We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for Sight Seeing.....friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #60 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Location for Sight Seeing.....friendly staff”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here in early June and was quite pleased. The rooms were clean, spacious, with a kitchenette and a couch. The breakfast was typical hotel fare, with bagels/sausage/potatoes/fruit but all prepared nicely. Evening meals are provided on Monday thru Wednesday and while it is a "light" dinner, it too was well prepared. The subway station was around the corner and provided access to Arlington, Smithsonian's, Capitol and other areas about town. The subway was not the least "threatening" and except for one slightly crazy man ranting about the Vietnam War the rides were uneventful. Parking was a bit pricey (over $40 a day) but in line with other hotels. Fairly quiet but there is a train that runs just behind the hotel that can be a bit noisy. The staff was EXCELLENT......friendly, helpful and just genuinely nice people. Restaurants are a bit sparse in the area so plan dinners accordingly. Overall, I would stay there again without any hesitation and recommend it to anyone who asks.

Room Tip: Higher is good......we were on the top floor.....very little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mainframer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    388
    104
    28
    12
See reviews for
522
142
35
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We loved our stay there. They have a free breakfast every morning plus free evening receptions three times during the week. It is conveniently located to walk to most of the attractions and if you would rather ride it is very close to a Metro station. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The parking facility is covered and gated to insure your auto's safety. If we decide to visit again we will definitely stay @ 333 E Sreet SW-Residence Inn by Marriott.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet location and were pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We spent 1 week and found it to be close to the Metro station, close to walking to the major attractions. Grocery store a convenient distance. Great breakfasts every day, filling "light dinners" on Mon, Tues and Wed. Our room faced E street but no noise problems. I had read reviews before our trip about noise from the trains and if we had a room on the "back side" of the building it could have been a problem. We didn't use housekeeping much but our room was clean, comfortable. Staff all very pleasant, helpful. We used the laundry room and the machines get a lot of use. 2 were out of service, the detergent dispensing machine wasn't working so the hotel just purchased a large liquid detergent and left it out for every ones use.We would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Have a room facing E street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The staff at the hotel was friendly. The food service staff at the breakfast buffet and evening receptions were always saying, "good morning" or "good evening." They made you feel at home. It was welcoming especially after returning to the hotel after a long day.

The room was spacious with the kitchenette and living area. And, the bathroom counter top was large so two people could spread out there toiletries. This came in handy especially when staying long-term. It is nothing fancy but you know what you get at a Residence Inn for so for a one week stay it was very comfortable.

There is a store in the hotel with good hours and lots of things to buy including souvenirs and food. There is a pizza place next door that sells by the slice so it was convenient.

It's not easy walking distance from the main tourist attractions but you can walk to the metro station. There are mostly businesses surrounding the hotel.

I would stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 111Kelly111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
354 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I had a free dinner of pulled pork and a free hot breakfast as well. Management provided great service and the hotel was clean and safe. It is just blocks from the capital building and a block from the Federal Metro stop.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougTMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Spacious room and just 1.5 blocks to the metro. Hotel staff were most helpful in assisting with directions, attraction suggestions and a recommendation for the best dinner we had in DC. The main drawback is the lack of evening restaurants in the area. There is a pizza place next door that sufficed at the end of a very long day of sightseeing. Beds are comfortable and hot tub/spa is a necessity after all that walking you will do. Complimentary breakfast buffet has good selections.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dasibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

1st Family Trip to DC - Just got home from a 6 night stay for a family of 4. We had the smallest room and used the sofa bed. The kids were comfortable and we had plenty of space - you are there for the sights, not the room. The hotel offers FREE grocery shopping for you, so we used the kitchen for 3 meals that week. It was perfect!

We needed more towels and washcloths, we received immediate service at 10pm when we first arrived. The room was picked up and cleaned as often as we needed it. No complaints!

FREE daily breakfast was a huge plus for us and FREE dinners on certain nights. That was a huge time saver and others mentioned, it was a good selection of choices for meals. The staff at mealtime were very friendly and provided excellent service.

Pool, and hot tub are a must for traveling with kids. They loved it! Us adults enjoyed the hot tub and the terrace just outside for lounging. There was an exercise room and laundry room (now it's $2/wash and $2/dry), save money and bring your own soap. They use HE washers.

Next door was Pizza Authentica and I wouldn't called it authentic, but it was good and a great price and open late if you arrive late. Gelato is pricey but we heard it was good too. On around the corner and across the street are cafe's and delis that are open during the week. The Metro is right around the corner. As others mentioned you are within walking distance to The Mall and the Capitol Bldg.

Our room was located near the train, but we didn't hear it hardly at all. The freeway is nearby, but we didn't hear it either.

Concierge was great for signing up for tours and very helpful.

Room Tip: Floor 2 is where the laundry, gym, and pool are located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lila2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Property: Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing