We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveler rating
326
244
100
44
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
244
100
44
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhole foodsfoggy bottomkennedy centerliving roomlincoln memorialfull kitchengw campusrooftop poolnew hampshirefree breakfastwatergate hotelmetro stopfront desk stafftrader joesblue linewithin walking distancetwo queen beds
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 742 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2017

Great location near GW, Metro stop, State Department, White House, etc. Quality breakfast available as early as 6:30a and as late as 9a. Comfortable room with plenty of space. Probably not wise to drive (didn't notice any parking), but very convenient to get to from Metro. Quiet, easy to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Larry S,
We appreciate your commentary and strong marks for our hotel. The location is, as you stated, so convenient to so much of Washington,DC. Parking is a commodity in the city, however valet parking is an option at our hotel for those that prefer to drive. Your satisfaction with breakfast makes us happy, it being the most important meal of the day! Please return soon we would love to host your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

If you're going to a show at Kennedy Center, stay here.

Easy walking distance (4-5 blocks). On tree-lined New Hampshire Ave. in George Washington University neighborhood. Quiet block, and close to CIRCA (great restaurant) and Foggy Bottom metro. 14- minute walk to White House or DuPont Circle.

Large suites with full kitchens. Full breakfast which is free.

Only reason not rated a 5 is we could not get the A/C to cool the room down quickly enough.

We'll be back.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank canoe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017

I travel to DC 15-20 times a year, mostly for business. Having stayed at many Marriotts in and around DC, I can say this is my favorite.
Great location for business or personal travel (taxis always out front, very close to metro, walk to many sites and into Georgetown). Whole Foods and Trader Joe's a short walk away.
While as a Platinum member I could stay at hotels that have concierge level amenities, I prefer this hotel due to location and caring staff. Even though they deal with many one time guests, including school groups, they are kind and professional at all times. A
The "mix" and breakfast have been upgraded in the last year or so to have the higher quality foods and more choices. Free wine and beer, too.
One tip: the ice in the in room freezers can have a funny taste (maybe due to infrequent use of the ice makers?) just ask for a bag of fresh ice downstairs.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irish1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Irish1997,
Thank you for your kind words. We truly attempt to make every guest experience as pleasurable as the thoughts you have expressed. We greatly appreciate your acknowledgment of our efforts, as well as your loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017

Met up with my besties to go to the Smithsonian Museum of African American History & Culture, 1 mile away. Also went to Kennedy Center, half mile away. Full breakfast at hotel and full kitchen in suite allowed us to save on meals.Whole Foods half mile away. Special shout out to staffers Calvin Nelson and Melody Ford who provided excellent customer service in meeting our special needs.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nolu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Nolu C,
We want to give you a big shout out right back!! Thank you for singling out two of our star associates. When you and your besties are back in Washington, DC - please select our property as your home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017

We stayed here during a family vacation in DC. The hotel is very close to George Washington University and is about a 3 minute walk from the Foggy Bottom Metro stop. The hotel is definitely a bit older and the hallways are a little bit dim. However, the rooms are very clean and very big. This hotel definitely had the best staff that I have seen at a hotel.

The breakfast each morning was very good and offered a wide selection of items, compared to other Residence Inns I have stayed at. The Evening Mix also offered a wider range of food and drinks than what the typical Residence Inn does.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ArkieLovesSTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear ArkieLovesST,
Your comments speak of what really is most important to a successful hotel operation, the people. We truly appreciate your appreciating them. We try not to be typical, but strive to be the best. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews