We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian food”
Review of Taj of India

Taj of India
Reserve with OpenTable
Taj of India is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #655 of 3,237 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Transit: Foggy Bottom Metro
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I went to Washington to see the cherry blossoms. On the last of my stay we decided to search for Indian restaurants in Georgetown .. We came upon Taj and based on the menu we decided to try.

It was a very good choice. Food was good, service was great and although not a very big restaurant you felt comfortable inside. We ordered chicken vindaloo , Naam, lamb biryani, bhindi masala and mango lassi

Everything was tasty and next time I am in Washington I would pay them, another visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    78
    25
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Indian Food”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Best saag paneer I have ever had. Excellent service and good atmosphere. Highly recommend. Close to Foggy Bottom metro.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Food, Value”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were extremely pleased with this restaurant. The service was attentive and the food was delicious. We were surprised by the reasonable price, given the quality. It's not a fancy place, but it is pleasant, there are nice white tablecloths and the lighting and low-volume Indian music was just right. We were on vacation with our 17-year-old son and took a chance on this place. All three of us left happy and satisfied. We will definitely return next time we are in Washington DC.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edojidai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time around”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

On our last trip to Washington (March 2012) we visited this Georgetown restaurant two times in a 3 day stay. We went there on our trip last weekend and were very disappointed. The quality of the food had slipped since our last visit and while the service was friendly, it was not very good. The restaurant was almost empty (maybe others are feeling how I am now feeling about it) and still the waiters seemed to have other things to do more important that attending the patrons. The Nan was as good as ever, as were the dips.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BBtraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Insipid, bland food overloaded with canned tomato and onion”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Was taken by family members to this restaurant because they know we like Indian food. Looking at the menu some of my favorites were noted to have tomato and onion, which often is just a small taste in N Indian cooking. I found a fish dish which also listed mustard seeds and coconut milk. I asked if it was well-spiced and said I like my food served as hot as in India. What I got was a bland dish swimming in onion and tomato, no taste of coconut, mustard, or masala, less hot than Southern barbecue. I complained they took it to the kitchen, shook in some spices which didn't dissolve and served it back. It was worse than Indian railway station food. The pakoras were greasy and overcooked. The pannir tikka was dry and bland. The rice was wet. The acoustics and service were great as was the music. This is a food for Americans who like Americanized Indian food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quakertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj of India also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Taj of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing