and maid service once a week. There is a lobby bar but no restaurant or room service. There is no doorman to open the heavy doors when you get there lugging your suitcases, or staff to take your suitcases to your room, at least not when I checked in and had to drag my two heavy cases, plus computer, to the elevator while the person who checked me in watched on coldly. The front desk person who checked me out was more friendly and helped me get a taxi when I asked for his assistance.

The room is roomy for DC standards--one bedroom, kitchen, living room and two bathrooms at a daily rate cheaper than most small rooms in regular hotels. There is only one set of windows in the living room, however, and they didn't open easily, so the suite always had the musty, closed air circulation smell that I detest. The bedroom is in the middle of the suite and had no natural light whatsoever, another pet peeve. The room service, when it did occur once a week, was perfunctory and each time, my night gown and other clothing that I had lying on the bed were balled up and left on the bed. That seemed rather unprofessional.

I had to stay in a hotel for two weeks while my own condo was being vacated by tenant, so I chose AKA White House for the cheap price. Otherwise, I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank drummingtosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We, at AKA White House, regret that you were not met with an experience that exceeded your expectations. We take great pride in our accommodations and amenity services and are more than willing to assist in any way possible to ensure each of our guests is met with the same eagerness to please in our efforts to ensure your stay is exceptional.
Whether business travel or leisure brings you to Washington, AKA White House is an ideal solution for stays of a week, month, or longer as we are tailored to the needs of long-term resident. AKA White House's fully furnished, luxury condominium style suites boast ample space and amenities that cannot be matched by any hotel in Washington, DC.
As our housekeeping service is provided on a weekly basis for all stays over seven nights, this includes a full deep clean of the entire suite while fully replenishing all sheets and bath linens. We fully consider the needs of every guest and are completely flexible in acknowledgment that each of our luxury travelers may require different services for their stay. As our guest, you have the option to change your date of service and/or add, for a nominal fee, daily housekeeping services which we are more than happy to arrange in advance of your arrival so you are not confronted with any inconvenience.
Our resident services team is available 24 hours to provide dedicated concierge assistance around the clock. In advance of and/or during your stay they are there to recommend only the best travel arrangements, dining, and entertainment possibilities that Washington, DC has to offer. Our team will also be delighted to assist you in ordering groceries to have delivered and placed in your suite upon arrival for the times when enjoying a meal in your suite is preferred.
A.lounge is a superb extension of the in-suite amenities offered to our residents. Whether joining friends and colleagues before a night out on the town or carving out a little personal time to unwind after a long work week, our intimate lounge space offers just the cozy atmosphere desired to enjoy a drink from our curated wine list or one of our perfectly crafted cocktails.
AKA White House is prided on being a home away from home for luxury travelers across the globe.
Please do reach out to us directly @ whitehouse@stayaka.com referencing the above review and your name and past stay dates for your next stay in Washington, DC and give us the opportunity to change your perception of our product and provide an experience that will surely exceed your expectations.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were looking for a hotel to accommodate ourselves and two teenagers in style. We found it here in the AKA's two-bedroom suite! The kids laughed in disbelief when they saw how big it was; full kitchen, three TV's, two bathrooms.
The lobby and facilities are top-notch and the staff are friendly. It's a short (and cheap) cab to Georgetown or Dupont Circle. Neato!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback! Our top priority is your satisfaction and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. With amenities such as fully furnished kitchens, in-suite washer and dryers, spacious living accommodations, and 24/7 concierge services, AKA White House is your home away from home. We are also glad to hear you enjoyed the area as well. With a proximity that rivals other hotels in the area, AKA White House is your number one choice when in search of luxury extended stay accommodations. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

The AKA ticked all my boxes. It was close to my office, had excellent restaurants within a 5 minute walk, and the rooms were quiet. The check-in service was amazing - Ram upgraded me to a 2 bedroom suite and was very helpful when I needed to call down for a wireless password. The room was well appointed, clean and minimilist. There were no annoying extra gadgets and tat which often litter hotel rooms and the apartment felt very homely. I hardly saw a soul while I was there even though DC was fully booked out that week. The only reason I knocked off a star was beause I agreed with other reviewers comments about the rooms needing a lick of paint. There were quiet a few scuff marks on the walls which slightly cheapened the appearance. I also noticed the front desk manager discussing another guests billing enquiry with his collegue in a derogatory manner which came across as unprofessional, but a minor blip in the overall experience. I will definitely be making this my hotel of choice for future business trips to DC!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank FreqBusTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We appreciate you feedback. At AKA, we take pride in our unparalleled concierge services and we are thrilled to see your experience was as such. Exceeding your expectations is our top priority, and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your suite! With amenities that include spacious living accommodations, in-suite washer and dryer, and fully furnished kitchens, AKA White House is your ideal location for outstanding luxury extended stay accommodations. The proximity of AKA is host to outstanding restaurants, historical landmarks, and great shopping, so we are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the area while lodging with us. Regarding the walls in your suite, we do regret this inconvenience. We have taken your comments into consideration and will have this suite next to be painted. Also, in regards to the front desk decorum, rest assured this issue has been addressed with all staff members. Our number one goal is your complete satisfaction, while providing an experience of excellence and professionalism. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Location, elegance and spacious! Can't beat the location of this fabulous hotel, all the necessary "must see" tourist stops within walking distance. The elegance was obvious upon our first step inside the lobby. We attended a National's baseball game during our stay - left our car in the on-site parking garage - hailed a cab with no problem at all. Great cocktail service at the bar/lounge - before heading out to dinner; many great dining options very close to this hotel. We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel, including the exercise facility, as well as our awesome 2 bedroom/2 bath suite. Great to have cooking/fridge option available for those times we just wanted to relax, as well as the comfortable space to relax in this high energy city. All of the staff were extremely polite, helpful and professional. Highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback! Our number one goal is the satisfaction of our residents, and we are thrilled your experience was as such. AKA White House offers an unparalleled experience of luxury accommodations, while exhibiting a relaxing and modern atmosphere that is catered to our residents and guests needs. With suites that are equipped with fully furnished kitchens, in-suite washer and dryer, and spacious living accommodations, AKA White House is your home away from home. At AKA, we take pride in our ongoing endeavor to be the leader in luxury extended stay accommodations, and we are thrilled your stay reflected that. We are also glad to hear you enjoyed the area! With a proximity that offers outstanding dining, boutique shopping, and historical significance, our residents and guests have the unique opportunity to experience Washington, DC and all it has to offer. Upon your next stay, please contact us directly when booking prior to arrival so we may further enhance your next lodging experience with our incomparable concierge services. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Had no clue a product like this existed in DC......spacious rooms - mine had a king bed and one and a half bathrooms - this was fantastic for a business meeting as my colleagues could use the half bath. Full on kitchen, spacious and well appointed.....the room or should I say suite was spot on clean......this is a true jewel in the middle of DC....about 1/2 block from The World Bank, a block from The White House and close to the subway.....

This hotel will be my go to place while in DC...

Room Tip: I preferred a high floor in city locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and comments. AKA White House is located in the heart of Washington, DC where our residents and guests have the unique opportunity to experience everything our nation’s capitol has to offer. With artisan restaurants, boutique shops, and historical landmarks, AKA White House is the ideal option in terms of location. We are also glad to hear you enjoyed your suite amenities. With spacious living accommodations, in-suite washer and dryer, and a fully furnished kitchen, our residents can relax in their home away from home with ease. Your satisfaction is our number one goal, and we are thrilled to hear your experience was as such. Thank you again for the great feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner for our last two nights in the USA. When we arrived we were initially in awe of the grandness of the place itself. However, on closer inspection the apartments were in need of a lick of paint. The apartments were still lovely however with all the amenities you would need. Right near the white house and about a 15 minute walk into Georgetown. Staff were also very helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! Our top priority is the satisfaction of our guests, and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us at AKA White House. Regarding the paint in your suite, we do regret this inconvenience. Rest assured, your comments have been taken into account, and we currently have your suite on the list for the next paint job. We are also glad to hear you enjoyed the area! With AKA being centrally located to great local restaurants, shopping, and attractions, the possibilities are limitless while exploring Washington, DC. Upon your next stay, please contact us directly when booking prior to arrival so we may extend our unparalleled concierge services, and design a thrilling stay to fit your needs. Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Property: AKA White House
Address: 1710 H St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-4699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA White House 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. The perfect place for the long stay, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing