We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a real dive”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Hunt

Big Hunt
Ranked #1,425 of 3,199 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“a real dive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

A real dive bar, truly local, truly friendly, truly happening-- and did I mention a real dive? But as dive bars are, it was a fun and easy and unpretentious place to meet-up with friends.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lpo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    29
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
322 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Cool beer selection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Looking for a place to grab a bite in DC. This little "dive" bar fit the bill perfectly. Decor... um... early dive bar, LOL. Food - average. Lots of different beers to try. The crowd of "regulars" was evident. Good prices. Worth checking out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeckAndGunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Neat local bar for a drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We got off the Metro subway at DuPont Circle and saw The Big Hunt, so we decided to stop in for a beer (or two). We found it to be a really neat local bar. We enjoyed the atmosphere, sitting on the patio which is upstairs and out in the back. It was nice and quiet with great service. The server was friendly, always there when we needed anything, but not hovering or bothersome at all. They have a number of interesting draft beers to chose from. It was thoroughly enjoyable and we would definitely go back again. It's a fun place to stop and unwind!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C_and_B_Dayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“How a proper bar should be!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Dropped into this DuPont circle bar for a quick one and ended up coming back a couple of times. It’s a proper bar, a little rough round the edges, dark, busy and with a great selection of well kept beers. The bar staff know their stuff so are on hand to provide recommendations. We didn’t eat here so can’t comment on the food, but there were plenty of happy hour and discount meal offers that changed on each day of the week. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Yorkshireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elderslie, Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We liked this lively and friendly local bar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

To us this was a typical friendly local bar with good bar food, reasonable prices and good atmosphere. A good place to come for a quick drink or boozy night after arduous sightseeing!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kev5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Hunt also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Big Hunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing