We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food prepared perfectly”
Review of CityZen - CLOSED

CityZen
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 12th Street, SW
Transit: Smithsonian Metro (Orange and Blue Line) L'Enfant Plaza Metro (Yellow and Green Line)
Jupiter, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food prepared perfectly”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

In DC for a special occasion so I booked citizen well out only knowing it had some good reviews. We're we surprised to be prepared one of the finest dining experiences in our lives. The tasting menu prepared by Eric is all recognizable food executed with creativity and perfection. The sommelier Andy created a perfect tasting to compliment the meal with wines you will only get a very small opportunity to taste but the best part is the passion and kindness they serve you all this wonderful goodness. They have a way of making you feel at home and their genuineness will impress you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GrantB15C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    35
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
1,135 reviews
578 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
“CityZen - Delivers Again!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was our second visit to CityZen in the DC Mandarin Oriental Hotel. Unlike our last visit, we were staying across the Mall in NW. Originally, we were a bit sad that we could not secure a table for the early seating, as we were to arrive at IAD (Dulles) at 3:00PM, and a 9:00PM seating seemed so far away. Well, the fates knew what they were doing, as our flight from PHX was delayed by more than 3 hours, so we would have missed the 6:00PM seating. The second seating was perfect.

We did arrive a bit early, and were promptly seated in the small area beyond the bar. A half-bottle of Puligney-Montrachet started off the evening nicely. At 9:00PM, we were promptly seated, and our main server immediately recognized us from our previous visit, 10 mos. earlier. He even recalled where we were seated, and that my wife left to attend an event, but returned to dine with me later in the evening. He even knew that the kitchen had prepared a Barrimundi dish for her! I was impressed, but that seems to be how it is at CityZen.

We opted to go with a mixture of the various course options, passing this time on the Chef's Tasting Menu (my order on the previous visit). CityZen offers two wine pairings and, as we so often do when similar is offered, chose one each - the "Regular," and the "Vintage Pairing." This always proves to be great fun, as one gets to sample two wines per dish (we also save a bit, to try with other dishes). The only drawback is that a four-top can get pretty full of wine glasses, but the four-tops at CityZen are on the larger side, and well-spaced throughout the dining room.

We settled on the Roasted Spring Asparagus & Baby Mache, paired with a 2010 Eric Morgat Saveniéres (Chenin Blanc) and a 2006 Domaine Zind-Humbrecht Herrenweg du Turckheim Alsatian Riesling. Both wines were great, but the nod went to the Chenin Blanc - shows that a more expensive wine might necessarily be the best pairing for a particular palate.

The Chilled Maine Lobster Salad, with a 2012 Domaine Michel Briday Rully (Chardonnay) and the 2012 Littorai, Charles Heintz Vineyard Sonona Coast Chardonnay. Both were excellent, and the Littorai was the winner. We still had the Montrachet, but it did not fare as well, as I had imagined - good, but behind both the Rully and the Littorai. Great to have the opportunity to try three wines here.

The Sautéed Chesapeake Bay Soft Shell Crab was next, paired with an interesting treatment (at least for me) of a 2012 Viñedos Ithaca, Odysseus Pedro Ximénez from the Priorat. I know this grape, but see it expressed more often as a dessert wine from Jerez, or in a Madeira. This version was vinted dry. The other wine was the 2010 Château Olivier Bordeaux Pessac-Léognan (Sauvignon Blanc/Semillon). Both were great, as were both the Littori and the Rully. The Montrachet was now gone...

We opted for the Pan Roasted Prime Midwestern Beef Ribeye, served with the 2009 Remellui Reserva Rioja (Tempranillo) and the 1998 Kay Brothers A Very Vineyard Block 6 Shiraz, McLaren Vale. Both were excellent, and we did not try any of our previous wines, as we hoped to do the Cheese Course. The only little glitch in the Ribeye was a tad too much salt in the rub - it was only on one side, and slight, but kept the dish from total perfection. Mention was made of our perception here.

For dessert, we went with the Iced Mint Mocha, paired with the Rare Wine Company's Baltimore Rainwater Madeira (Verdelho/Malmsey) and the Rare Wine Company's "Thomas Jefferson's Reserve Madeira (Sercial/Malmsey). I am usually not a big fan of a "Rainwater-style Madeira, but the "Baltimore" was perfect with the Mocha - as was the "Thomas Jefferson's Reserve."

Alas, even with the best of intentions, those courses, along with two amuse bouches, proved to be too filling for us - no Cheese Course this time, though we had dutifully saved some of the wines in hopes.

The experience was perfect (or would have been, if we only had room for the cheese), with excellent pacing, and spot-on timing. The food service and wine service were at a level that I would expect from a European three-star restaurant.

While not inexpensive by any criterion, the meal was a very good value, and the total experience bordering to absolute perfection.

I also feel that CityZen has one of the best wine lists in the area, and while it might not be the deepest, or contain the greatest number of "trophy wines," it is well-suited for the fare from the kitchen, and the service is impeccable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Loup_Garou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Tasting Adventure”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

They have a preset tasting menu plus another menu where you choose your own four courses. We went with the chef tasting menu it was their highlight.
The pre 1st course was this prosciutto that was aged at the restaurant. THAT WAS BOMB!! it was so good that I actually asked for more hahha. Other highlights included the lamb bacon pasta as well as the rib eye steak. Both were perfect! Other dishes were good but these two just stood out among the rest. It is around $125 per person for the tasting menu. Go and try!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No Better place to have a fine meal and excellent glass of wine”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

When you get the opportunity to eat at Cityzen you should! This is one of the finest meals and great selections of wines to have with your meal. My food was exceptional and the service and attentions was top notch. I would highly recommend this for a fine dinning experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katurahsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
352 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very very good, mid 4s, unpretentious service”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

A good special occasion place, especially for the food and service, but also bc it isn't near a lot we visit. If close to us, we'd consider dining at the bar (3 courses, $50) seasonally. Be warned that there is only course menus, no a la carte if you just want an appetizer or entree.

One of the party went for the 6 set courses (with the vintage wine pairing, $$$$$), the rest of us the 4 (choose 1 app, fish, meat, and dessert). We liked everything, and loved many of the items we tasted. Service was swift when needed and 2 1/2 hours moved by very well. No rush at all.

Six course:

ROASTED SPRING ASPARAGUS AND BABY MACHE
Preserved Kumquat, Focaccia Bread Pudding and Sweet Garlic Emulsion

CHILLED MAINE LOBSTER SALAD
with English Cucumber, Red Pepper and Earth ‘N’ Eats Horseradish

SESAME CRUSTED BIG-EYE TUNA
Rhubarb Paste, Grilled Takenoko and Braised Baby Bok Choy

CITYZEN LAMB CARBONARA
Crispy Elysian Fields Farm Lamb Bacon, Parmigiano Reggiano Agnolotti and Micro Chives

PAN ROASTED PRIME MIDWESTERN BEEF RIBEYE
Pan Roasted Thumbelina Carrots, Baby Turnips, Spiced

MOCHA CRUNCH WITH MINTFOAM

Four Course Options we tried:

APPETIZER

SPRING GARLIC PROFITEROLES
with a Fricassée of Louisiana Crayfish and English Peas

CARROT GINGER SOUP WITH DUCK RAGOUT


FISH

CITYZEN COD POLONAISE
Roasted Cauliflower Florets, Hard Boiled Path Valley Farm Egg, Lemon
and Roasted Garlic Mousseline

SAUTÉED FILET OF KONA KAMPACHI
Green Asparagus, Roasted Celery Root and Tarragon Broth

CRISPY SKIN FILLET OF MEDITERRANEAN BRANZINO
Rosemary Roasted Olives, Cityzen Chorizo, Arugula Duxelles and Toasted Barley

SEARED MAINE SEA SCALLOPS
California Sea Urchin and Confit Grapefruit Zest, Haas Avocado and Fennel Salsa

MEAT

PAILLARD OF BOBO FARMS POUSSIN
Rhubarb Marmalade, Green Radish, Pickled Baby Peach and Marjoram Aioli

CRISPY MARCHO FARMS VEAL SWEETBREADS
Braised Napa Cabbage, Preserved Kumquats, Shaved Perigord Truffles
and Fava Bean Coulis

HERB ROASTED ELYSIAN FIELDS FARM LAMB SADDLE
English Pea Samosa, Shaved Turnips and Cumin Spiced Yogurt

DESSERT

Grapefuit tart


Highlights were the Carrot Ginger soup with a hearty ragout, a juicy and wonderfully marbled rib eye, delicate and well paired bronzino with olives that had salt ans savour, and the crunchy outside/soft and luscious inside sweetbreads


Not bad, but not wow-inducing items: the big eye tuna app, I can say the tuna we had at Sullivan's Steakhouse the week before was much better, not a lot of depth of ocean; the kampachi was dry for my taste,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CityZen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing