We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AKA White House
Ranked #34 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We had a brief 4 days in which we could entertain and enjoy our family from Taiwan so took advantage of a two bedroom suite at the AKA. It was everyhting we had hoped it would be an much more. From the wonderful accommodating reception on a cold spring morning where they got us into our suite hours before check in time, to the overall comfort of the suite and friendliness of the staff we could not have been more satisfied.
From the convenience of downtown DC to our famous neighbors we had the most wonderful brief vacation and our family loved the accomodations and we vowed that we would certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seaniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 782 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

I've stayed in this hotel/apartment building for almost three months total over the last two years. I stay in DC for business, sometimes for weeks at a time. The fact that I can get a pretty plush one bedroom suite for the same price as a regular hotel room is huge for me. The big, comfortable kitchen and living room mean that my wife (when she comes with me) and I can eat in - which is nice, and which saves me major coin in this pricey city.

You can also negotiate the price of parking. We got a deal for $240 for four weeks, which also opened up the city and the surroundings to us.

So, for us, the upsides were: spacious, comfortable 1 BR to spread out in for the same price as a small room in another hotel; laundry facilities in the apartment; great location down by the White House and an easy jog away from the Mall, plus right near metro; reasonably priced parking onsite; private roof deck (no view, but you do get sun and sky); free WiFi; free coffee and muffins and newspaper every morning.

There are some trade-offs. The reason they can offer this kind of accomodation for this kind of price is that they cut services to the bone. The front desk staff is courteous and they do their best, but there are only one or two of them there at any time and it's a pretty big place. Housekeeping is once a week. This isn't the place you're going to get Four Seasons service; it assumes you're going to be pretty self-sufficient.

The WiFi is a bit slow, not completely reliable. Maybe split too many times? Good enough for email and basic internet, though, and there is a sweet business center with fancy Macs if your personal internet is unsatisfactory.

The fitness room is Spartan, just a carpeted office-style room with a few machines. I used it a half dozen times, but was way happier running out the front door and out to the Mall to work out outdoors.

The lobby construction was annoying when we were there, but not a deal breaker. I will definitely go back to the AKA, and when I do I am looking forward to the new space.

And finally, there's no bike parking anywhere. The hotel expects you to bring a bicycle into your room/apartment. Come on - what would it cost to put a couple sturdy bike racks into one or two of the parking places in the garage? Bike-unfriendliness is very 20th century. At least they let you bring bikes in the elevator/into your room.

Anyway, if what you value is space, comfort, convenience and in-room amenities, this is the place for you. If you need major front-desk services or extensive hotel facilities, this is not the right place.

Room Tip: The top floor/penthouse rooms have terraces which are SWEET. But pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Moelstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We really enjoyed the stay and the apartment facilities (kitchen is always better than a hotel). Lobby was under construction during our stay but you cant help that. Internet a little slow. Plenty of room and nice to have two toilets in the one bedroon apartment. Not far from Met rail underground so easy loction to get around.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruce440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I spent 4 weeks there in June 2010.
The room was awesome,with fully equipped kitchen, huge and comfy bed and all you need for an extended stay. The rooftop is nice too and you can always meet interesting people there..
The gyum is pretty small, htough and the breakfast very basic (but, hey, you have your own kitchen to make your breakfast). The area is pretty sad, only big office buildings, but you can easily walk to dupont circle (15 min) and you are very close to the mall for a nice run or walk.
As long as your company pays for your stay at AKA, it is great!!!

Room Tip: I think the higher the floor the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

'We were overbooked, so we cancelled your reservation'. Not the thing you want to hear when you arrive at a hotel reception. But exactly what we heard at the AKA White House.
Given that it was 10pm, and during a time of major conferences in DC, we simply were shocked. Booking in advance, securing with a credit card - and then be told, literally, to go away, there is nothing they can do. The apology did not come across sincere, and any attempt to find an alternative room should have been made by them when they realised that they were overbooked. It should then also take more than one phone call. leading to the suggestion that a room could be found in Silver Spring, Maryland! The situation itself was unacceptable, and they way it was handled by the hotel totally unprofessional. It was shocking, frankly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
14  Thank MoxBxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Thought we had found a diamond in the rough. Turns out it was coal. While the setup of the room was nice, the hotel is loud with a lot of construction. Had to nearly kick in my room door it stuck so bad. Work starts outside the hotel at 5:30am and you hear every bit of it. Lobby is under construction with dust all over. Overlooked all of this until staff was EXTREMELY unflexible. Hurricane and birth in the family was not enough to justify change in itenerary. Thought I would recommend, now never coming back. Make sure you read the fine print....TWICE.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We had a one bedroom apartment which included 1 and 1/2 baths, a kitchen, living area, and washer & dryer in the apartment. We had plenty of space to spread out. The in-room laundry was a fabulous bonus since it was in the upper 90s and humid during our stay and our clothes were in desperate need of washing. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Standard continental breakfast. The location was excellent - about a block walk to the White House, 2 to the Mall, near Metro stations. A terrific place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elisevh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,274 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,380 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
2,231 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Address: 1710 H St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-4699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $174 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA White House 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just two blocks from the nation’s most important residential address, as well as in close proximity to many noteworthy business and arts institutions, AKA White House features spacious one and two bedroom residences with king size beds, elegantly designed living rooms, full kitchens, spa-like baths, as well as spectacular penthouse suites with spacious terrace and outdoor dining areas. Superb amenities include a modern lounge area with stunning bar and fireplace and contemporary, comfortable seating with open views onto the streetscape; complimentary wifi; resident cinema; fitness and business center services, and a 24/7 Resident Services Team. Onsite parking available for additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing