We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandwiches and Sculpture”

Pavilion Cafe at the Sculpture Garden
Ranked #191 of 3,382 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Federal Triangle
Description: The Pavilion Cafe is found amidst the casual elegance of the National Gallery of Art Sculpture Garden. A Jazz Garden Restaurant Café in Washington DC in the summer, a winter wonderland of ice skating in the winter.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stopped here for lunch between museum visits and it was a very worthwhile stop. We had a window table and looked out at the fountain, statues and garden. I agree that the prices were a bit high but that seems to be the way it is in Washington.

We read the wall menu, got in line, and ordered our food. A few minutes later it was ready for pick up. We sat at the table while we waited until alerted by our hand held "alerter" (don't know what it's really called.) Our sandwiches were good and gave us more energy to continue browsing the museums.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 194 of 246 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

The food was good, but the prices a bit high. This is a great place to stop off and eat with a great view of the beautiful gardens and sculptures.

Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SculptureGardenCafe, Manager at Pavilion Cafe at the Sculpture Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to review your most recent visit to the Pavilion Cafe. We are glad you enjoyed your food overlooking the beautiful National Gallery of Art's Sculpture Garden; it certainly is a great place to take a break while touring DC! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a great spot to get some good food for lunch and relax as you look over the fountain and sculptures in the garden. We had the portobello wraps which came with a fresh green salad and finished with a great blueberry tart. There are quiche selections, soup, salads, and sandwiches. You order at a counter and are given a vibrating pager so you know when your food is ready to pick up. The service was very friendly and efficient.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travelloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SculptureGardenCafe, Manager at Pavilion Cafe at the Sculpture Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Pavilion Café! We are so glad that you enjoyed your lunch. The seasonal blueberry tart is certainly a great summer treat - one of our favorites! We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the National Gallery of Art’s Sculpture Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

First visit to the Pavilion Cafe while visiting DC last weekend. A beautiful setting right in the National Mall right at the Sculpture Garden. Great people watching as well.

Lots to choose from on the menu, from quiche, to salads to sandwiches. I had the Quiche Lorraine, which comes with a small side salad. Perfect light lunch for a midday break. The quiche was warm and really good. Got to sit outide and see the fountain and people on a beautiful spring day.

I would return to the Cafe if I lived in DC.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jhklawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SculptureGardenCafe, Manager at Pavilion Cafe at the Sculpture Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback from your recent dining experience with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your quiche and side salad while relaxing in the National Gallery of Art’s beautiful Sculpture Garden. We hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Cascade Cafe provides tourists with a perfect opportunity to rest from walking the Mall and visiting the glorious Washington museums. Centrally located, user friendly, scenic location with an adjacent duck pond, the food was the great surprise. We had two salads which were generous in size and featured super fresh produce. A large glass (enough for both of us) of sangria was very tasty. Recommended.

    • Value
    • Food
Thank nollik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pavilion Cafe at the Sculpture Garden also viewed

 

Been to Pavilion Cafe at the Sculpture Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing