We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and Atmosphere”
Review of La Tasca

La Tasca
Reserve with OpenTable
La Tasca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #176 of 3,215 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: H Street
Transit: Metro - Chinatown/Gallery Place Metro Stop (red, yellow, and green lines)
Description: Happy Hour, 4-7 PM Monday - Friday! Draft beer and Sangria $5.00. Seating for 275 people on two floors. Book a complete floor for your own private party with private bar. In the Heart of the Penn Quarter, take the Metro Red, Yellow, or Green Lines to Gallery Place/ChinaTown.DINER’S CHOICE: La Tasca DC was recently named in “GOOD FOR GROUPS” CATEGORY Come check out our new Happy Hour and Lunch menus. We also offer a variety of menu options for groups.
Manassas, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

If you want to sample a lot of dishes this is the place. The dishes are small so be prepared to order at least two dishes if your hungry. The good thing is if your with a group you can all buy so many dishes at appetizer prices and sample everything. Large variety of Sangrias by the pitcher if you like wine. They have a live band once a week too. Overall good experiences here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    204
    100
    43
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This was second trip to La Tasca and it was just as amazing as the first time. The beef empanadas are so fantastic. Granted they're fried dough so they fill you up but I have trouble ordering anything but these. The bacon wrapped scallops and shrimp and worth the trip alone! Don't listen to the negative comments. Most of us haven't been to Spain or lived there so no we don't know what "true" tapas means but that doesn't make La Tasca any less amazing. Great service, tasty food, good prices, and a drool-worthy sangria menu! I will stop here every time I visit to DC!

Helpful?
Thank MonicaDustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good, small portions at a really noisy restaurant”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This isn't a good restaurant if you want to talk to the person you're eating with (and actually hear what he or she is saying). It's a great bar for the young professional crowd, you it's really noisy and none of the tables are situated far enough from the bar to rectify that. It's good food, but the noise is just overwhelming.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
170 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“best paella I've had”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I'm a great fan of Spanish food and I've tried my fair share of paellas. We went to this restaurants on 2 consecutive nights because the seafood paella they make is so good and also they have a lovely vibrant atmosphere. The restaurant is located in Chinatown and their paellas (which feed 2-3 people each) only cost $40. They also have a wide selection of desserts. Service was ordinary.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Free D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“good Paella”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

It was late & we dicided to give la Tasca a try after looking at the paella on the menu.We were not disapointed,it took a little time,but didnt mind...We shared the paella(mixa with all sort of seafood) which can feed 3 people.It was amzing.I wasnt so pleased with the sangrias,but didnt care since I'm not big on alcoholic drinks.worth a try

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tasca also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to La Tasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing