We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Arc The. Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The River Inn(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Hive(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Melrose Georgetown Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
State Plaza Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Lombardy(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (726)
Filter reviews
726 results
Traveler rating
321
238
97
42
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
238
97
42
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhole foodsfoggy bottomkennedy centerliving roomfull kitchenlincoln memorialgw campusnew hampshirerooftop poolwatergate hotelfree breakfastmetro stoptrader joesfront desk staffblue linewithin walking distancetwo queen beds
Filter
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 726 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed in this hotel from 8/3 through 8/8. Very friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed the breakfast each morning and reception in afternoon. Very clean. Great location, close to metro. Would definitely stay here again.

The only recommendations we have is to add faster internet access and premier movie channels (even if for purchase.)

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpfaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Hello Ipfaffe,

You comments are so welcome and appreciated. We do believe we have the most friendly staff in DC. They really do enjoy meeting and serving our guests. On your next visit, ask about our enhanced faster internet service. Your other recommendations are certainly under consideration. Thanks again.

All the best to you and the family.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed with a large group of 7 families with children. The staff was very accomodating and helpful. We were able to order take out on Friday and Saturday evenings and use the common area to eat. They staff was never in our way, nor did they make us feel in their way. The breakfast had choices for everyone. I don't think you could beat the location. It is on a quiet street, but close to Georgetown and a Metro. A Whole Foods is minutes walking distance from the hotel and a convenience store is even closer. Parking is a little high, but this is a city and you get in and out privileges at that rate. If you are internet savvy you can find good deals on multi-day parking close by. But, you will not get in and out privileges. With a metro so close you do not really need them. If I ever find myself needing a place to stay for a weekend or longer this will be my goto hotel.

Thanks to the staff for being so friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2baGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Hi 2baGuy,
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about your stay with us. We remember your group.. You all were wonderful guests and we were happy to be at your service. We are pleased to know that we met all your needs without getting in your way. You are correct in that our property is nestled on a quiet street, but with close proximity to plenty of off-property amenities and sites. It is great that you discovered several of these.

We will certainly convey your kind words to the staff. Many thanks to you and the other families for being such great guests.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I can't say enough about how pleasantly surprised we were by our stay at the Residence Inn/Foggy Bottom! As soon as we saw the quaint neighborhood and experienced the friendliness of the staff immediately upon our arrival, we were just so happy with our choice. I'm one that really believes the hotel can make or break your visit, and in this case, it helped make the trip much more comfortable and enjoyable.

We have two kids and the suite with kitchen was great for keeping drinks and snacks. The kids enjoyed the rooftop pool, the breakfast room was lovely and there were many choices, something for everyone. We stayed on the 8th floor and one of the things that struck me most was how QUIET it was! Usually, you have street noise, doors slamming, etc., but at night, the our room was extremely quiet, which is great if you're a light sleeper (like me!).

Greg, the doorman, was so friendly and helpful, as was everyone at the desk. The hotel is very clean and the location is ideal for sightseeing, just a short subway or cab ride away from the Mall and all the attractions. (Just a tip: cab was same price as subway for 4 of us and drops you off right at your destination.) The neighborhood is VERY cute and there are restaurants very nearby. Watergate is just across the way.

One note: Parking is expensive, as it is everywhere, but based on another TripAdvisor review, we used SpotHero and paid $75 for parking our car just a few short blocks away in a garage in a very nice area. We didn't really need the car, as we walked, took cabs or subway all week.

Overall, I can't say enough about how much I would recommend this hotel based on its location, lack of noise and friendly staff. We'd definitely return the next time we come to DC.

Room Tip: We stayed on 8th floor and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRStrategist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear PRStrategist,

We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and doubly pleased that you took the time to share your experience. Thank you.

It's good to know that you enjoyed so many of our amenities. Indeed, our guest suites provide the familiarity of your kitchen at home. Great parking advice too!

Thank you for commenting about our friendly staff. Greg is a fantastic new addition. We are happy he is now part of our family...and yours.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great hotel and Ideal for an extended stay: clean, modern, nice furnishings and amenities, and excellent location in Foggy Bottom. I stayed here on business accompanied my wife and infant son, who were extremely comfortable. The kitchen is great, and close proximity to both Whole Foods and Trader Joe's makes it ideal to prepare meals. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Hi Alex T,
Yes, our property is designed for extended stay guests; although we are happy to welcome all guests. It is a wonderful thing that you can enjoy a home cooked meal here with our full kitchen and close proximity to grocery stores. We are so happy your family felt at home, away from home. Please consider us again on your next stay in the area; whether for one night or 100.
All the best and thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The location of the Residence Inn was perfect for our purpose of travel. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. It really had that "Welcome Home" feeling. The Residence Inn offered evening gatherings from Monday thru Thursday and it was a great time to enjoy good food with other guests. The location of the Residence Inn to local restaurants and shopping was also a plus. It was also an easy walk to Georgetown and the Washington Harbor area. Easy access to the Metro and easy walk to the Lincoln Memorial. All hotels in DC that we have stayed in charge a high parking fee with an added tax so be prepared. It would be nice if it was a complimentary service.

Room Tip: We had an end room and that was perfect. I would think that the rooms near the elevator may be a problem with noise and beeping sound from elevator.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PattiM46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Good day PattiM46,
We really do want our guests to feel at home at our property. That is why we work so hard to make sure our amenities and services are delivered with ease and a genuine "we are happy you are here" demeanor. It is so kind of you to offer tips to future guests. Thanks for recommending us.

Warmes regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews