We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast preparation at a good price”

Talay Thai Restaurant
Ranked #906 of 3,236 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Capitol Hill
Description: Talay Thai restaurant is located near Capital Hill Washington D.C. The restaurant offer a relaxed, cozy and friendly atmosphere suitable for business lunches to casual dinning. We provide dine in, take-out and delivery. Our goal has been to serve the most authentic traditional Thai food. All of our food is prepared on the premises from fresh ingredients, Thai herb and individually cooked for you direct from your order by our personally staff. Thank you for visiting our website and we are looking forward to see you at Talay Thai Restaurant.
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fast preparation at a good price”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Pros: Fast service (food was ready in under 10 minutes). Waiters are respectful. Waiters know what goes into the food (if you have allergy concerns). Meat and sauces are full of flavor. Full meal at 9-11 dollars. Good location (right next to metro). Outdoor an indoor seating.

Cons: Certain dishes aren't below average (drunken noodles). Not that spicy. Nothing outstanding.

Summary: This is a nice place to find standard Thai food. Nothing more and nothing less.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank g-raterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    29
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
green4859
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food, fair prices, great location!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've eaten here before but recently ate with my family. The food was fairly good, not the best Thai food I've had. I ordered the chicken pineapple fried rice. It was good and they serve a good portion. My husband had the crispy salmon with the garlic basil sauce. I told him to put the sauce on the side but he decided to let them pour it over the salmon and he regretted it because it was really spicy...so my suggestion is when ordering this dish, ask for the sauce on the side. We love the banana spring rolls with coconut ice cream. Plus it's in a prime location since it's right where the Senate and House office buildings are. I received better service this time than the last time so I guess it depends on who the server is.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank green4859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Spicy on Capital Hill”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Quiet, rustic and spicy. What else do you want in a Thai place? Friendly staff and love sidewalk view too

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
706 reviews
498 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
“Was just okay....”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We ordered take out from Talay Thai while we were staying in the DC area. Since we were in an apt that we were renting, we did not have all the comforts of home in the way of condiments. When they brought our order there was no chopsticks and no soy sauce. Huge bummer. We also said we were in the basement apt on the side of the house and they went to the Front door. Thank goodness the owner was home and figured it out or we may not have gotten any food.

The Curry puffs were something I had not seen on any menu so we ordered those. It was mostly a potato empanada with little curry flavor.
The shrimp rolls were okay, thank fully they supplied a sauce with that.
The shrimp in garlic sauce was tasty and the serving was generous.

Overall it was ok but nothing stand out. B+

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melobeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Really good thai food! Pad thai is excellent and really good Thai iced coffee! Service is fast and friendly and the food is really good. Really glad we stumbled upon it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KGodinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talay Thai Restaurant also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Talay Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing