We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the hype”
Review of Rose's Luxury

Rose's Luxury
Ranked #15 of 3,448 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Capitol Hill
Reviewed May 10, 2018

We were lucky to get a seat at the bar without a reservation and without having to wait, so we were pretty excited to try this place and off to a good start. The food is flavorful and good here but it's nothing special. We felt like we could recreate most of what we ate at home, and thought some of it we could even do better; so we weren't that impressed and weren't too enthused about the price. We wouldn't stand in line here...

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GourmetGirlfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 99 of 504 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2018

Creative food. Always so creative! After my first meal here, I vowed to come back often, and I've been true to that promise so far. I've never been disappointed.

All plates, except the family style section of the menu are small plates. we usually average around two per person. Maybe a little more depending on how many people are with us.

Everyone talks about the Lychee pork salad, and rightfully so, but other items on the menu are equally inventive and delicious. The first time I went there we had a hazelnut parsley pesto pasta dish that sounds simple but blew my mind.

No reservation and long waits means you have to get there within the first thirty minutes of opening, depending on the size of your group.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank joanny452
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018

This place literally does not take any reservations so I had to wait for an hour in line before they opened at 5pm. Anyway after that experience the food was very good.

Date of visit: March 2018
2  Thank Bgagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2018

We ate here last night and it was a memorable outstanding meal. I would never have ordered the grilled cucumbers, but our server gave them to us as a gift. After all, even monkeys when given cucumbers while others are given grapes will throw the cucumber out of the cage. But these grilled cucumbers were so flavourful and delicious, that I think Silverman could make stone soup sublime. Everyone knows the lichee appetiser is a must have: other standouts include the spare ribs, the fava beans, the pasta with salad, and the squid ink pasta. The service could not have been more efficient or friendly, and our server had only been recently hired. All in all, one of the very best meals one can have in DC, and the competition grows daily. With tip and two glasses of wine, dinner was about 90 dollars per person.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank travelsonitsstomach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2018

Arrived on the curb 20 minutes before opening, able to sit at 5pm. No reservations accepted. Ashley at the bar (where we chose to sit for dinner) was friendly and very helpful. Everything we ordered was amazing. Lychee salad is (apparently) a staple, friendly oysters were also incredible. Vibe was great. We will be back.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WashingtonRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose's Luxury also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Rose's Luxury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.