We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Ranked #87 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

My son and I had a wonderful stay at the Foggy Bottom Residence Inn. Great neighborhood, convenient location for seeing all the sights in Washington. Our two-room suite, with kitchen facility, was absolutely spotless, freshly decorated, and very comfortable. The included breakfast offerings were well above the norm for many hotels. Most of all, the staff was outstanding. They really make you feel like you are their most important guest. If you plan to be in DC for a few days, look no further than the Foggy Bottom Residence Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Tony P.-

Thank you for your wonderful response. We are so delighted that you and your son had a wonderful experience while staying with us. It is our every intention to make every guest feel the way that you both did. Each guest becomes apart of our family when you walk through the doors, because each of our guest are the "most important."

Please let us know when you decide to make a return visit as we would be delighted to have you here again.

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    219
    91
    39
    26
See reviews for
267
70
32
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

The large comfortable suites, the attentive staff and location make the Marriott Residence Inn at Foggy Bottom an ideal hotel for a DC weekend especially if your plans include any activities at the Kennedy Center. It also not far from National Mall, White House and Smithsonian.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear JerryCarol,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We were so excited to have you stay here during your time in DC. Our hope is that you were able to enjoy the festivities that you had to attend. The renovated suites really do make for such a wonderful room experience giving you many of the pleasures of being home.

We here at this property look forward to being able to serve our guest while they are here and providing them with the best service possible. Being in the heart of many attractions here in DC and with the hotel being close to the metro makes many of the attractions easy to get to and/or in waling distance.

We look forward to you returning again and please let us know if there is anything that we can do for you in the future. Your return is always welcome.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel was newly renovated so everything was very new and clean. I loved the amount of space in the room. There was a full kitchen (minus an oven but did have a stovetop) and the beds were off into a room so you were able to enjoy the living room area as well. The staff was very friendly, attentive and accommodating. The prices were very reasonable as well. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Tiffany B.-

Thank you for your response. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay while you were here in DC. Of course all the things you mentioned are those that we hope that meets our guest needs and makes you feel that you are home away from home.

We look forward to your return visit and please let us know how we might be of service in the futrue. Happy Holidays!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Room was spacious (suite) and clean. Staff was super-friendly. It's right near George Washington University and there's a Whole Foods a few blocks away. I believe it's in a residential neighborhood, so it's quiet. All in all, a fine hotel and next time I'm in DC, I would return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Joran C.,

Thank you for your comments and we're glad that you had an enjoyable stay while here in DC. We are happy that you liked the newly renovated rooms (suites) and the space that each of the suites have.

Being in the Foggy Bottom residential area makes for a more homey feel but yet having access to all that the city has to offer. With us being in the heart of all the DC attractions makes for such a great experience for someone choosing our hotel.

Please let us know how we might be of assistance as you plan for your next return trip. We would be so happy to have you join us again where we strive to always serve our guest with exceptional service thus creating a lasting memomories.

Thanks again,

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a very nice suite and we thoroughly enjoyed being there. Dinner at the Italian restaurant across the street was delicious and we also enjoyed other recommended restaurants nearby. Everyone in the hotel was so very helpful and knew us by name. Only one elevator was no problem - we were given a third floor suite and the walk up and down two flights of stairs was good exercise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Lawson A,

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you had a wonderful stay and was able to partake in some of what the city has to offer. We are centrally located to many of the attractions here in DC which makes for ones stay even that more enjoyable. We are happy that you enjoyed the Italian restaurant (Notti Bianche). Many of our guest feel the same about that restaurant and some of the other suggested places offered to them at check in.

Hopefully by the time that you decide to return, our renovations will be complete and you won't have to use the stairs as a means of exercise but get the chance to take advantage of the newly renovated Fitness Center which is located on the lobby area.

Thank you again for your stay and we look forward to seeing you again as our return guest.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Sad to hear about the review below me. My boyfriend and I stayed from 11/7/-11/11 for a long weekend and had the complete opposite stay than that of the patron below, it was SUPERB! The location is perfect, walking distance to the monuments (15min), metro and whole foods (both 2-3min away). We arrived later thursday night and were promptly checked in by the lovely desk clerk, I forget her name (but she wore a head scarf) and she went above and beyond to make sure we were enjoying our stay and our needs were met. We were able to print out our boarding passes on the lobby computer, quite helpful! The included breakfast each morning was a huge help as well, we went down about 8-830 every morning and for the most part found sufficient amounts of food left, however this was during extended weekend breakfast hours. The hotel is newly renovated, the rooms are GREAT! Modern, spacious, beautiful styling. The in room kitchenette was great and the shower stalls are a nice change over tubs. The bed was so comfy and the sectional in the living was cozy as well! No issues with housekeeping (or lack thereof) or staff. Please keep in mind, only one elevator is currently working due to renovations, but this was not an issue, we knew already and were never inconvenienced by it. I would definitely stay here again when I come back to DC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Magbox,

Thank you for your review and feedback. It is our every intention to ensure that each of our guest have a wonderful experience and it will always be our commitment to provide that exceptional customer service as you mentioned.

We are in the final stages of our renovations and know how important it is for all of our guest to experience everything we have to offer upon the completion of the renovation.

I am so glad that you and your boyfriend had a completely different experience and we will continue to grow and become even better as we receive feedback from our guest of areas of opportunity. We use this to share with our teams to serve as a training experience.

Washington DC has so much to offer and with us being in the heart of it all makes for such an enjoyable trip for many that visit us. We look forward to your return visit and hope that we can exceed your expectations once again. We pride ourselves in being able to serve great guest such as the two of you.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Please see an email that I sent to Residence Inn concerning a recent stay at this location. Aside from the good location to GW Unversity and the Kennedy Center, I wouldn't recommend this property. This comes from someone who never writes negative reviews. Once I receive Marriott's response, I'll post their comments here too.

We stayed at the Residence Inn Foggy Bottom (Washington DC) from 11/7-11/9/2013. I typically don't complain about experiences, but this time you need to know about it. On 11/8, we forgot to remove the Do Not Disturb sign on our door. Thus, the housekeeping person could not clean our room. We approached the Housekeeping Manager on the 9th floor and asked her to have it cleaned. We were told that it wasn't a problem. We also told her that we had 4 people in the room and required 4 towels, since there were only 3 there the previous night. She promised us that it would be taken care of. We also asked Andrea at the front desk to ensure it was cleaned and she said that it would be done. Needless to say, the room was not serviced.

On 11/9, we went down for breakfast and found that there was barely any food and you were very much understaffed in the breakfast area. It was not even very late in the morning and people were waiting around for refills, which mostly didn't come. There weren't even napkins or regular syrup available.

We then checked out and upon returning home that evening realized that my Wife left her pearl earrings and tank watch on the night stand in the room. We called and spoke to Miriam. She said that housekeeping left for the day, but she'd report it to Andrea at the front desk and Luis the Housekeeping Manager. She said that I should expect a call back the morning of 11/10. We never received a call, so I called back later in the day to speak to Miriam again. She said that the Housekeeping Manager wasn't in due to a family issue and we'd hear back on 11/11. Once again, we didn't receive a call back on 11/11. So, I called back in the afternoon and was transferred to Luis.

He went to the room and said that nothing was there. Of course, there wouldn't be anything there. It was already 60 hours later.

Initially, when I spoke with Luis, he said that the room hadn't been cleaned yet. So, it sounded like there was a good chance that the earrings and watch might be there. When he returned my call to say that they weren't found, he said that he spoke to the housekeeper for that floor and she didn't find anything. If it hadn't been cleaned, then why would the housekeeper have any idea if the earrings were there?

Honestly, the story sounds fishy and my Wife is now out pearl earrings and a watch.

Luis did offer me some Marriott points. Points?? Why would I want points when we had such a horrible experience and personal valuables were missing?

We will never stay at a Marriott again. I'm so disappointed with this experience.

Oh, by the way, the 2nd elevator has been out of service for months. We knew that from Tripadvisor reviews. So, it wasn't a surprise. However, some guests we spoke to had no idea and were very upset about it.

I'd really like someone to find those earrings and watch. For now, I'm going to post this experience on Tripadvisor for everyone to see. It's no surprise to your staff that we had a bad experience and the lack of return calls is a clear indication that they just didn't care.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bermuda6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Bermuda6,

Thanks again for your feedback and again we sincerely apologize for any Inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay. We hope that you had a safe return and that you received the items found and sent to you via Fed Ex.

Again, we apologize for any miscommunication as it is always are desire to ensure that each of our guest are taken care of. Our goal is to always serve our guest with the highest level of customer service.

Please let us know if we can ever be of service to you in the future.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#37 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#56 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Property: Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Address: 801 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing