We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Place!”
Review of Rose's Luxury

Rose's Luxury
Ranked #15 of 3,448 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Capitol Hill
Reviewed March 7, 2019

The attorney my wife works for said this is the best meal I have ever had at a restaurant. We had to go and we did....arrived at 5:00 and waited all of 5 minutes to be seated at a table. Waitress ( Ashley ) made us feel very welcome and she knew her stuff....very knowledgeable about the history of the place and she also knew the menu very well. She was very helpful and enthusiastic. The Lychee Salad is well worth trying and the Carby was also quite good. The highlight was the Brisket Sandwich.....OMG.....incredible! Carrots were also tasty but the Brisket Sandwich is amazing. This place is off the beaten path but well worth your time to find it and enjoy it.

Date of visit: March 2019
3  Thank Gregg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 504 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2019

Typically, you cannot reserve a table in advance at Rose's Luxury. But in the 2018 winter holiday season, this popular restaurant offered gift reservations. We bought a reservation for 4 people ($300), and invited another couple as their 50th wedding anniversary present. As usual, both the food and the service were outstanding, items that were on the menu, as well as extra treats. We ordered 4 small plates and 1 family plate, plus 2 desserts, and it was a perfect amount of food. I had the SQUASH BLOSSOM RANGOON for my small plate, with was jumbo lump crab, chili crunch, sweet & sour sauce, and it was delicious.

We were very happy with our experience, with a table that was toward the back and not at all noisy. And by the way, we still have about $45 left on our gift reservation. We have to decide when to return.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Laraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019 via mobile

Love it here. Have been here multiple times and always enjoy the food here. Love how the chef combine flavors for each dish. Menu changes often so you will never know what you will get each time you come in. There are a few regular items too. Service are exceptional and the drinks are good too.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Sympnymp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019

We needed reservations for a seat at the bar. We couldn't get reservations on line, and had to show up in person and then wait 1 1/2 hours for a seat at the bar. Trendy. A bit pretentious. I was put off a bit by the wait/experience. (We don't typically do trendy.) But, the food was excellent. The drinks were fun to watch being made.

The Lychee Salad is a signature dish and well worth ordering.

We split a Brisket Dinner. Excellent. On par with or better than my homemade Brisket. We had a interesting carrot dish.

The bartender provided excellent service. The prices were reasonable considering the trendiness.

We would go back.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

I was excited to be able to visit Rose’s with an actual reservation...and I welcome their new same-day reservation policy! The food was well prepared and unique. Some things were more delicious than others, and it was not easy to previsualize the dishes. One of our servers was not so helpful in describing options; the other was excellent. One flaw: we were charged for the (unavailable) bottle of wine we ordered, rather than (the much less expensive) substitute. Sadly, the person who selected the wine was not the one who paid the bill, so it was only discovered after leaving Rose’s.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank nina20007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose's Luxury also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Rose's Luxury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.