We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #57 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were glad to find the good reviews for this hotel to meet and exceed our family's expectations. As noted by many happy reviewers, we agree that the location is excellent. Just a block away from the Metro, and some good restaurants and a 7 Eleven close by. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast was excellent with many choices of both warm and cold options. There was plenty of seating areas despite the waves of guests. Our room was comfortable for our family of four. Having two double beds and a pull-out in the living room gave us plenty of room to be comfortable.

To save on parking fees, I was able to use SpotHero.com to find parking at half the cost of the hotel's. We just parked our car during the whole of our stay and took the Metro and cabs to get around. The parking garage I found was just a ten minute walk away.

My family only used the pool once since we were too busy with the local sights. It needs to be updated since its lining/paint is peeling. This is the only reason for the less than perfect score. Otherwise, this hotel was excellent!

Room Tip: Room 601, a double room with a separate living room was quiet and private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msbucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi msbucho,
It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and you found our amenities satisfying. Congratulations on your parking find! What a smart and hassle-free way to enjoy the city by parking your car and utilizing the Metro. We hope to see you again on a return trip.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    207
    87
    35
    25
See reviews for
247
66
30
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Park, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

If you're planning a trip to DC this is a great hotel to consider. It's very close to a Metro station, which can quickly get you to a number of attractions in downtown DC such as the National Mall. This particular Residence Inn is recently renovated and is very well-decorated and clean. The lobby is inviting and encourages you to mingle with the friendly staff or other guests as if you were in your own home. The free breakfast options are spot on: choose from 3 types of waffles, sausage, fresh fruit and even an eggs benedict style dish with spinach. During the day, you can find light appetizers such as meats, cheese, crackers, fresh cookies/brownies and fruit spritzers. The rooms were very clean, the kitchen had all the utensils you might need, and the beds were very comfy. The hotel is also a 5-min cab ride away from Georgetown where you can do some quality shopping, catch a movie or grab something to eat at the top-rated restaurants. This Residence Inn is one of my favorite locations, and I've been to several Residence Inns around the country!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Watergate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Michele T,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to the area. Yes, our location can't be beat and we do strive to provide offering that our guests will enjoy. Our kitchen team will be happy to hear your kind review of the breakfast. Great tip -- The Watergate views are wonderful.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

What a pleasant experience! Did not plan to use Valet service, however, the gentleman was so personable and accommodating...I decided, why not! He was at my car and greeted me so quickly, thought I was some sort of celebrity (or somebody)...lol. Enjoyed the quiet atmosphere of the lobby and professionalism of the desk clerk. The manager (Mr. Tindell) was present and acknowledged our party's presence and made himself available for any assistance we needed (nice touch). Overall the room surpassed our expectations, nicely decorated (but not too much fluff) and spacious enough to meet our needs. Took advantage of the refreshments and variety of breakfast selections. Understand this was a newly renovated hotel - love the look...will definitely visit again!!

Room Tip: Higher floors obviously have better view of city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi Cindy M,

You are a celebrity! At least you are to us here at Residence Inn by Marriott at Foggy Bottom. We do strive to make all of our guests feel special and are pleased to know you felt that way. We are proud of the result of our renovations and believe we've created a warm and inviting atmoshphere. We hope to see you on your next visit to the nation's capitol.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

If you're visiting with family, this is a great location to serve as headquarters.

This particular Residence Inn has a decent breakfast and is super close to the Foggy Bottom Metro stop (blue line).

Also, if you are a family or couple or friends who like to snack healthy, there is a Whole Foods across the street from the Foggy Bottom Metro stop and a short walk from the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank joshua15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi Joshua 15,

Thank you for taking a minute to comment on your stay. As you correctly stated, quick access to the Foggy Botom Metro, offerings for the health conscious as well as a number of fantastic restaurants and other offerings are just some of the reasons folks stay with us. We are very happy you found us well situated. Hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

A few minutes from Metro with car safely parked , Staff just could not be more helpful, informative and courteous lovely room with added advantage of not only a good breakfast but also enjoyable evening food Mon - Thursday with a beer or glass of wine. Walked the Mall paid respects to JFK even saw Mr Obama , then in no time back in the comfortable Residence Inn

Room Tip: All rooms well sound proofed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnboyrh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi johnboyrh2,
What a whirlwind tour you had! We are happy that at the end of the day you came back to the comforts of your room and our amenities. Our Monday thru Thursday social is designed to help our guests relax after a hectic day of taking in the sights, business meetings or other activities. Glad you enjoyed it.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linton, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We got this room for $89.00 per night on Hotels Tonight. Free Breakfast was better than most. Best Hotel coffee I have ever had. Eggs/spinach Benedict was great. Staff was beyond friendly. I did not pay to park ... Won't pay 40 bucks per day to park ANYWHERE :) one block from metro one block from Whole Foods which came in handy ( I have food restrictions )... The rate was $265 on all other sites linked by trip advisor... I feel like I hit the hotel lottery with this one. Both elevators were working fine for our entire stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi Kim C,

What a steal of a deal! We were happy to have you and hope to see you again soon. We make it a point to provide fresh coffee for our guests 24/7 and are all smiles at your review. Our LGSA team will be so happy to hear it. Here's to finding another deal for your next visit with us.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon Vermont
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed a week. Great customer service. Great breakfast, fruit, coffee cereal. And a hot meal eggs meat. Waffles. All the Hotel staff was very nice and helpful. Hope we get another chance to go to Washington,Dc and we will stay there a again. Close to everything, Metro and bus. Shopping. (food)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vermont-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hello Vermont-Lou,

"Close to everything..." is how we often describe our property. We are pleased you found that description to be true. We consider our breakfast second to none and are happy you enjoyed that too. Thanks for sharing your impressions.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#38 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Property: Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Address: 801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing