We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Business Suite Solution in Washington DC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AKA White House
Ranked #26 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Business Suite Solution in Washington DC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

Excellent option for business travellers who want long stay VFM.

I took a team of 6 to this hotel! Allonthe advice of TripIt and I was not disappointed. Room for improvement but as they say, everything can be improved.

Rooms missing detailing but offer a sense of freedom and space which other hotels do not and a VFM solution.

Excellent bar, good amenities in the room, and fit for purpose given it's location.... The location is excellent.

Needs to work on detailing and ambience. The bar is fantastic but not worked into it's full potential.

Staffers friendly but not so well informed to advise where to go for leisure, food and site seeing.

These are nitty details, which detract from a great concept in hoteling... Just quite not there but has to be said, it is VFM.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamBMCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    179
    38
    14
    23
See reviews for
213
128
19
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
163 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

We had a brief 4 days in which we could entertain and enjoy our family from Taiwan so took advantage of a two bedroom suite at the AKA. It was everyhting we had hoped it would be an much more. From the wonderful accommodating reception on a cold spring morning where they got us into our suite hours before check in time, to the overall comfort of the suite and friendliness of the staff we could not have been more satisfied.
From the convenience of downtown DC to our famous neighbors we had the most wonderful brief vacation and our family loved the accomodations and we vowed that we would certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seaniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

I've stayed in this hotel/apartment building for almost three months total over the last two years. I stay in DC for business, sometimes for weeks at a time. The fact that I can get a pretty plush one bedroom suite for the same price as a regular hotel room is huge for me. The big, comfortable kitchen and living room mean that my wife (when she comes with me) and I can eat in - which is nice, and which saves me major coin in this pricey city.

You can also negotiate the price of parking. We got a deal for $240 for four weeks, which also opened up the city and the surroundings to us.

So, for us, the upsides were: spacious, comfortable 1 BR to spread out in for the same price as a small room in another hotel; laundry facilities in the apartment; great location down by the White House and an easy jog away from the Mall, plus right near metro; reasonably priced parking onsite; private roof deck (no view, but you do get sun and sky); free WiFi; free coffee and muffins and newspaper every morning.

There are some trade-offs. The reason they can offer this kind of accomodation for this kind of price is that they cut services to the bone. The front desk staff is courteous and they do their best, but there are only one or two of them there at any time and it's a pretty big place. Housekeeping is once a week. This isn't the place you're going to get Four Seasons service; it assumes you're going to be pretty self-sufficient.

The WiFi is a bit slow, not completely reliable. Maybe split too many times? Good enough for email and basic internet, though, and there is a sweet business center with fancy Macs if your personal internet is unsatisfactory.

The fitness room is Spartan, just a carpeted office-style room with a few machines. I used it a half dozen times, but was way happier running out the front door and out to the Mall to work out outdoors.

The lobby construction was annoying when we were there, but not a deal breaker. I will definitely go back to the AKA, and when I do I am looking forward to the new space.

And finally, there's no bike parking anywhere. The hotel expects you to bring a bicycle into your room/apartment. Come on - what would it cost to put a couple sturdy bike racks into one or two of the parking places in the garage? Bike-unfriendliness is very 20th century. At least they let you bring bikes in the elevator/into your room.

Anyway, if what you value is space, comfort, convenience and in-room amenities, this is the place for you. If you need major front-desk services or extensive hotel facilities, this is not the right place.

Room Tip: The top floor/penthouse rooms have terraces which are SWEET. But pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moelstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We really enjoyed the stay and the apartment facilities (kitchen is always better than a hotel). Lobby was under construction during our stay but you cant help that. Internet a little slow. Plenty of room and nice to have two toilets in the one bedroon apartment. Not far from Met rail underground so easy loction to get around.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

I spent 4 weeks there in June 2010.
The room was awesome,with fully equipped kitchen, huge and comfy bed and all you need for an extended stay. The rooftop is nice too and you can always meet interesting people there..
The gyum is pretty small, htough and the breakfast very basic (but, hey, you have your own kitchen to make your breakfast). The area is pretty sad, only big office buildings, but you can easily walk to dupont circle (15 min) and you are very close to the mall for a nice run or walk.
As long as your company pays for your stay at AKA, it is great!!!

Room Tip: I think the higher the floor the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

'We were overbooked, so we cancelled your reservation'. Not the thing you want to hear when you arrive at a hotel reception. But exactly what we heard at the AKA White House.
Given that it was 10pm, and during a time of major conferences in DC, we simply were shocked. Booking in advance, securing with a credit card - and then be told, literally, to go away, there is nothing they can do. The apology did not come across sincere, and any attempt to find an alternative room should have been made by them when they realised that they were overbooked. It should then also take more than one phone call. leading to the suggestion that a room could be found in Silver Spring, Maryland! The situation itself was unacceptable, and they way it was handled by the hotel totally unprofessional. It was shocking, frankly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank MoxBxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Thought we had found a diamond in the rough. Turns out it was coal. While the setup of the room was nice, the hotel is loud with a lot of construction. Had to nearly kick in my room door it stuck so bad. Work starts outside the hotel at 5:30am and you hear every bit of it. Lobby is under construction with dust all over. Overlooked all of this until staff was EXTREMELY unflexible. Hurricane and birth in the family was not enough to justify change in itenerary. Thought I would recommend, now never coming back. Make sure you read the fine print....TWICE.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Property: AKA White House
Address: 1710 H St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-4699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA White House 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. The perfect place for the long stay, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing