We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal in DC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Lobos Mexican Grill

Don Lobos Mexican Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Don Lobos Mexican Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,208 of 3,189 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Hamilton Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a wonderful dinner and great beers at Don Lobos. We were able to walk from our hotel, One Washington Circle Hotel. The chips and salsa were great! My husband had enchiladas that were delicious and I hand the tamales, also delicious. Friendly servers. A definite return trip when we are in DC again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kendra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    22
    7
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
553 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A nice Mexican spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a pleasant Mexican restaurant with excellent service and pretty good food. Our group hit this place for lunch on a weekday and ordered off the lunch and regular menus. The lunch offering I chose was a burrito that looked exactly like the burrito someone else ordered from the regular menu (only cheaper). Service was very attentive and relatively quick.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ace4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
494 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“DC Mexican surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

This was a big surprise. The best salsa and guacamole. Just like real Mexico. The tacos Mexicans were excellent with a slice of avocado over grilled steak and cilantro. With serrana sauce. Outstanding

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good mexian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Food was very good, I have eaten at higher end Mexican restaurants that were not as good. It is a small place and a little cramped but if your interested in a place where you can get good Mexican at a reasonable value this is your ace in GT.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dgladey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Okay Mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Having grown up in Arizona, I am picky about my Mexican. But Don Lobos is reasonably priced and okay Mexican. The chips and salsa are good with some spice to it.

I like the location of it the best. It is on lower M Street, and it is fun to watch the Georgetown traffic go by in quintessential DC.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bookeworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Lobos Mexican Grill also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Don Lobos Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing