We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Cozy Date”
Review of Little Fountain Cafe - CLOSED

Little Fountain Cafe
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Adams Morgan
Transit: Adams-Morgan/Woodley Park Metro is about a 10 minute walk.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Cozy Date”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Little Fountain Cafe is a completely unexpected treat! I went with my husband for a quiet birthday dinner and was not disappointed in the least.
It's a tiny "hole in the wall" place tucked downstairs in Adams Morgan; super cozy, friendly & welcoming! The 3 women working there were attentive, but gave us plenty of space and were great to explain the 2 different menus (they were still offering their Valentine's Day Prix fixe menu as well as an A La Carte one).
I got their calamari which was perfectly done- not a bit of "rubbery" texture, and the pasta. My husband ordered the scallop, bison steak and we shared the Key Lime tart with coconut ice cream- all of it super delicious! The pricing was very fair and the atmosphere was so warm and inviting. Very quiet, not packed in like sardines, perfect for a romantic date!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank erinkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over the top on New Year's Eve”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We had a party of 9 among the full tables at LFC and had a flawless dinner. Some ordered from the special menu & others from the regular menu. Everyone's meal was outstanding and the service great on this busy night.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DCRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A true gem, a classic in DC!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I just happened upon the Little Fountain Cafe--how lucky for me that I did. The meal was lovely. a delicious appetizer special that featured exquisite duck confit, followed by a perfectly medium rare steak that was very tender, juicy, and flavorful. Dessert was also very nice, and the malbec I had was a nice compliment to the meal. All the staff were warm and gracious, but I want to single out Bayne, my wait person, who was a delight!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blink88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classic and wonderful food”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I love going to this cafe - the warm welcome .. the truly wonderful food... And a cute patio that you can dine on in warmer weather. The bar upstairs is a great place to meet and greet friends. 6 Stars!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nadokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
551 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Do I want to split the bill???”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Went on a Friday night. The deco inside is cosy, but because it is in the basement, I nearly missed it. Too bad the front let it down, I believe if it has a more noticeable entrance, the restaurant would attract more clients. The service is good. Though I made a reservation via Open Table, and requested a table by the window, when I arrived, the only table that was by the window was occupied, so I am not too please about that. Now the food is contemporary American. All the dishes were well prepared apart from everything was a bit too salty for my taste. My dining companion ordered duck, that was well cooked to medium rare. We were really surprised to see the portion was European size, which means it is way too small by American standard. When it comes to dessert, the apple dumpling was not really a dumpling. My Cream Brûlée was their own take i.e. their version of it, it was in a tiramisu cup, very tiny and was not made on the spot, which is what I would have get in Paris, and come out in a tiny oven bake dishes.

The service was adequate but not exceptional. The waitress ask if we want to split the bill. I do not know why she make that assumption!!

That is why I gave it a 3 stars. There is room for improvement, but it is ok for a Friday night.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Superlegalbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Fountain Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing