We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian restaurant conveniently located on Connecticut Ave” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Odeon Restaurant - CLOSED

Odeon Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Transit: Metro stop red line Dupont Circle, Q Street Exit
Description: Located in the heart of the Dupont Circle area for more than 24 years, Odeon Cafe is located conveniently only two+ blocks from the Metro, offering an exciting culinary experience within an inviting atmosphere. Our newly renovated two-story dining room provides a beautiful and spacious bar where you can relax during happy hour or while awaiting a table. Our comfortable seating includes intimate tables for two and space for families or even parties of ten or more. We have a good selection of Italian, American and French wines and champagnes, available by the glass or bottle. Thus you are sure to find an appropriate spirit to enhance any of our entrees. Our colorful continental decor, along with the savory aromas of Italian cooking, help create the ambience that makes the Odeon Cafe a wonderful place to visit. Odeon Cafe will be serving a traditional 3-course Thanksgiving Day feast on 11/22/07 for $18.95, as well as its regular menu.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Italian restaurant conveniently located on Connecticut Ave”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Reviews are very mixed. We had not been here for several years. Went on a Sunday evening, and everything was lovely. We eached ordered off the special menu and were very pleased with the food, service, and the price.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CraftsmanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    36
    30
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ligonier PA
Level Contributor
185 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Italian and nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Service and atmosphere are quite good. I have enjoyed my meals here, but the wine options should be better.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dukesnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went for brunch twice in 2 days at this restaurant. We found it very strange that it was so empty on both occasions. We loved the decor, the staff were efficient, helpful and friendly, the unpretentious atmosphere of this family run business was also refreshing. The food we had was just great although 3 eggs in each meal was over the top. I would happily recommend the Odeon to anyone who enjoys Italian food. We will definitely go there again if we are ever in Washington again.

Helpful?
Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
606 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 645 helpful votes
“Another OK Italian Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a pretty typical Italian bistro with a decent menu of pastas, pizzas and other typical Italian fare. The waiter was much better than average and was knowledgable about the food. The Bolognese sauce was nothing unique or special but more than adequate. Atmosphere is fairly modest and Itlaian music is playing in the background. This is definitely a place to sample and I'd go back there if I were in the Dupont Circle/Embassy Row area. However, with so many good choices in D.C. I'll check out other restaurants before going back. Still, nothing wrong and a perfectly adequate choice for a quiet, relaxed meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TommyBoy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Yet another mediocre overpriced restaurant in DC using wilted produce”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I didn't have high expectations after being greeted by the blasé female hostess who later examined me from head to toe critically putting me ill at ease. The waiter provided terrific service and while there were some highlights to our meal, unfortunately this restaurant resembles so many other overpriced and pretentious DC restaurants with their mediocre food. My salad was wilted, the carpaccio suspiciously lukewarm, and they serve parmasean cheese in a powder form rather than the fresh variety. The pasta is quite good but the portions unacceptably small. I definitely wouldn't recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wodaabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Odeon Restaurant also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing