We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #59 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“No complaints”
Reviewed January 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Residence Inn for 4 nights over Thanksgiving and we were extremely happy with our stay. Here are some of the things we liked:
- Very close to the Metro - we used it a LOT
- We asked for a room high up and we were given a room on the top floor - so no noise from the nearby train tracks.
- Our room was very spacious! Full kitchen, eating area, sitting area, bedroom area, bathroom.
- Nice shop located in the lobby to buy snacks, drinks, wine, souviners, etc.
- Breakfast was included and was very good. Not too crowded until the days after Thanksgiving when it was so packed with families that we brought our food back up to our room to eat.
- Complementary dinner buffet was served twice while we were there.
- It's within easy walking distance to the National Mall, Capitol, museums, etc.
- There were several small places to eat nearby such as Potbelly's, Starbucks, etc. but we didn't get a chance to try any out.
- I wish we would have had time to try out the nice swimming pool and work out room.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting DC. We would stay there again or maybe next time we will stay in a different part of town just to experience a new area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoPokerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    396
    107
    29
    12
See reviews for
540
142
36
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

i stayed with my family over the christmas break. we loved the hotel .the staff was very friendly , the rooms were clean and efficient ,the hot breakfast was amazing , well located , the fireplace in the lobby very welcoming ,the gym all top of the line equiptment , the laundry room very helpful to have , the complimentary dinner delicous and healthy !! my kids loved the hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suelpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Super value for the money. Really great breakfasts (not just continental) and even dinners a few times a week. Friendly staff but not bell-hops. Rooms are large and fully equipped but a bit sterile. Kitchenettes are great with most conveniences. Free WIFI is great. Location is very good. For travelers with families (especially young children) this hotel is a real winner.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PugPericles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

We had a great corner room, with a view of the capitol. We were right next to a railroad track, but the good windows and being 11 floors up made the train sounds nonproblematic. It was nice to have a parking garage where we could just leave the car and not have to worry about it; $30 for overnight parking let us stay there until 4PM the day of departure. I wouldn't have wanted to drive a large SUV into the narrow entrance to the garage, though; our sedan was a tight fit. A couple of Metro stations within walking distance made it easy to get around without the car. The Natl Mall was an easy walk. Breakfast buffet had lots of options. Our room was chilly and setting the thermostat higher didn't seem to do anything; if we'd been staying longer we would've complained.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank must-keep-moving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

A last minute change from one of the Crystal City Marriots because our teenage daughter was joining us. We were able to get a one bedroom suite with breakfast for not much more than we were paying in Crystal City. Only 2 blocks from the Metro, same line as GWU & Reagan Airport. Very convenient. Room was updated and clean. Water pressure was good in shower & bedding was clean. Breakfast each day in the lobby was good, but very crowded. Fresh coffee in the lobby is better than the pods they give you in the rooms. Very secure, you need your key card to go anywhere. Nice gym & small pool. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfp10
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

I recently stayed at this hotel while visiting Washington DC on vacation. To put it simply, it was the best hotel experience I have had!

The hotel is located a block south of the orange/blue line stop Federal Center SW, which is a stop over from the L'Enfant Plaza stop, where the green and yellow lines run. The area around the hotel is a corporate area and is very clean and safe. It is also located right south of the Capitol area, and all the museums and monuments in that area.

The hotel appears to be very new. The room was modern and comfortable. It had a couch and chair, and a kitchenette including a sink, refrigerator, and dishwasher. The bathroom and vanity were spacious.

What really set this hotel apart was on Monday through Thursdays they offer a free buffet breakfast and dinner to the guests at the hotel! I have never had this before. It was of good quality, and I was allowed to have seconds!

Little hint: When walking north on 3rd ave, you get a gorgeous view of the Capitol, especially at sunset.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Hotel was way too far from restaurants and things to do for a solo traveler. The front desk has menus for delivered meals..some of which had decent food, prices and fast delivery. I've stayed in different Residence Inns...this earns the least stars of any I have stayed in and is very plain. No views to be had, internet in rooms is not wireless, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable, kitchen was fully equipped but not sure where one would get groceries. The breakfast is good, the evening "meal"...not so much. All in all, doesn't meet the standards of a Marriott Residence Inn--more like a college dorm.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
914 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,510 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,458 reviews
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
227 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Property: Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing