We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Just great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #43 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Just great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We are currently staying at this location and we are extremely impressed with the service, room size and location. The staff are very helpful and friendly and nothing is a problem. The room is a good size and spotless and a good gym and pool. It is a 10 minute walk to the museums and the hope on and off bus. We have had no trouble with getting to anything from here. There is restaurants close by and the concierge is extremely knowledgeable .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missingscrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    337
    87
    23
    11
See reviews for
466
127
30
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The staff at the Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol are wonderful. They routinely great all with a smile and offer help. I always have a feeling they honestly care about me as a customer. Match that with an excellent location, just a couple of blocks from the mall, and you cannot ask for more. And if you are interested in technology, NASA is right across the street (visit the main lobby to see space suits or visit the gift shop).

Metro is ~2 blocks away. All in all, a great place to stay. You do get a good breakfast every day, and the evening socials on Monday through Wednesday are quite satisfying. More over you can actually cook your own food if you like (grocery store is a 5-10 minute walk). Oh, and the pizza shop next door is actually good if you don't want to cook!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I so love this hotel, the girls at ghe fd are amazing, they remembered me everytime, they look good, and are quick with checking guest in. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. Location is great! Food was great! Space was wonderful and staff are above average..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, GA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband went to DC in March. I found a great deal for the weekend at this hotel. I haven't stayed this close to the mall and the capitol and it was wonderful not to have to ride Metro for 30 minutes to see the sights. Mall is about a three block walk. Area is very safe.

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. The hotel was very busy that weekend but the staff kept their cool and were professional at all times.

We have been to DC close to two dozen times (a favorite city) and were able to explore nearby neighborhoods on foot that we had never seen before.

Would stay here again and highly reccommend.

Room Tip: I dropped the ball and asked for a high floor but not a room with a view and was given a room with v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmbb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in April. We found the hotel to be located in a very quiet area which means there are limited restaurants/coffee shops nearby. The pizza place next door is good in a pinch and they also have gelato if you want something sweet. The hotel has a small convenience type store where you can get some supplies for the room if need be.

The hotel is a five minute walk to the mall and a five minute walk to the metro station. The breakfast buffet in the morning is super busy but they have a variety of foods and it was a great way to start the day. We found a supermarket about a 10 minute walk away.

The rooms were spacious and clean and the pool and gym downstairs were also nice and comfortable. The staff were helpful, could call a cab or car for us to get to places and had lots of restaurant recommendations.

The hotel is really a great value and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a office area so it is relatively quiet no matter where you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We visited this hotel over spring vacation, and we were not disappointed. The hotel is about a 5 min walk to the mall which made it vey convenient for touring the Capitol and museums.
The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable. We were in a corner room on the 7th floor overlooking the train tracks, yet the room was nice and quiet. We hardly heard the train pass by. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast in the morning was crowded because of school break, but they made room by opening up the adjoining banquet room, and they worked hard to promptly clean and clear the tables. They served fruit, yogurt, eggs, sausages/ham, muffins and make your own waffles. It was more than adequate. We had dinner there one evening- pulled pork sandwiches with coleslaw and sweet corn- which was very good.
One word of advice if you are touring- wear good shoes. We must have walked 20 miles over the course of our three day visit. Even though I consider us a very active family, we were all exhausted upon returning to the hotel. When planning the trip, we debated taking a (free) walking tour but decided on a bike tour instead on day 3- the best decision of the trip! The tour was fun and informative, and most of all, we did not have to walk- definitely worth the price!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Licorice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We picked this hotel because it was within walking distance of the Mall and could accommodate our big family. The hotel certainly filled its promise. The room and the bathroom were clean, and there even was a kitchenette. There also is a supermarket within walking distance. Sightseeing was made easy by the location. Staff were nice and helpful. No complains about this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheetah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#77 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,158 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Courtyard Washington Convention ...
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Property: Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing