We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting”

Pavilion Cafe at the Sculpture Garden
Ranked #207 of 3,199 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Federal Triangle
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were lucky to have a very hot November day, so that we could sit outside & enjoy the wonderful sculpture garden. The food was very good, and the service very quick. Its a great plave to eat,if your lucky with the weather

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocky17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    98
    32
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Check out Friday afternoon concerts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a delightful and delicious café -- great sandwich/salad combos and sweet treats -- where you can have a light meal while gazing at the sculpture garden.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank meganthemegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallmadge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Fantastic place for a restaurant. Interesting sculpture in beautiful grounds, right there on the Mall. Large pond with fountain. You can sit on the edge of the pond and wiggle your toes and soak your feet. You cannot stand up and walk or frolic in the water. The Park Ranger makes sure the pond remains a pleasant experience for everyone and doesn't turn into a hotel pool. He's right.
In the winter the pond becomes an ice skating rink. You can enjoy all this without eating in the restaurant. The Pavilion Restaurant is pleasant for indoor or outdoor dining. It's decorated like a touch of Paris. They serve sandwiches, pizza, salads, and desserts. We had pizza, sandwiches, and chocolate eclairs. The sandwiches and pizza were good, the eclairs great. Restaurant well cared for. We sat by the water along time after lunch. Wonderful!
.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carole n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
224 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Outside Cafe with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

For a museum cafe, the food is quite good. The cafe is also perfect if you like to sit outside, but inside seating provides great seats for people watching. I had the veggie sandwich, my husband had fruit and yogurt...but the restaurant has quiche, pizzas, sandwiches, soups, wine, and a bunch of other tasty snacks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank floridatocanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SculptureGardenCafe, Manager at Pavilion Cafe at the Sculpture Garden, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
FloridatoCanada-Thank you for taking the time to reflect upon your recent visit to the Pavilion Café! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit, and hope that you found both the veggie sandwich and fruit and yogurt to be delicious and satisfying. We hope you join us again soon and try more of the delicious items available on our menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A nice oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had lunch here with a friend on a rather cold May day. I got there early and was waiting at a table, noticing how fast people were coming and going - people don't stop here to have a leisurely lunch. The customers are mostly tourists who stumble upon this little oasis.

I was pleasantly surprised to see that they serve wine, but unpleasantly surprised at the price. The food prices were not high, but pretty standard for the DC area (try going to Paul's a block away if you want high prices for lunch!), and both the quality and quantity of the food was fair (I am not a huge eater, and I was pretty full). I got a broccoli and cheese quiche, after going back and forth a number of times trying to decide what to eat (they have a lot of nice choices). It was quite tasty and had a little salad that went with it.

The unpleasant thing about the lunch was being asked to move from our table to another one by some people who did not want to wait two minutes for another large (4 seater) one to open up! So I ended up crammed up by the window, which was letting in the cold air. People - asking others to move is just rude. But I did not want to match their rudeness, so I did. They did not need to do this, as the cafe staff clears the tables very quickly, and people come and go fast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SculptureGardenCafe, Manager at Pavilion Cafe at the Sculpture Garden, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at Pavilion Café. Your dining experience should always be relaxing and enjoyable and we regret your interaction with the other group of customers, as this is unfair to you. Nonetheless, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your quiche and were pleased with your final choice. We hope you visit us again to try another one of our many options!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pavilion Cafe at the Sculpture Garden also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Pavilion Cafe at the Sculpture Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing