We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Middle Eastern in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of DC Cafe

DC Cafe
Ranked #677 of 3,199 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Best Middle Eastern in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Little did I know what to expect at this over 2 decade old local corner cafe, and wow, slap the ground!! It is easily the best middle eastern food.

Good for those counting calorie and carbs, good for the gusty foodie, and beyond excellent for those looking for knock-your-socks-off flavor authenticity.

You'll surely love the food as much as everyone else who has tried DC cafe

Yellow rice, baba ganoush, chicken swamerma, shish twook, and the SPICY SAUCE!! All homemade!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikhaila89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Marvelous!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

It was snowing a lot, our flight delayed and we arrived at lunch in the hotel. We needed a good place to eat. It was around our hotel and we could walk there. It is very simple. But forget the appearance. Food is wonderful! Service is wonderful! Try gyros or meatballs. Teas are unbelievable! And dessert is certainly something unforgettable! Cheap, simple, but familiar place. Worth the visit!

Helpful?
Thank margacris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
346 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Excellent Greasy Gyros/Chicken Souvlakis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Man, this place is an absolutely hole in the wall. You walk in and get a bit concerned about the sanitation even. Then you see this glorious wall of famous people who have eaten there and are altogether shocked! I had a chicken/gyro mix wrap and a Vitamin Water. At $13 it seemed a bit pricey but it was a huge sandwich and it was unlike any gyro i have ever eaten before. Terrific meat and seasonings. Very very tasty. It's almost addictive! You'll love it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ATLconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great flavors”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Reasonably priced, quick lunch. I would recommend outdoor seating as it is right on the corner with beautiful street views and people watching.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jesswagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Escape from Hotel Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This small cafe offers wonderful Mediterranean food and pleasant sidewalk seating. It was a perfect lunch escape from expensive hotel restaurant food. I had a Gyros sandwich prepared and served by the owner. Fresh tomatoes, lettuce onions on Pita bread were excellent. Friendly service and sidewalk ambiance made for a perfect lunch. I plan to go back for the breakfast, eggs and bacon plate, for $6 compared to the $20 hotel breakfast. This is a great find just two blocks from DuPont Circle.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank berniepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DC Cafe also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to DC Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing