We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #64 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Albany
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing stay!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My daughter and i just spent 2 nights at this hotel and we only have great things to stay. We arrived close to 11AM on the first day and we were able to get right into our room. It was a studio suite (handicapped) and it had plenty of room and was just lovely. The front desk staff was consistently helpful and welcoming. No request was too small (extra shampoo) or strange (ice for an injured foot). They had great suggestions regarding our itinerary and gave great directions. We were able to leave our bags on our last day and did not pick them up until after 5pm. They helped us get a cab to Union station. The concierge Jonathan made some dinner suggestions near the Spy Museum and we enjoyed an INCREDIBLE meal at Ping Pong (including a free cocktail thanks to a coupon from Jonathan). Breakfast was more than adequate and there was plenty of space to enjoy. We never got a chance to enjoy the pool. The little shop in the hotel gave us a bit of snacking when needed. We did not worry about food in the area because we out and about at dinner time both nights. The hotel was very convenient to the Metro as well as the Mall/Capitol. We even came back to the hotel in the middle of the day on one day so that we could rest for a while after a ton of walking -- loved the convenience! We got an amazing deal on Washington.org but I would have paid even more for our stay (ok, maybe not).

Room Tip: Though we were next to the elevators, the small "ping" of the doors did not bother us. Di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    401
    111
    30
    12
See reviews for
548
143
35
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel staff was very helpful... Sean the concierge took great care of us. Making great family friendly suggestions. The best was Victors tour. Femi and Dewon at the front desk were also very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was a perfect hotel for us! It's a short taxi ride from Reagan Airport and located only blocks from the National Mall and the Smithsonian Museums......also within walking distance of the Botanical Garden and the Capitol. Though the nearby delis close for the evening and weekends, the pizza place next door was excellent, and there's a Potbelly Sandwich Shop on 4th street about a 3 minute walk from the hotel. All of our gang gave the reasonably-priced subs and milkshakes from this shop an "Awesome" rating!

I didn't anticipate how large and nice the room would be! My husband and I were traveling with our two grandsons, and the room provided plenty of space for us. The queen sized bed was comfortable for adults, and the pull-out sofa bed was both roomy and comfortable enough for the 9 and 12 year-olds to share. Having a door separating the sink/vanity area and the shower/toilet area was most helpful.

I never expected such a complete kitchen.....a full size refrigerator with an ice maker, a two burner ceramic stove, a dishwasher (complete with detergent), a microwave, a coffee pot, garbage disposer, and dishes/stainless/glasses/mugs for four. Though we didn't do any cooking, the supplies were adequate to do so.

The pool and whirlpool were small, but they were a lifesaver to wear off some energy the boys had pent up after a long day at the museums! We also greatly appreciated having towels available poolside.

The complimentary breakfast buffet was open early for those of us who like to get an early start to the day, and there was a wide selection of food that was served hot and frequently refilled. From fresh fruit and yogurt to eggs and breakfast meats, to waffles, muffins, and danish that appeal to those with a sweet tooth......the buffet appealed to all of us!

Not to be overlooked, we most certainly appreciated the delightful staff of this hotel! They were eager to be of help whenever we had a question or need. Our room was lacking a corkscrew and nightlight......both were delivered in an instant! Our grandson was craving hot chocolate when the buffet was closed......a packet was thoughtfully provided! I sincerely cannot remember a hotel staffed by such nice people!

Don't missing staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe3264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Family vacation stayed 17-19 Aug 13 with 3 teens after spending 1 week at VB. Two bedroom/two bathroom suite with queen beds and pull out sleeping sofa(not very comfortable from my 16 YO son). About 800 sq ft with full kitchen(awesome), free WiFi and free breakfast(very yummy). Parking at the hotel cost about $35:( Very close walk to the National Mall:) Walked from the Capitol to Lincoln memorial is 4 km +, visited WW2 memorial, Korean War memorial, Lincoln memorial, Vietnam War memorial and the White House. We ate at Harry's on 11 st NW(good prices). Smithsonian museums are on either side of the mall. Spend 3 hrs at the National Air and Space Museum and 3 hrs at the National Museum of Natural History, that's about the max the kids could handle. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Washington.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalavantingJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Easily within walkable distance of The Capitol which was brilliant, the walking distances in Washington are huge so you want go make things easier for yourself by staying nearbh - and this hotel is definitely an ideal location. Breakfast was also good but get bery busy so stick to off peak times if possible. Would happily return here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchendon, Massachusetts, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Everyone was professional and the room was quiet. We were in Room 1115. It was a studio that would easily have accommodated four people. (The couch converted to a bed.) There's a full kitchen, too. We thought food was expensive, especially at some of the Smithsonian sites. The hotel provided a free breakfast daily and three free suppers (Mon., Tues., and Wed.) which was helpful. The Concierge, (Sean) provided excellent advice on tours. We took 'ON BOARD' tours. Tour Guide 'DION' seemed to know EVERYTHING about Washington. He's really good. There's a lot of walking so you might want to use the Metro.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twosister11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Spent 5 nights with 2 grandchildren. We could not have asked for a better place. Breakfast buffets had a great variety for fussy eaters and wonderfully attentive service. Dinners on Monday thru Wednesday's were also great whe traveling with kids. Had a room on the second floor near the pool and this was GREAT for the kids. Pizza place next door was excellent and very reasonable. Hotel is very close to National mall and Capitol and we were able to walk everywhere. Desk personnel were outstanding as was the concierge and the general atmosphere of the hotel. Super people. We came on Amtrak and did not have a car. Cabs are cheap enough and the metro is close. Definitely five stars.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Dorothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
948 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,543 reviews
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,494 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#49 of 141 in Washington DC
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Property: Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing