We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating raw meat with fingers better than one might imagine”

Dukem Ethiopian Market
Ranked #541 of 3,228 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: U Street Corridor
Description: This is an Ethiopian Restaurant serving an ethnic food in the Washington DC area.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Eating raw meat with fingers better than one might imagine”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Only one night left in DC and we had to choose between Dukem and Etete. Very tough decision. I don't think it would be overstating things to say that it was the Sophie's Choice of Ethiopian cuisine. OK, actually it totally would be. Sorry. Anyway, in the end we went with Dukem and were very pleased with the result. Glad we made a reservation because the place was very busy (and quite big too, so that is a lot of tables to feed). No problems with the service or the wait for the drinks & food though, and most importantly we both really enjoyed our meals. This was some really tasty food, and good value as well. I'd definitely go back again. The atmosphere was great too.
Extra note - they had nice restrooms too (pretty important to make sure your hands are clean before eating Ethiopian - especially when sharing!)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snarky_Sandgroper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    101
    40
    19
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Disappointing"”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were hoping to eat at Madjet an Ethopian restaurant where we first experienced Ethopian food. Unfortunately, we found they were closed. At the corner the same block we came across Dukem. Since the reviews on this place were good we decided to try it. A mistake! Dukem is a very popular spot and rather noisy. There was a twenty minute wait to get a table. The decor was nice, trendy but I go to a restaurant for the food. I'm happy this was not my first experience with Ethopian food or I wouldn't have tried it again. The food was bland and tasteless. If you are more interested in atmosphere than flavor this is the place for you.

Helpful?
1 Thank Deligh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A wonderful and unusual dining experience”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have never eaten Ethiopian food before, so when an opportunity arose to host 3 Isreali young ladies, whose families emigrated from Ethiopia, I was very pleased. This restaurant was recommended by someone who had been there before. My guests seleted the dishes and we ate with the bread, no forks. The lamb dishes were delicious and I managed to get some into my bread. They had entertainers with music and dancing and the crowded restaurant was very lively. There were 5 of us and we got 5 entrees and wine or beer, and there was plenty to eat for a reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DianeC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ethiopian Food”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I visited Dukem's as recommended by the Ethiopian shop owners in our hotel. We used to frequent Ethiopian restaurants in the Bay Area when we lived there and have been deprived since relocating. The service was wonderful and food was delicious. We had a combination plate with a side of a whole fish. We also had the Ethiopian beer and the honey wine. Superb! We sat outside on the patio and had fun people watching. The neighborhood is an interesting mix of cultures and venues. It was a short walk from the metro. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cairo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
505 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Conveniently close to metro choice for Ethiopian with a cultural spin”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I live in DC so have many choices for a decent Ethiopian meal. This place is conveniently on my way home and serves quickly, from a decent menu. They have entertainment in the evenings so it attracts both tourists and locals. They also have a small store adjacent to it with some spices, injera, sodas, and other things. They open in the morning so you can have an Ethiopian breakfast, if that's your mood. Service is friendly. Lamb this last time was a bit overdone but no real complaints. There's also an outside seating area that gets used a lot, since DC has weather that allows that for half the year. If you don't want to wander further afield to little Ethiopia on 9th street, this is a good choice.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Decoamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dukem Ethiopian Market also viewed

 

Been to Dukem Ethiopian Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing