We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Nearby Hotels
$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
$328
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
$404
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$238
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$293
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$463
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$375
$271
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (723)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveler rating
319
237
97
42
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
237
97
42
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhole foodsfoggy bottomkennedy centerliving roomfull kitchengw campusnew hampshirerooftop poolwatergate hotelfree breakfastmetro stoptrader joeswithin walking distanceblue linefront desk stafftwo queen bedsyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
394 - 399 of 723 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Room was spacious (suite) and clean. Staff was super-friendly. It's right near George Washington University and there's a Whole Foods a few blocks away. I believe it's in a residential neighborhood, so it's quiet. All in all, a fine hotel and next time I'm in DC, I would return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Joran C.,

Thank you for your comments and we're glad that you had an enjoyable stay while here in DC. We are happy that you liked the newly renovated rooms (suites) and the space that each of the suites have.

Being in the Foggy Bottom residential area makes for a more homey feel but yet having access to all that the city has to offer. With us being in the heart of all the DC attractions makes for such a great experience for someone choosing our hotel.

Please let us know how we might be of assistance as you plan for your next return trip. We would be so happy to have you join us again where we strive to always serve our guest with exceptional service thus creating a lasting memomories.

Thanks again,

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a very nice suite and we thoroughly enjoyed being there. Dinner at the Italian restaurant across the street was delicious and we also enjoyed other recommended restaurants nearby. Everyone in the hotel was so very helpful and knew us by name. Only one elevator was no problem - we were given a third floor suite and the walk up and down two flights of stairs was good exercise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Lawson A,

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you had a wonderful stay and was able to partake in some of what the city has to offer. We are centrally located to many of the attractions here in DC which makes for ones stay even that more enjoyable. We are happy that you enjoyed the Italian restaurant (Notti Bianche). Many of our guest feel the same about that restaurant and some of the other suggested places offered to them at check in.

Hopefully by the time that you decide to return, our renovations will be complete and you won't have to use the stairs as a means of exercise but get the chance to take advantage of the newly renovated Fitness Center which is located on the lobby area.

Thank you again for your stay and we look forward to seeing you again as our return guest.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Sad to hear about the review below me. My boyfriend and I stayed from 11/7/-11/11 for a long weekend and had the complete opposite stay than that of the patron below, it was SUPERB! The location is perfect, walking distance to the monuments (15min), metro and whole foods (both 2-3min away). We arrived later thursday night and were promptly checked in by the lovely desk clerk, I forget her name (but she wore a head scarf) and she went above and beyond to make sure we were enjoying our stay and our needs were met. We were able to print out our boarding passes on the lobby computer, quite helpful! The included breakfast each morning was a huge help as well, we went down about 8-830 every morning and for the most part found sufficient amounts of food left, however this was during extended weekend breakfast hours. The hotel is newly renovated, the rooms are GREAT! Modern, spacious, beautiful styling. The in room kitchenette was great and the shower stalls are a nice change over tubs. The bed was so comfy and the sectional in the living was cozy as well! No issues with housekeeping (or lack thereof) or staff. Please keep in mind, only one elevator is currently working due to renovations, but this was not an issue, we knew already and were never inconvenienced by it. I would definitely stay here again when I come back to DC.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Magbox,

Thank you for your review and feedback. It is our every intention to ensure that each of our guest have a wonderful experience and it will always be our commitment to provide that exceptional customer service as you mentioned.

We are in the final stages of our renovations and know how important it is for all of our guest to experience everything we have to offer upon the completion of the renovation.

I am so glad that you and your boyfriend had a completely different experience and we will continue to grow and become even better as we receive feedback from our guest of areas of opportunity. We use this to share with our teams to serve as a training experience.

Washington DC has so much to offer and with us being in the heart of it all makes for such an enjoyable trip for many that visit us. We look forward to your return visit and hope that we can exceed your expectations once again. We pride ourselves in being able to serve great guest such as the two of you.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Please see an email that I sent to Residence Inn concerning a recent stay at this location. Aside from the good location to GW Unversity and the Kennedy Center, I wouldn't recommend this property. This comes from someone who never writes negative reviews. Once I receive Marriott's response, I'll post their comments here too.

We stayed at the Residence Inn Foggy Bottom (Washington DC) from 11/7-11/9/2013. I typically don't complain about experiences, but this time you need to know about it. On 11/8, we forgot to remove the Do Not Disturb sign on our door. Thus, the housekeeping person could not clean our room. We approached the Housekeeping Manager on the 9th floor and asked her to have it cleaned. We were told that it wasn't a problem. We also told her that we had 4 people in the room and required 4 towels, since there were only 3 there the previous night. She promised us that it would be taken care of. We also asked Andrea at the front desk to ensure it was cleaned and she said that it would be done. Needless to say, the room was not serviced.

On 11/9, we went down for breakfast and found that there was barely any food and you were very much understaffed in the breakfast area. It was not even very late in the morning and people were waiting around for refills, which mostly didn't come. There weren't even napkins or regular syrup available.

We then checked out and upon returning home that evening realized that my Wife left her pearl earrings and tank watch on the night stand in the room. We called and spoke to Miriam. She said that housekeeping left for the day, but she'd report it to Andrea at the front desk and Luis the Housekeeping Manager. She said that I should expect a call back the morning of 11/10. We never received a call, so I called back later in the day to speak to Miriam again. She said that the Housekeeping Manager wasn't in due to a family issue and we'd hear back on 11/11. Once again, we didn't receive a call back on 11/11. So, I called back in the afternoon and was transferred to Luis.

He went to the room and said that nothing was there. Of course, there wouldn't be anything there. It was already 60 hours later.

Initially, when I spoke with Luis, he said that the room hadn't been cleaned yet. So, it sounded like there was a good chance that the earrings and watch might be there. When he returned my call to say that they weren't found, he said that he spoke to the housekeeper for that floor and she didn't find anything. If it hadn't been cleaned, then why would the housekeeper have any idea if the earrings were there?

Honestly, the story sounds fishy and my Wife is now out pearl earrings and a watch.

Luis did offer me some Marriott points. Points?? Why would I want points when we had such a horrible experience and personal valuables were missing?

We will never stay at a Marriott again. I'm so disappointed with this experience.

Oh, by the way, the 2nd elevator has been out of service for months. We knew that from Tripadvisor reviews. So, it wasn't a surprise. However, some guests we spoke to had no idea and were very upset about it.

I'd really like someone to find those earrings and watch. For now, I'm going to post this experience on Tripadvisor for everyone to see. It's no surprise to your staff that we had a bad experience and the lack of return calls is a clear indication that they just didn't care.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bermuda6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Bermuda6,

Thanks again for your feedback and again we sincerely apologize for any Inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay. We hope that you had a safe return and that you received the items found and sent to you via Fed Ex.

Again, we apologize for any miscommunication as it is always are desire to ensure that each of our guest are taken care of. Our goal is to always serve our guest with the highest level of customer service.

Please let us know if we can ever be of service to you in the future.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you want to stay in the heart of the city, this is the place. The hotel is one block from the Foggy Bottom / GWU Metro in a residential area. Restaurants and Whole Foods are nearby, and the White House, Smithsonian, National Mall are all within an easy 15 minute walk. The rooms are spacious, each has a small kitchen, and there is a great desk/working area. The guest room carpeting needs to be replaced. The air conditioning system is old and the fan can be a bit loud but don't let that deter you. There is a generous hot/cold breakfast in the lobby each morning and beer/wine/noshes a couple of nights a week. The staff was helpful and always said hello. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarleyTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear HarleyTwo,

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time while visiting here in Washington DC. We're happy to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy the city and what it has to offer. As you stated, your location is in the heart of many attractions which makes for a guest stay to be enjoyable, relaxed and stress free.

As you are aware, as we are concluding our renovation, many of the items mentioned are in the works of being updated as well. With our breakfast and even social hours, we value this time as it gives the opportunity to meet and interact with guest like yourself.

We look forward to your return visit and please let us know how we might be of assistance for the future.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews