We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“E. Hopper, P. Cadmus, awesomeness!”

Smithsonian American Art Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Washington DC Legend Daytime Comprehensive Tour
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Washington DC Private City Tour
More Info
$73.75*
and up
Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight...
Ranked #28 of 445 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Smithsonian Institution that owns more than 40,000 works depicting the history of art in the United States.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“E. Hopper, P. Cadmus, awesomeness!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

a great way to spend the afternoon! a lot of different artists, from different time periods, all exhibiting some of the major currents that marked American art, my favorites being the collection on American Realism, featuring some great works by Edward Hopper and Paul Cadmus, among others.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ileana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    877
    299
    66
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Highland, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WORST MUSEUM EVER!!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

There were very few exhibits in a extreemly large building. The set-up for the objects was ill conceived and the choice of items even worse. I have visited museums all over the world and the Smithsonian is by far the WORST MUSEUM I have ever had the displeasure of visiting. I've seen the British Museum, London, the Bodlian Museum, Oxford, ENGLAND, the Tower of London, The National Museum, Belfast, Northern Ireland, The Irish Museum in Trinity Church, Dublin, EIRE, The Archaeological Museums of Odessa, UKRAINE, and Jerusalem, ISRAEL. The John Bunyan Museum, Bedford, ENGLAND, The Museum of Edinburgh Castle, SCOTLAND. The Hermitage Museum, St. Petersburg, RUSSIA and The Palace Museum of St. Petersburg, RUSSIA. The William Shakespeare Museum, Stratford-Upon-Avon, ENGLAND.The Fort Casper Museum, Casper, Wyoming,(just to name a few of the better museums).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank johnneyeagle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absorbing”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed this gallery. It has a huge range of different art from photo to oils, sculpture to film, traditional to modern.
Stand out was Naim June Pak 'electronic superhighway' but there is really something for everyone here

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
335 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“More than I expected”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stopped in here because it was on the national mall strip and figured it was free so why not. I ended up staying until the museum was closing. Tons of amazing art to look at, and I'm not the biggest fan of art. Some really incredibly detailed paintings, I found myself taking a couple hundred pictures here, always finding a new painting I felt I needed a picture of. Anyone with any interest in art at all has to make a stop here. Visited 2012.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank James I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldwick NJ
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Learning Made Beautiful - From Primitive to Avant Garde for Free”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just went to this museum, after many years of walking by and not being able to view because of renovations, this is a stellar addition to an already superpacked fun museum experience in our nation's capitol. It's deceptively intimate looking, but this is a large museum occupying an entire city block full of many highlights. Love the Luce Foundation Center, but a careful thorough view would take days not hours. It's a place to come back to and enjoy, great seating, more a learning and not just viewing. Ditto for the conservation foundation. Paik's American Superhighway is a highlight, but I'm concerned that in 10 years there may be few who get some of the subtler references. La Farge stained glass windows and art work intermixed with Vedder, Thayer, Dewing, so much eye candy but also statements of their era. Many Childe Hassan's on view, a great American impressionist. Fittingly, Sargent's Spanish Dancer has her own room, she demands it and commands attention. Number of bathrooms, but of course, women's rooms on the 1st floor may be a wait. OK cafe but the atrium is not to be missed. Parking is on street, at Verizon center and other parking areas, but it's also readily accessible by Metro.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pert-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian American Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian American Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing