We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No waffling here!”
Review of Belga Cafe

Belga Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Belga Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #207 of 3,228 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Capitol Hill
Cross street: Pennsylvania Ave. SE
Transit: We are 1 1/2 blocks away from the Eastern Market Metro stop on the Orange and Blue line
Description: Belga Cafe is a restaurant by Belgium native and award-winning Chef Bart Vandaele. A vibrant atmosphere modeled after Brussel's casual cafes, Belga Cafe is the original Belgian restaurant in Washington, DC. Opened in 2004, the neighborhood locale on Capitol Hill is known for its authentic cuisine, extensive craft beers and Genevers. Serving, lunch, dinner, the ever popular brunch, and "Dinsdag Mossel," Belga Cafe features an open kitchen, European casual dining room along with a sidewalk cafe. It is a small piece of Brussels on the Hill.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“No waffling here!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Another very good location for breakfast. A little pricey ($66 for 2 incl tip) but delicious waffles, bacon, eggs and potatoes. Opens early which is good

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DermotMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    167
    51
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The food is amazing, been there several times and keep coming back, the steak are juice and tender, the waiters are extremely nice, try any kind of soup all are delicious, avoid Saturdays and Sundays very crowed or make a reservation so you don't have to wait for a long time with your stomach empty

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Belga Cafe - Eastern Market”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I heard good things about the beer and the food, so I decided to try it out. What a disappointment!! I was greeted warmly and my reservations were there. I sat at the table and was underwhelmed by the waiter who acted as though he had graced my presence. The room was nothing special and did not reflect a unique ambiance. The selection of beers was mostly in bottles with only five poor choices for the draft. I looked through the list of beers and my goodness, thought it was a wine list with the prices shown. There is no way a beer can cost $40. I ordered a Stella Artois (supposedly a Pilsner, but mostly tastes like Budweiser), still expensive at $9 for 12 oz. I looked at the menu but the prices were top end for what appeared to be poorly described food. I did not try any, drank my beer and left. I have tried this place twice, my first and last at the same time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Good service, their garlic mussels were amazing. It would have gotten a 4 stars if the double espresso wasn't $7 and it wasn't so noisy inside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicothed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
194 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Yummy steak”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Belgian cuisine restaurant with a lot of typical Belgian food and...even more Belgian beers !
As a Belgian it was nice to see how American guests enjoyed the Belgian beer.
We opted for a nice steak, there are two of them, let our waiter choose and...it was very good.
With real Belgian frites, salad on the side and...mayonnaise sauce off course !
Nice cosy atmosphere, normal service but table for two rather cramped.
Prices were not excessive, also the wine was payable.
Then the dessert came..."Dame Blanche" vanilla ice cream with whipped cream and CHOCOLATE AND MORE CHOCOLATE so it was described on the menu...Never ever had so little chocolate on a Dame Blanche, shame !
Still...me and my wife had a nice dinner evening here, would come again if in the neighbourhood.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eMBieAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belga Cafe also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Belga Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing