We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food we had in DC!”
Review of Guapo's

Guapo's
Ranked #673 of 3,259 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $12 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
Parma Heights, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food we had in DC!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We asked our tour bus driver what restaurants he recommended and this was on the top of his list, LOVED IT!!! Food was amazing and service was even better. Even the women's bathroom was just adorable! I was there with my parents and boyfriend, we all tried something different and each of us loved our meals. It's right off the red line tenleytown metro stop, you have to try it if you are in DC!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marcy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    55
    18
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“American University faux-Mexican at its best”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Good, traditional Mexican food. Always crowded and packed with AU undergrads, alums, and other bums. Great place for the Bethesda/Spring valley tweens to congregate and be seen before their bedtime. Lacks the edge necessary for any great food, but is safe enough for Mommy and Daddy to bring the children, knock back a beer, drain a martini, and feel like they went to some exotic place in the middle of the northwestern DC suburban sprawl. Try the 40 oz dos equis, chips and cheese dip, and enchiladas.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank deadhead_attorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee,FL
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The food was pretty good and the staff was great about accommodating a group of 14 middle schoolers from a beginners Spanish class who were practicing their Spanish speaking skills. Decent food!.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gatorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Mexican-american food”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The bar scene is packed, and the food is ok. I think people just go here for the bar and to drink margaritas.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ExPat0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, MA
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Eat”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Very good mexican restaurant. The interior looks like your typical mexican restaurant but, there is also outdoor seating with umbrellas for those nice days. Guapo's is conveniently located around the corner from the metro station (Tenletyown Station on the Red Line). Additionally, it appeared the on-street parking as well as parking garages were available.
Our server's personality was a bit distant but the service was great (very fast), and the food was great (great frozen margaritas). Prices are spot on too, being in the $10-20 range.
Would definitely return, in fact almost went 2 days in a row!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guapo's also viewed

 

Been to Guapo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing