We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #43 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great for families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed six nights in a two bedroom suite. The location is convenient, two blocks from the Federal Center Metro station, 10 minute walk to Capitol, four blocks to Safeway grocery story. Staff was very friendly since the check in. Cleaning ladies at the breakfast buffet were polite and always smiling. We didn't find any problem for eating since we only ate lunch out while we were sightseeing. Hot breakfast was included in the price and we cooked our own dinners. The store downstairs was a life saver the first night after a late arrival. We could buy sodas, beer, cookies and microwave food.
I would highly recommend this hotel for families who don't mind walking.
PS. My husband did not like the buffet. He would have liked cheese, ham and bread breakfast but the rest of the family (including our 1 1/2 year toddler) agree that the chocolate muffins were delicious!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GinaReyesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    343
    88
    23
    11
See reviews for
474
127
30
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

2nd trip to this hotel in a month. 6 night stay in a king- studio. 3rd floor room was on street side, facing the NASA building, so no issue with train noise. Gym is well appointed and pool is nice for a dip, great if you have kids. Breakfast is standard fare with scrambled eggs, some type of potato and some type of meat (sausage, bacon, etc), plus cereal, fruit, pastries, etc. Coffee in the lobby all day or Starbucks is around the corner and down the block about 1/4 mile (next to Metro stop, Federal Center SW). Front desk allowed for a late check out as I had a early evening flight. Nikko at the front desk was particularly helpful. Only blemish is the lack of dinner options; pizza place next door but that's about it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skippack, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Let me start by saying if you have read my other reviews this trip included my family of 6. 4 Kids ages 13,12,10 and 8 at time of travel. We traveled here for a 3 day 2 night trip to see the sights. The hotel was extremely clean, very safe and secure and the staff was pleasant and helpful with any questions you may have had. The room had very comfortable bedding and the quickly brought us extra sheets and pillows. Over the years we have begun to bring a twin blow up bed on our trips from Dicks that we spent $30 on. Best $30 spent. As kids get older the sharing of a sofa bed is not exciting to 2 older brothers. The parking was tight as a gnats ".ss". We have a Buick Enclave and I scratched it on the wall just pulling into the parking garage. Probably somewhat my fault but by the looks of the wall it seems as if scrapes pulling in are a common occurrence. Just be aware. The breakfast buffet is second to none. All kinds of choices. If you need SOY milk there is a CVS 2 blocks. Now for the sightseeing. The American Indian Museum is 2.5 blocks. Science Museum is 4.5 blocks door to door. Natural History and American History are about 7 blocks. All walking distance even with young kids. For the Lincoln Memorial, White House or the Zoo EMBRACE! the METRO. The METRO is safe, fast and super convenient. $18 per person for unlimited trips for a day. Well worth the money. There is a metro stop 3 minutes on foot from the hotel on the Blue Line. (Hold your breath for this next part!) We used the Metro to go from our hotel to the Zoo, Then back to Smithsonian, then to dinner 1 stop past our hotel, then back up to the stop by GWU Hospital to walk to the Lincoln Memorial, then from the Federal triangle stop back the the hotel for the night. All in 1 day! Imagine trying to cover all of this walking with 4 kids. Others have written that there was a concern regarding close dining options? Yes there are not many choices within 50 feet but if you are willing to trek 10 minutes on the METRO there is an abundance of options. 1 stop further on the Blue Line out from the capitol, literally 6 minutes total travel time is a downtown street with 10-12 restaurants. Once again use the METRO. We loved the hotel and the trip overall. I would highly recommend this hotel and DC for a family trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank AlwaysDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Jay, New York, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We chose the Residence Inn Washington D.C./Capitol for our April Break because we wanted to use Marriott Reward Points and needed a suite for our family of four. I had read the reviews and was slightly concerned about the apparent lack of dining options, but booked it on faith. So glad I did! The daily, excellent buffet breakfast and 3 nights of complimentary dinner amply fed us when we weren't grabbing a bite at food carts and museum restaurants. The hotel is in easy walking distance to the Smithsonian museums and the Capitol and a good, healthy walk to everything else we wanted to do. The Metro is nearby, as well, and a queue of taxis is right outside the door, so getting around was never an issue, The staff was exemplary, the pool, small but fine, the exercise room was well equipped, the coin-op laundry greatly appreciated and cheap ($2/load to wash AND dry) and the sundries shop off the lobby had EVERYTHING we needed, including wine(: The ONLY negative was the pullout bed was narrow, so one of our children camped on the floor. Next time we'll book the two bedroom/two bathroom suite for which we would have to pay, but it will be worth it. The hotel was clean, quiet and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Even with a freight train nearby, we all slept well in room 1216. Can't wait for our next D.C. adventure!

Room Tip: We always request high and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie-Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Went for Cherry Blossom weekend and it was nice to have a refuge several blocks from the mayhem of the National Mall. Only about a 10 minute walk from the Air and Space Museum and the Capitol building, it is located near the tracks (def ask for an upper room near the front of the building). Clean and spacious, no complaints whatsoever about the rooms. Keurig coffee makers in the rooms and coffee all day in the lobby. The entire staff deserve very high marks for their customer service . My mother-in-law was impressed by their service at the front desk and tipped 2 members of the staff a couple bucks. An hour later a complimentary bottle of wine arrived at out room, compliments of the staff. You don't teach that kind of thing. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this area of DC. Very good breakfast selection also. Only one complaint there, it was the same everyday. I however, did not use the parking service for 35 a night. It would have cost me 140 for 4 days at the hotel, I found a lot 4 blocks away (6 minute walk) that cost me 60 for 4 days. I agree with many other reviewers that it is easier to use the Metro than trying to find parking in town. So I just parked it and took the Metro the whole weekend. Nice safe and secure hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor near front of building to avoid train noise, they don't run too often but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheRoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We visited DC for 5 days during our spring break. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great every morning with a good selection of items. We got back in time to do the nighttime meal one night and it was delicious also. The area is surrounded by a lot of office buildings so it's a little deserted on the weekend, but even getting back late we never felt afraid. The metro is close by and there's also a CVS and McDonald's. There are some other restaurants nearby, but most don't stay open late. We did eat at the pizza place next door which stays open later and it was very good. The way the room is set up is very handy for families. Having a seperate area to sit, relax, and watch TV is nice when others are ready for bed. The kitchen area was handy also.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig_Family5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to stay. 3 blocks south of independence avenue. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Pool and washing machine all good. But very few restaurants within walking distance and after a long day of touring that is what is required.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Cazza350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#77 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,187 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Courtyard Washington Convention ...
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,516 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Property: Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing