We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like staying in a nice apartment downtown”
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AKA White House
Ranked #52 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed in a one bedroom apartment at the AKA White House for one month while on business. The room had a full kitchen, a washer and dryer in-suite, and available on-site parking -- all great amenities for an extended stay. The hotel staff was very friendly. The location was great for metro access and driving into Virginia.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for the feedback! You satisfaction is your highest priority and we are thrilled your experience was as such. With amenities such as a fully furnished kitchen, and washer and dryer, AKA White House is the ideal option when in search of luxury extended stay accommodations. So glad to hear you found the metro access easy and beneficial! Being centrally located, our residents and guests have the unique opportunity to experience all Washington, D.C. has to offer . With The White House, National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums within walking distance, AKA White House’s location cannot be beat. Thank you again for the positive feedback, and we look forward to your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 787 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have been staying for 4 days in a wonderful apartment: separate living room, 2 bathrooms, kitchen and bar with a lot of space, washing machine and dryer. AKA is located just a few blocs from the white house and very close to “le Pain Quotidian” which serves great coffee and delicious breakfasts (for all Europeans who miss the really good and crunchy bread). The staff at the reception desk very is friendly and helpful. Business center is available; Our room was somewhat noisy, ask for a room next to H street, it might be calmer. Overall rating excellent ! You won’t get a hotel offering such a service at a stunning price.

Room Tip: Ask for a calm room (those near H street might be better)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

We appreciate your comments and feedback. AKA White House was designed to offer our guests and residents an experience of luxury, while being centrally located to many, outstanding things to do and see. With in-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, spacious bedrooms, state of the art Fitness and Business Center and 24 hour concierge, AKA is the leading option when in search of luxury accommodations. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the area as well! Le Pain Quotidian is a local favorite and an excellent option when looking for specialized eateries. Regarding the noise levels in your suite, we do apologize for this inconvenience, however being a city center location there is no way to avoid all external noise, however please contact our Guest Services team at any time during your stay to inquire about a suite location change, contingent on availability. Your satisfaction is the key to our success as we strive to exhibit a high level of excellence at all times. Upon your next stay with us, please contact us directly when booking to ensure a well planned stay and to convey any special requests. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

AKA The White House is a fantastic place to base yourself if you want to see the sights in DC. The real White House is a matter of yards away as are two Metro stations giving easy access to the city and beyond. If you're happy to do your own cooking washing and ironing in a top hotel type environment then this is the place to come. The gym and business centre are fantastic And the staff are friendly and helpful. The apartment is spacious, very clean and all the home comforts are present and functional. Don't believe those that say there is a lack of convenience stores nearby. They're there, you just have to look for them although an idiot guide for those committed to self catering would be helpful. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we'll use The White House again (Don't think Barrack will!)

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mclaren095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We thank you for your feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed your suite amenities. AKA White House is the number one choice when in search of luxury extended stay accommodations. Our Fitness and Business centers are available for our residents use 24/7, and we are glad you enjoyed them! With a proximity that cannot be beat, residents and guests alike have the unique opportunity to experience our nation's capitol through an exciting cultural and political hub. As our guest, your satisfaction is our top priority and we are happy to hear your experience was as such. With great restaurants like Founding Farmers and Le Pain Quotidien, and grocery stores like Whole Foods and Trader Joe's, AKA White House is your home away from home. Thank you again for the comments, and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Great suite
good location
very helpful and knowledgeable staff

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for the feedback! Your satisfaction is our number one priority as we strive to ensure every guest experience is nothing but exceptional. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your next stay with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The room is spacios, and having a kitchen and a separate sitting room is wonderful if you are staying for a while and need to work in your room. The service, however, leaves much to be desired. The staff quality is uneven. Some are friendly and helpful, and others are rude and/or incomptent (often both). Not providing shampoo is below 1 star standard -- the reception said "we are long-stay entity, and we recommend our guests buy shampoo and other necessities at CVS after the starter kit runs out." Well, the shampoo runs out after 2 days, but I don't want to buy a whole shampoo and dishwasher soap, etc. at CVS for my 1 week stay. My husband put liquid soap in the dishwasher (because we hadn't invested in a separate box of dishwasher detergent, and he's not used to using the dishwasher), and the dishwasher flooded the floor. The cleaning crew was really nice, and gave us extra packets of detergent after helping us clean up, so we won't do it again. Wouldn't it be easier to just give us the detergent before the flood happens? How much does it cost to provide extra shampoo etc. on demand?

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blanquetteseguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

We thank you for your feedback and comments. While we are thrilled you enjoyed your suite amenities, we do regret the inconvenience set by your experience with the Front Desk. Rest assured, this is not a normal occurrence and we will address your specific concerns with the Front Desk. Our top priority is the satisfaction of our residents and guests, and our 24/7 concierge services reflect that notion. At anytime a resident requires extra amenities, such as shampoo, conditioner, or detergent, our Guest Services team can happily provide these items immediately. We urge our residents to contact Guest Services right away so we may arrange for service, and we are glad to hear that our housekeeping department was swift in action regarding the dishwasher incident. Upon your future stay with us, please contact our Front Office Manager at anytime to assist in a well planned stay. Thank you again for the feedback, and we look forward exceeding your expectations while welcoming you back to AKA White House!

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It very modern style. It is located near to the White House. The rooms, kitchen, dinning area are perfect for families. The only thing that they should improve is to clean rooms. They forgot to clean up our room. And have in mind nobody helps you with your luggage.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyrnaGTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. With in-suite amenities that rival other hotels, AKA White House offers luxury accommodations to fit our resident and guest needs. Regarding housekeeping, we do regret this inconvenience. If you require cleaning out of your normal schedule, or wish to confirm your cleanings, we urge you contact the Guest Services team right away so we may schedule these requests immediately. For stays under seven days, we do offer daily housekeeping, however seven or more days are weekly cleans. This schedule is set via our front office and can be changed based upon your needs. Our Front Desk staff is available 24/7 and can assist with any request, including luggage help when checking in or checking out. If the front desk is occupied with another resident, we would normally set aside your luggage and bring it up to the suite as soon as possible. Please contact us directly when booking prior to arrival so we may assist in preparations for your stay, or any special requests you require. As our guest, your satisfaction is our number one priority and we invite you upon your return to experience nothing but the best that AKA has to offer. Thank you so much for the feedback and we look forward to your next lodging experience with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We recently spent 5 nights here. The option of having an apartment - appealed. The unit size was fantastic - a separate lounge/dining; full stone-top kitchen including coffee maker; 1.5 bathrooms; washing machine and dryer together with a king size bed - ticked all the boxes. Unfortunately for us, our room had a recurring smell of refuse - no-one was able to get to the bottom of it. Also if you are used to new style hotels where noise is really minimised, you will be disappointed - upstairs noise was very audible as was the noise from the elevators. Gym is fantastic and so is the bar and waiting area in the main lobby. Staff were very friendly but not particularly helpful - I felt I could answer more questions than they could!!!! We would only return if we needed the space and full kitchen/washing facilities - otherwise we would most likely choose a location with more cafe options - this is in a business district.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor and a room out the back as you will have less elevator noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

We appreciate your feedback and we are also glad to hear you enjoyed your suite amenities, regarding the refuse smell and noise levels, we do regret this inconvenience and we urge you to contact our Guest Services team right away so we may arrange for a solution immediately. If your suite location is not preferable upon check-in or at all during your stay, due to audible noise levels, refuse smells or any other matter, our Front Desk team is available at all times to accommodate these needs and we would be pleased to move you to another suite that might be a better fit for you. We would like to extend an offer for you to return to AKA White House so that we can turn your perception around and accommodate your needs. Please feel free to reach out to our front desk manager, referencing your review and we be pleased to offer you discount on your future stay. Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,293 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,427 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Address: 1710 H St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-4699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $192 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA White House 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just two blocks from the nation’s most important residential address, as well as in close proximity to many noteworthy business and arts institutions, AKA White House features spacious one and two bedroom residences with king size beds, elegantly designed living rooms, full kitchens, spa-like baths, as well as spectacular penthouse suites with spacious terrace and outdoor dining areas. Superb amenities include a modern lounge area with stunning bar and fireplace and contemporary, comfortable seating with open views onto the streetscape; complimentary wifi; resident cinema; fitness and business center services, and a 24/7 Resident Services Team. Onsite parking available for additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing