We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay here again in a second!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #56 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Would stay here again in a second!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was a perfect hotel for us! It's a short taxi ride from Reagan Airport and located only blocks from the National Mall and the Smithsonian Museums......also within walking distance of the Botanical Garden and the Capitol. Though the nearby delis close for the evening and weekends, the pizza place next door was excellent, and there's a Potbelly Sandwich Shop on 4th street about a 3 minute walk from the hotel. All of our gang gave the reasonably-priced subs and milkshakes from this shop an "Awesome" rating!

I didn't anticipate how large and nice the room would be! My husband and I were traveling with our two grandsons, and the room provided plenty of space for us. The queen sized bed was comfortable for adults, and the pull-out sofa bed was both roomy and comfortable enough for the 9 and 12 year-olds to share. Having a door separating the sink/vanity area and the shower/toilet area was most helpful.

I never expected such a complete kitchen.....a full size refrigerator with an ice maker, a two burner ceramic stove, a dishwasher (complete with detergent), a microwave, a coffee pot, garbage disposer, and dishes/stainless/glasses/mugs for four. Though we didn't do any cooking, the supplies were adequate to do so.

The pool and whirlpool were small, but they were a lifesaver to wear off some energy the boys had pent up after a long day at the museums! We also greatly appreciated having towels available poolside.

The complimentary breakfast buffet was open early for those of us who like to get an early start to the day, and there was a wide selection of food that was served hot and frequently refilled. From fresh fruit and yogurt to eggs and breakfast meats, to waffles, muffins, and danish that appeal to those with a sweet tooth......the buffet appealed to all of us!

Not to be overlooked, we most certainly appreciated the delightful staff of this hotel! They were eager to be of help whenever we had a question or need. Our room was lacking a corkscrew and nightlight......both were delivered in an instant! Our grandson was craving hot chocolate when the buffet was closed......a packet was thoughtfully provided! I sincerely cannot remember a hotel staffed by such nice people!

Don't missing staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe3264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    377
    99
    27
    11
See reviews for
510
138
35
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Family vacation stayed 17-19 Aug 13 with 3 teens after spending 1 week at VB. Two bedroom/two bathroom suite with queen beds and pull out sleeping sofa(not very comfortable from my 16 YO son). About 800 sq ft with full kitchen(awesome), free WiFi and free breakfast(very yummy). Parking at the hotel cost about $35:( Very close walk to the National Mall:) Walked from the Capitol to Lincoln memorial is 4 km +, visited WW2 memorial, Korean War memorial, Lincoln memorial, Vietnam War memorial and the White House. We ate at Harry's on 11 st NW(good prices). Smithsonian museums are on either side of the mall. Spend 3 hrs at the National Air and Space Museum and 3 hrs at the National Museum of Natural History, that's about the max the kids could handle. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Washington.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalavantingJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Easily within walkable distance of The Capitol which was brilliant, the walking distances in Washington are huge so you want go make things easier for yourself by staying nearbh - and this hotel is definitely an ideal location. Breakfast was also good but get bery busy so stick to off peak times if possible. Would happily return here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchendon, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Everyone was professional and the room was quiet. We were in Room 1115. It was a studio that would easily have accommodated four people. (The couch converted to a bed.) There's a full kitchen, too. We thought food was expensive, especially at some of the Smithsonian sites. The hotel provided a free breakfast daily and three free suppers (Mon., Tues., and Wed.) which was helpful. The Concierge, (Sean) provided excellent advice on tours. We took 'ON BOARD' tours. Tour Guide 'DION' seemed to know EVERYTHING about Washington. He's really good. There's a lot of walking so you might want to use the Metro.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twosister11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Spent 5 nights with 2 grandchildren. We could not have asked for a better place. Breakfast buffets had a great variety for fussy eaters and wonderfully attentive service. Dinners on Monday thru Wednesday's were also great whe traveling with kids. Had a room on the second floor near the pool and this was GREAT for the kids. Pizza place next door was excellent and very reasonable. Hotel is very close to National mall and Capitol and we were able to walk everywhere. Desk personnel were outstanding as was the concierge and the general atmosphere of the hotel. Super people. We came on Amtrak and did not have a car. Cabs are cheap enough and the metro is close. Definitely five stars.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Dorothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We loved this hotel because we had a 2 bedroom/2 bath suite. Space is key for a 4 night stay with 2 kids. Our first room was on the 13th (top) floor, but one bedroom had a significant amount of what we believe was black mold on the ceiling, mostly around the air vent. The front desk was very accommodating and gave us another room on the 10th floor. It was clean and very spacious. Good location, we took a $6 cab ride to a Nationals game, and were able to ride the Metro most places. Walked to the capitol, and

Breakfast was good, but the room it is served in is crazy cold! Freezing! We all had sweatshirts and were still uncomfortable. Everything from yogurt, waffles, eggs, fresh fruit, sausages. My only complaint is that the waitstaff are like vultures, clearing away any dish from your table the second you take your last bite. I appreciate their attentiveness, but we felt like we were being pushed out of the dining area.

We prefer not to have room service while staying in a hotel, just fresh towels every other day. So naturally we stuck the no service sign in our door. But the cleaning woman asked me to take it out, saying I just made her day. A few minutes later, I could hear 2 other employees outside our room arguing. I imagine one was a housekeeping supervisor. Not sure if it was in English, but it was clear someone wasn't happy. A bit awkward while the kids and I were in our room. Everyday we were asked not to put the sign in our door. I wasn't real comfortable, not knowing if someone was going to enter it or not, we had left our purses behind for the day while sightseeing and just didn't want to worry about someone being in there.

Lastly, our neighbors door squeaked so badly it woke us up every morning. On the bright side, the concierge was awesome and helped us tremendously! Oh, and my daughter loved the flavored water! Phillips cafe nearby is a great lunch spot, too. Overall, a great trip and good place to stay.

Room Tip: With kids, go for 2 room suite!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband, four kids (ranging from 3 months to 5.5) and I recently spent two nights at this hotel. We had a one bedroom suite which was incredibly comfortable and well-maintained. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The breakfast had good variety. The location is great, easy walking distance to the Mall and all the sights. As other reviewers have noted, there are no restaurants nearby. I will definitely stay here on my next family trip to DC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jens16CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#80 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,370 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Property: Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing